Jacco Gardner
Cabinet of Curiosities


4.0
excellent

Review

by G.M.B. USER (18 Reviews)
March 7th, 2013 | 21 replies | 1,588 views


Release Date: 02/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Jacco Gardner's debut album is a startling blast from the past, presenting to us a concoction of influences, all blended into one neat little package.

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

You know that moment when you're listening to an album, and you hear some riff or beat or rhythm or some tiny miniscule detail that gives you a huge blast of nostalgia? Well listening to multi-instrumentalist Jacco Gardner's debut album Cabinet of Curiosities is like a forty-one minute blast of nostalgia. Brimming with 60's psychedelic influences pulled straight from the likes of The Beatles, Cabinet of Curiosities is sure to bring back memories of a time long long past.

The album is a wonderful fusion of baroque pop and psychedelia, and is backed by a whole slew of various instrumentation, most of which performed by Jacco himself; everything from your standard fare guitar and drums to organs and harpsichord, with Jacco's dreamy, almost nasally at times, voice soaring gently above it all. There are many moments throughout the duration of the album where one can't help but thinking to themselves "I swear I've heard this somewhere before." That's what's so beautiful about Cabinet of Curiosities. It gives you a sense of familiarity, while still remaining captivating and never losing steam. Everything feels so goddamned familiar, and yet still fresh and new.

Many many different styles and flavors are offered here. "Summer's Gone" is a song that reeks of The Beatles, "The Ballad of Little Jane" has a decidedly Pink Floyd vibe, and "Cabinet of Curiosities" is an instrumental piece that travels through several highs and lows and highlights Jacco's organ playing skills. Opener "Clear the Air" sets a gorgeous tone as being one of the better tracks on the album, neatly containing mainly of the various influences found in the albums duration. Frankly, it's a bit difficult to name off all the different 60's and 70's sounds that show up in this album. They're simply everywhere, in every nook and cranny, and far too many to try and count.

So if you've ever been a fan of Pink Floyd or the Beatles or any even remotely similar acts of the 60's and 70's, Cabinet of Curiosities is sure to be a pleasant and all too familiar listen. Even if you aren't intimately familiar with these groups, you'd be hard pressed to make it through these twelve songs without feeling like you've heard it somewhere already. Jacco has done something truly great here by reiterating ideas done many times, but in a way that's still refreshing. And for that, he must be commended.



Recent reviews by this author
Letlive. The Blackest BeautifulThe Dear Hunter The Color Spectrum Live
Made In Heights APORIA: IN THESE STREETSThe Angels of Light We Are Him
Lindsey Stirling Lindsey StirlingBring Me The Horizon Sempiternal
user ratings (11)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ILJ
March 7th 2013



6536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Perhaps not my best review, but I'm a bit out of my typical domain here. Still, a great album, and it needed reviewed.

Tips always welcome.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



6733 Comments


Sounds like Hernan material right here. Im thinking ill have to check this out though

12


twelve*.

ILJ
March 7th 2013



6536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Fixed it.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2013



4334 Comments


Yeah, this is pretty good. I'm hearing "Chameleon" now, very retro but I like it.

Sweet review, have a POS.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
March 7th 2013



4334 Comments


It's like a mixture of Pink Floyd's Piper era, The Left Banke, and Donovan.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2013



6733 Comments


Yeah i got that kinda vibe too. Also with the same thought process as the twelve: forty-one*. Sure this is pretty nit-picky but you're not writing math equations. Its journalism, use words.

WashboardSuds
March 7th 2013



4883 Comments


" It gives you that familiar sense of familiarity"

this seems a bit redundant, maybe I'm reading it wrong

good review tho dude

Digging: Nmesh - Dream SequinsŪ

CaptainDooRight
March 7th 2013



26113 Comments


Nice review, pos'd. I think I would enjoy this. I like the cover art too. I sure hope this is on bandcamp.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

ILJ
March 7th 2013



6536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"" It gives you that familiar sense of familiarity""

ah fuck, thanks for pointing that one out.

Same for you Ipod.

Sleaper
March 7th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

THANK FUCK someone reviewd this...

and its a good review at that.

some of the songs on here are flagrant clones of classic Beatles though.

Digging: SpaceGhostPurrp - B.M.W. 2: Intoxxxicated

ILJ
March 7th 2013



6536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah the album has a strong Beatles vibe for sure, but he pulls it off

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 7th 2013



10553 Comments


"12


twelve*."

For numbers 10 or over you use numbers, not letters. Ipod is wrong change it back.

Digging: Saintseneca - Dark Arc

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 7th 2013



10553 Comments


http://www.grammarbook.com/numbers/numbers.asp

toxin.
March 7th 2013



11804 Comments


who gives a fuck use twelve or 12, imo twelve looks better but it doesn't make a difference one way or the other

also good reivew pos

Funeralopolis
March 7th 2013



10420 Comments


album sucks

Digging: CunninLynguists - Oneirology

CaptainDooRight
March 7th 2013



26113 Comments


dam does it bro

Sleaper
March 7th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

its a relaxing listen...
definitely not something youd listen to for fun.



foxblood
March 8th 2013



6797 Comments


whoaa what an awesome cover

ILJ
March 8th 2013



6536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah I literally got this just because of the cover

Sleaper
March 8th 2013



3133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cover = automatic +1 rating.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy