Fit For A King
Creation | Destruction


2.0
poor

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (73 Reviews)
March 12th, 2013 | 137 replies


Release Date: 03/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Were you expecting anything else?

Why even bother listening to new metalcore records? Aside from select elite within the genre, every metalcore album seems identical to the next. Fit For A King is no different, as their second album does nothing to differentiate itself from the hordes of mediocre releases within their respective genre. The harsh vocals are surprisingly powerful and every once in a while a riff manages to pull itself out of the mire that is Creation/Destruction, but the album follows such a generic formula it is impossible to take this release seriously. Nearly every track has an aggressive chugging verse followed by a chorus comprised of simple guitar leads and clean vocals only to return to the chugging of the verse. If it is the second chorus, the song will inevitably veer into a breakdown heard countless times beforehand. Breakdowns rely on abusing the china cymbal and sprouting off ‘tough guy lyrics’, such as the regrettable “I will give you a reason to despise me” on the track Bitter End. As the album progresses there is more of the same, as songs blend into each other and differentiating between tracks becomes a tireless chore. As with most metalcore albums Fit For A King deems it necessary to release a track completely devoid of harsh vocals (Skin and Bones), be it to either showcase a softer side of the band or maybe to try and hint at experimentation. Regardless of the motives behind the inclusion of such a track, it comes off as forced and gimmicky while only providing further ammunition for critics.

Creation/Destruction is an album that in no way tries to bring anything new into an admittedly stagnant dull genre, a fact that can be overlooked if the album contains a certain likability or fun-ness. Creation/Destrciton accomplishes neither of those. Fit For A King have crafted an album that takes itself entirely too seriously, and while doing so have created an album that should more likely than not be lost within the myriad of identical releases.



Recent reviews by this author
He Is Legend Heavy FruitGuest House I'll Get Over It I Guess
Trophy Scars Holy VacantsSeahaven Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only
Sleep Weather Two Wheels SpinningWe Are Scientists TV en Français
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This album comes out tomorrow so i thought i'd post this.

I'm trying something new with this review. I've never written a short review and i'm pretty nervous about how this will be received. I'm not asking you not to neg if you think it's poorly written, I just hope you guys realize this is a new venture for me and could maybe give me some pointers on how to write 'short' reviews

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


19933 Comments


looks good to me

Digging: Coldworld - Melancholie

nononsense
March 12th 2013


3418 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That's a good short review if I've ever read one. All I write are short reviews. Pos'd

pmmets07
March 12th 2013


5900 Comments


good review. really not much more needs to be said lawl (about the album i mean)

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well thanks for the pos votes guys. As long as it doesn't come off too rantish. I was going to write an intro about tooth and nail/solid state records but i did that on my last review lol

nononsense
March 12th 2013


3418 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tooth and Nail/Solid State

Fucking lol record labels.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


19933 Comments


oh this is solid state? and honestly it doesn't come off as a rant at all, if the album sucks it sucks that's all there is to it lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


19933 Comments


@nononsense,

tooth and nail used to fucking rule man

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2013


3471 Comments


Rewrite the summary then I'll pos

nononsense
March 12th 2013


3418 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

tooth and nail used to fucking rule man

Used To. Lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


19933 Comments


yeah they suck now just saying. honestly MXPX was like my favorite band when i first got into pop punk.

ILJ
March 12th 2013


6712 Comments


Awesome review. Short, to the point, and has a good flow.

But dawg, the summary has an obvious, glaring error.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@thebrostepguy every time I see your avatar I think it's skele for some reason lol bu I fixed it. Is it better?

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wait. There was an error? Damn. I thought it was just a bad summary

ILJ
March 12th 2013


6712 Comments


Yeah you said "Where you expecting anything else?"

Still not big on the summary, but eh, it's just a summary and it does indeed summarize your review. Still, great job.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


2845 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the pos though. Which one was do you like better? I hate doing summaries

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2013


10288 Comments


I'm not sure how I feel about this review.

First off, your claims about metalcore are pretty abrasive and unrealistic. That first sentence in particular is frustrating, because a) ANY metalcore review these days begins with something identical, and b) there's good metalcore out there. Sure, the genre's littered with shit like this, but that doesn't mean you can just say "Why even bother?"

Also, you harp on its monotony for most of the review. Brief reviews should do more than pinpoint a single flaw. I think you'd be better off at least switching the angle at some point, looking at it from a different perspective. Admittedly, you have promising lines like

"Fit For A King have crafted an album that takes itself entirely too seriously"

but then it goes back into making points you've already emphasized.

This isn't an awful review by any means, but you're certainly capable of better. This reads like it was a little haphazardly written as a whole.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


19933 Comments


summaries are honestly my favorite part of doing a review lol.

BlackLlama
March 12th 2013


1691 Comments


"Fit For A King create a record we have heard before."

Fit For A King created a record that we have all heard before

Just as an example. The verb tense on is improper.

Digging: Pitch Black Forecast - As the World Burns

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2013


3471 Comments


Sorry, I should have been a bit clearer - the summary was fine but there was a "where" instead of a "were"



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy