Owen
The Seaside EP


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (90 Reviews)
March 12th, 2013 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Either I just got kicked in the teeth or time has changed me

B-sides albums usually get bogged down in a ton of filler, which isn't really a problem considering Seaside EP is, well an EP. 28 minutes of math guitar master singer/songwriter Mike Kinsella's extra tracks is just enough to whet one's appetite for more without overstaying its welcome. The Seaside EP came out right before Owen's more electric guitar driven New Leaves, which disappointed a lot of fans, kind of like New Coke. Thankfully Seaside EP is a mostly acoustic affair, and the Owen Classic counterpart to the New Coke taste of New Leaves if you will.

"I Woke Up Today" and "Fever" are the main standout tracks, which run short for Owen tracks, but are filled to the brim with Mike Kinsella's signature acoustic guitar noodling. The final track "I'm Not Seventeen" is yet another great Owen closer that has some nice electronic drums which help it stand out. Two of the tracks are covers: one is an Extreme cover and the other is Springsteen, and both do a good job of putting Kinsela's stamp on the original sound. Every track is at least good if not great, making Seaside EP a worthy listen if you ever feel the need to jam some more Owen.

It is easy to see why these songs are b-sides, as most of them are inferior to most of Owen's studio's cuts. The Seaside EP is nice and brief, but not very remarkable. It's towards the bottom of Owen's discography, but Owen at his worst is still better than many singer/songwriters at their best.



Recent reviews by this author
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
Brave Bird T-Minus Grand GestureOld Gray/Tiny Moving Parts Split
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Wrote most of this months ago, needed to get it out

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


7096 Comments


which disappointed a lot of fans, kind of like New Coke


I can gets it ; ] Short concise review for a short EP

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will the kids even get the new coke reference?


NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


7096 Comments


Didn't they just make a new pepsi that sucks, they'll get that. Pepsi Next or something.

Iamthe Nightstars
March 12th 2013


2282 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm Not Seventeen is his best song. I remember hearing that song when I was 17. Haha.

Jash
March 12th 2013


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd take out the first sentence, but other than that good review man. I will never get tired of this mans guitar playing

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 12th 2013


13339 Comments


do you have trouble writing first sentences treb otherwise review is great and also will i like this

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lately yeah kind of

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 12th 2013


13339 Comments


'bogged down in ton of filler'
i caught a typo!

you can always message me if youre having trouble im not an excellent writer but i can tell when something is off

also gotta say this is much better than your dilute review

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks

Yeah the Dilute one is shit, I only wrote it cuz I had to

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 12th 2013


13339 Comments


gonna get ready to write mine now thx for reminding me

tommygun
March 12th 2013


24988 Comments


better than many singer/songwriter's at their best


lose the apostrophe here

enjoyed read other than some minor proofreading stuff, dig the style short n sweet

tommygun
March 12th 2013


24988 Comments


also sweet dig foxxxy I jammed it four times today might 4.5

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
March 12th 2013


13339 Comments


thanks man its got mad replay val

Mookid
March 12th 2013


1438 Comments


Agreed skele

Mookid
March 12th 2013


1438 Comments


EP's alright, but New Leaves kills everything he's wrote

Jash
March 12th 2013


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I Do Percieve was his peak which slightly bled onto At Home With Owen and he's been tiptoeing the line of good and forgettable ever since. I listen to all his newest stuff and a guitar lick or lyric will standout every so often and I'm like "damn this guy is good", but that happens every 10 seconds on his older stuff. Still one of the best lyricists and guitarists I've ever heard though.

klap
Staff Reviewer
March 12th 2013


10494 Comments


lol "will the kids get the new coke" trebor i don't think you were even alive when new coke was introduced

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 12th 2013


50510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's the joke



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy