Prurient
Through the Window


3.5
great

Review

by Angel STAFF
March 5th, 2013 | 69 replies | 5,945 views


Release Date: 02/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The world is your club, but no one ever seems to come.

Perhaps one of the most prominent and prolific noise artists, Dominick Fernow is involved in numerous projects spanning multiple genres. And while his most high-profile gig may be helming the synths for Cold Cave, Fernow is best associated with the Prurient moniker. Having been around now for a good decade and a half, Prurient alone has covered a lot of ground within various forms of noise, ambient, and power electronics. 2011’s noteworthy Bermuda Drain saw the project make a push toward electro-industrial and darkwave while still maintaining some of the more abrasive elements to which Fernow fans have come to expect.

Recorded in the same sessions as Bermuda Drain, Through the Window makes a lot of sense in terms of progression, sharing even more in common with the simply hypnotic beats of Dominick’s own Vatican Shadow alias. And while they may not have been recorded before his move from New York to Los Angeles, the state of mind captured within the three tracks certainly hint toward the vast desert metropolis. The Prurient camp describes the album as “juxtaposing the conceptual and real life realms that power electronics can represent with the artificial environments of the dance floor and the club. A hall of mirrors, sycophants, fair-weather friends and social vampires." These types of statements don’t come any more concise or self-aware.

At its core, Through the Window is (mostly) danceable music for the antisocial. Slick, polished beats reverberate through the speakers with an underlying paranoia, insecurity. Over the monotonously thumping bass, subtle background textures slide in and out, slowly shaping and evolving the landscape. Rapid synth sequences give way to industrial pulsing and eventually grating noise before closing the whole thing down with the exceptional “You Show Great Spirit.” Dark and entrancing, the track somehow broods at an upbeat tempo: Part rave anthem, part digital meditation. The record sees Dominick showcasing a lot of influence from the past, as sounds of early ‘90s nightlife and seedy parties are forced through a cynical 21st century filter. EBM, electro-industrial, and early European techno are all lovingly revisited, but he manages to make the album feel as modern as it does retro-homage.

Mr. Fernow hasn’t reinvented the wheel, but he has delivered the soundtrack for a moody, midnight drive to nowhere – music for head-bobbing and soul-searching. While the next step for the project remains anyone’s guess, Through the Window distinguishes itself as a welcomed change of pace for the artist and a standout addition to the extensive Prurient catalog. Just don’t be surprised if the next release is hours of harsh noise or power electronics.



Recent reviews by this author
Chelsea Wolfe Pain Is BeautyMuknal / The Haunting Presence Split
Storm Corrosion Storm CorrosionRudimentary Peni Cacophony
Noothgrush Erode the PersonLycus Demo MMXI
user ratings (25)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2013



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can't believe this is the first Prurient review on this site.

Feel free to neg away. Oh, wait...

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2013



18028 Comments


NEG

Digging: Autechre - Draft 7.30

Gyromania
March 4th 2013



15199 Comments


nice review there mr. staff

chambered99
March 4th 2013



780 Comments


why don't you put album names in italics? its annoying when you dont and you have to appease me or i will kill you

Digging: Baton Rouge - Totem

Rev
March 4th 2013



9380 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shit yeah an angel review


album rules

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2013



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for reminding me, Samwise. Forgot to do it when I copypasta'ed.

chambered99
March 4th 2013



780 Comments


:P

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 4th 2013



10585 Comments


"Trending metal albums"

I could be wrong but from this review this sounds nothing like metal I hate that new feature.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

YankeeDudel
March 4th 2013



9305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool

Digging: DJ Spooky - Songs Of A Dead Dreamer

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2013



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I could be wrong but from this review this sounds nothing like metal I hate that new feature.


Yeah, this is a good bit like the new Soilwork.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2013



4507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah yes, this needed a review

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 5th 2013



10585 Comments


Review was awesome by the way. Never heard of this guy before but that shouldn't be surprising in the least.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2013



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks. This is probably the most accessible thing he's done under the Prurient name, so I'd say it's a good place to start. Especially if you're not too into noise and the like.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2013



21575 Comments


I hate that new feature.

"trending other albums"

Digging: Septicflesh - Communion

Graveyard
March 5th 2013



5598 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea, it's apparent that Vatican Shadow had an influence on the overall sound on this. It's a nice variation though, since Dominick usually deals with noize/industrial/power electronics type of stuff.

A fruitful pos'd.

tomr4
March 5th 2013



191 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sounds like a slightly more industrial vatican shadow record...not bad, but definitely not as harsh as I was hoping for.

good review, though.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2013



6937 Comments


I love me an Angel review. This sounds like some elitish stuff tho

scissorlocked
March 5th 2013



3508 Comments


shouldn't this one be in the "other" and not the "metal" section?

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

Havey
March 5th 2013



9617 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

2011’s noteworthy Bermuda Drain saw the project make a push toward electro-industial

industrial*

good review tho, prurient is great but not my fav Fernow project

Digging: Cecil Taylor - Dark to Themselves

Mookid
March 5th 2013



1294 Comments


This guy can make some truly bizarre music indeed. I thought 'Inscense and Rubber' was his best track he's ever made, though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy