Signal the Escape
These Scars Are Just the Beginning


3.0
good

Review

by Mark A. USER (51 Reviews)
March 13th, 2013 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2007 | Tracklist

Review Summary: These Scars Are Just the Beginning is certainly worth a listen, but it may or may not make enough of an impression to stay in your music library.

Signal the Escape are not re-inventing the wheel when it comes to pop punk music (as much of a conundrum as that may seem to sound); rather than that, they are content in creating enjoyably catchy, vocal-centric songs. There really isn’t much to the music itself, but there are quite a few reasons to enjoy These Scars Are Just the Beginning in and of itself. One could call it guilty pleasure music, but it really doesn’t need to be categorized as that, as it can simply be enjoyed for what it is. This release hearkens back to the days when it was bands like Senses Fail and pre-Sunshine-era Finch that dominated the airwaves shamelessly. It is upbeat with copious amounts of girlfriend-hating within the lyrics sheet; the juxtaposition of those two things are incredibly reminiscent of many pop-punk bands.

The truth is that for the genre, Signal the Escape have crafted an enjoyable EP. It has quite a few hooks and is instantly likeable if you’re a fan of the genre. The main problem is that although it doesn’t sound terrible by any means, there is not one distinct characteristic that helps it to stand out from the myriad of bands that are creating similar music. Fallout Boy achieved fame from their tongue-in-cheek lyrics and superb melodies, while Senses Fail were able to develop a strong fanbase by mixing vitriolic lyrics with catchy choruses. Signal the Escape mix decent singing with the occasional contrived scream, and the musicianship is just kind of there to accentuate the vocals. There is just unfortunately not much to differentiate them from the pack; however, they do an admirable job of not adopting the songwriting model that most bands of this ilk fall into. With most bands that incorporate screaming into their sound, there will be an inevitable ballad and then an incredibly heavy song or two. They are content in creating mid-tempo songs that build up to several screamed lines, which in turn makes for a more organic listening experience. It does not sound like a mish-mashed creation of two separate bands, but rather a pop punk band with some post-hardcore leanings in regards to the vocals. “Boys Lie” relies on an interesting idea; the pre-chorus is screamed, which in turn makes the chorus even more infectious. There is even a catchy guitar riff halfway through the song, making the song even more memorable.

These Scars Are Just the Beginning is certainly worth a listen, but it may or may not make enough of an impression to stay in your music library. With the multitudes of bands creating similar music, Signal the Escape will need to embrace the positives of this album to in order to enhance the listening experience the next time around. As it stands, they have created a good sampler of their talent, and certainly a precursor of what’s to come on a full-length.

Recommended Songs:
“Maudlin”
“Boys Lie”



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingClipse Hell Hath No Fury
The War on Drugs Lost in the DreamMorning Effort I heard you the first time, it just wasn't funny
Fireworks Oh, Common LifeRotten Sound Species At War
user ratings (1)
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
thelastsignal
March 12th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Continuing to work on a more short review style, let me know if it's looking good or not.

Ecnalzen
March 12th 2013


6730 Comments


I dig your writing style. Great stuff.

thelastsignal
March 12th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks, Ec! I appreciate it, as always.

thelastsignal
March 12th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Anything you notice that's worded weird?

Ecnalzen
March 12th 2013


6730 Comments


"This release hearkens back to the days when it was bands like Senses Fail and pre-Sunshine-era Finch dominated the airwaves shamelessly."

This is missing a word somewhere. Probably a 'that' before 'dominated.' Or you could reword a few things, like this:

- This release harkens back to the days when bands like Senses Fail and pre-Sunshine-era Finch shamelessly dominated the airwaves. -

"It is upbeat, with copious amounts of girlfriend-hating within the lyrics sheet"

Don't believe you need a comma before 'with.' 'With' is one of those words that often sounds like it needs a comma before it, but I don't think it generally does. Been kind of touching up on comma usage lately, and that doesn't seem like it needs one. Not a 100% sure on that though...

That's all I really see. You are very good at writing intelligently without sounding overly wordy. It's a great read.


Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2013


3471 Comments


To add to Ec:

Signal the Escape are not re-inventing the wheel when it comes pop punk music (as much of a conundrum as that may seem to sound); rather than that, they are content to create enjoyably catchy, vocal-centric songs.

comes to pop punk, not comes pop punk
also "content in creating" sounds better than "content to create" imo

Good review, though, have a pos.

Also Ecnalzen I've been meaning to ask you but how do you make a .gif your avatar?

Ecnalzen
March 12th 2013


6730 Comments


It was a pain to figure out, lol. If you upload a gif on its own from your computer, it just puts it as a static image. What I figured out was to actually go find one and open it up in it's own webpage and then copy/past said url into the first option under the avatar editor on your profile in the forums.

The only thing that sucks is that it has to be within the site's limits; which are super small, so it's hard to find ones that fit unless you are savvy with resizing stuff (which I haven't tried messing with yet, especially with gifs).

Edit: And in case you don't know, right click on said gif and click 'view image' to put it in it's own webpage. You can also click View Image Info to see what the dimensions and size are.

thelastsignal
March 12th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks guys, it's appreciated! Fixed all of the errors here. And yeah Ec, commas haunt my dreams lol.

Ecnalzen
March 12th 2013


6730 Comments


I hear ya. I didn't realize there are so many rules and regulations when it comes to when you are and are not supposed to use them.

...I wish I had a funny comparison/analogy to use to finish this comment off, but I don't.

I am so disappointed in me right now.

thelastsignal
March 13th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

So I will rely upon you to police my reviews for correct comma placement from now on haha.

I forgive you, Ec...this time...lmao

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19959 Comments


very nice review man, pos'd. the senses fail and finch comparisons have my interested.

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

thelastsignal
March 13th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks, atari. I could see you liking this, it's catchy and fun. Just don't expect it to be as good as finch or SF lol.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19959 Comments


i'm not lol. listening to maudlin right now.

thelastsignal
March 13th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice, dude. definitely let me know what you think. i'm intrigued.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19959 Comments


well i think your review is pretty fucking spot on lol. I can hear the comparisons to finch in the vocals but agreed there's nothing about this band that helps them stand out from the rest.

thelastsignal
March 13th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's always good to hear that, lol. yeah, the band is not bad at all, just not original enough. the choruses get stuck in my head quite a bit, which upped it from a 2.5 to a 3 for me.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 13th 2013


19959 Comments


yeah it will get a 3 from me most likely. so this band broke up?

thelastsignal
March 13th 2013


1370 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dude, no idea. i tried to do some research, but they're not even on wiki lol. i think they put out one EP and one LP, then called it quits. They haven't released anything in forever.

edit: yeah, they've broken up for sure; says so on their myspace.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy