KMFDM
Kunst


3.5
great

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
February 26th, 2013 | 19 replies


Release Date: 02/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Industrial dance music as boisterous as one could want it, even if some of the sounds are a bit overly-familiar for KMFDM’s sound.

It’s safe to say that KMFDM is the most successful and longest running industrial music group that doesn’t take themselves seriously. While all their other contemporaries made the genre known for overt angst and horror-themed theatrics, KMFDM have spent their nearly thirty year career keeping a frequent output-rate of industrial music made with the raves in mind above all else. The same scene their music is made for may be taking a dive in popularity in even the underground as of late, but these German pioneers have still been as consistent in their new releases as ever in recent years.

For their eighteenth album Kunst, it’s a no brainer to any fan that KMFDM doesn’t stray too far from the formula they’ve been comfortable with for years. However, what’s accomplished on Kunst is a satisfying mix of their tried and true formula that fans will come to expect and desire, and some new ingredients thrown into the mix to keep things interesting. As for the familiar elements, the hulking industrial metal guitars chug and churn just as much as they had on the group’s most metal-oriented release Nihil; prepared to take no prisoners on a charged-assault on the dance-floor. The usual supply of ridiculous samples and audio clips add a good layer of humor to a few of the songs, especially the opening title track in which frontman Sascha Konietzko once again proclaims to “Kill-Mother-***ing-Depeche-Mode” just as he did on the group’s 1993 single “Sucks”.

While the staple aspects of the group’s sound are here in top form, the real treat about Kunst are the synth beats themselves. They don’t feel as linear as they have on many KMFDM releases, being much more glitchy, and having a more crunching groove to them as opposed to a lunging pace. Influences from other UK electronic dance scenes such as big beat, breakbeat, and synthpunk are strongly showcased through the stomping quality these infectious beats bring Kunst as a whole.

The elements that fans will except are present and accounted for on Kunst, which keeps it from being more original than it could be, but the electro-industrial anthems these elements come to form are much more invigorating than they have been on past releases. While they may not be bringing a lot of invention to the industrial genre after thirty years, and although Kunst is just as over the top but not as diverse as their preceding effort WTF?!, KMFDM certainly haven’t started lacking in bringing variety to their sound based around just plain fun industrial music.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
KevinKC (2.5)
KMFDM releasing an album just because it's been two years since WTF?!...


Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
February 25th 2013


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The stream can be found here:

http://www.revolvermag.com/news/exclusive-kmfdm-premiere-new-album-kunst.html

Always liked these guys, happy they put out material so regularly. As always, feedback never goes unappreciated.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2013


21618 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think its pretty sweet

Digging: Soen - Tellurian

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 25th 2013


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

The album is solid, but unlike WTF?!, it isn't that diverse unfortunately. I kinda miss that disco track sung by Lucia they usually have per album. Great review anyway.

Digging: TV on the Radio - Seeds

DeadToPain
February 26th 2013


694 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's so funny, I haven't listened to anything since XTORT came out, and I'm hearing the same thing. Can't say I hate it, but I can't believe they still sound exactly the same. The guitars aren't as epic like when Schulz was playing with them and I can definitely hear En Esch not being around. It'll get a couple of spins I'm sure.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2013


4453 Comments


Good review, Alex. Have not heard though, may check out of curiosity.

BigBlob
February 26th 2013


1723 Comments


It's a good album. But it's too predictable (even for KMFDM!). I'd wish they would change direction again like they did with [symbols].

Digging: Body Count - Manslaughter

KevinKC
February 26th 2013


215 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review. The album is great. Isn't pseudocide a very weak track though ?

DatsNotDaMetulz
February 26th 2013


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

From what I'm reading it seems as if this albums seems to cover a lot of the sounds KMFDM have had in their career. I'm new to them so guessing this would be a good starting point if it covers pretty much everything they've done?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2013


10354 Comments


Really nice review, man. I love that album artwork..

BigBlob
February 26th 2013


1723 Comments


"I'm new to them so guessing this would be a good starting point if it covers pretty much everything they've done?"

No! Start with Nihil

DatsNotDaMetulz
February 26th 2013


1847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Too late. Already listened to pretty much all this album. That's where I'll go next.

DeadToPain
February 26th 2013


694 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I personally started off at "Angst" and "Nihil", which to me, could totally be interchanged as a first or second album listen. The original recordings for "Naive" are amazing as well. Don't take it too seriously, they never did. It's fun music for the sake of being fun music.

sinsexsodomy
February 26th 2013


224 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

not even close to WTF imo, but still better then most of the material they have made since their reformation

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 27th 2013


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 3.6

Pussy Riot is such a cool track. A catchy album overall.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

Polyethylene
February 28th 2013


3217 Comments


Naive then Angst then Nihil then Symbols = doing it right

Digging: Son Lux - At War With Walls And Mazes

Willie
Moderator
February 28th 2013


16117 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

We have an offer to give away two KMFDM New York concert tickets, but I don't know if we have the fanbase here for it.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

breakingthefragile
March 1st 2013


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd take that offer up Willie, but I'm unfortunately not close enough to New York.

crimsonandclover88
March 12th 2013


1 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

after nearly 30 years they still know how to entertain as well as accurately comment on society

sinsexsodomy
July 10th 2013


224 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Naive then Angst then Nihil then Symbols = doing it right"

Don't forget Naive, XTORT, and Adios, hell their 90's material is all gold



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy