Rise Against
Revolutions Per Minute


3.5
great

Review

by Psyclone USER (15 Reviews)
March 7th, 2006 | 18 replies


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


Rise Against is a Chicago-based punk rock band. They consist of Tim McIlarth on guitar and vocals, Joe Principle on bass and vocals, Brandon Barnes on drums, and Mr. Precision on guitar and vocals (on this album).

Revolutions Per Minute (RPM) is Rise Against's second album, and follows The Unravelling. There was one single released off of this album (Heaven Knows).

Rise Against was started in Chicago by Tim McIlarth and Joe Principle, and they were then named something else (I can't quite remember the name).

The Good:

The good things about RPM are the mind-blowing riffs and the vocals. The riffs are attention-grabbing, and never get old. The one that stands above every other song, though, is Torches. The riff snatches your attention off the top with a fast-paced, high-energy opening, with Mr. Precision and Tim playing two different things.

Anyway, the vocals were pretty standout as well. Tim's voice is emotional (but not emo). He can scream, sing, pretty much do anything - all while performing thundering riffs and heart-pounding solos.

That's one other thing that makes this album good. The solos that Tim and Precision pull off (I don't know who does what) are incredible at today's punk standards. They're high-pitched, fast, and just plain cool-sounding. Sure, they're not Iron Maiden, but the solos are still pretty damn good.


The Bad:

I swear, with the exception of Torches, Brandon plays the same thing on the drums ALL THE WAY THROUGH. It gets annoying, and the thing he plays sometimes doesn't even blend in with the good stuff. It is usually off-beat, and doesn't stand out in any songs. The tempo doesn't even change!

Something else that drags this album down is the lack of variety in the songs. They're all fast punk. Sure, that's not what Rise Against is really known for, but it would be nice to hear some slow, talented songs (I'm not saying the other songs don't require talent). I know that Rise Against is good at making slow songs (listen to Swing Life Away on Siren Song of the Counter Culture). If they had something like Swing Life Away, this this album would be much better.

Also, the heavier, angrier songs (Dead Ringer and To The Core) were stupid. The vocals were not comprehendable and the guitars didn't help either. Also, Joe's bass in these songs was annoying and unnessecary, like in Black Masks and Gasoline, abruptly halted a great song with a pointless bassline that just doesn't fit.

Overall:

The album is above average in my opinion. Tim's vocals and the guitar work laid down by Precision and Tim are excellent. But Brandon really drags this album down, with his EXTREMELY repetitve drumming and the way that it doesn't blend. The album isn't as good as Siren Song of the Counter Culture (in my opinion, again) and I can't compare it to The Unravelling since I haven't heard anything off of it. I was slightly dissappointed by RPM, but still enjoyed it at the same time.

Score - 3.5

Recommended Tracks:
Torches
Heaven Knows
Amber Changing
Black Masks and Gasoline



Recent reviews by this author
Ewigkeit ConspiritusWeird Al Yankovic Straight Outta Lynwood
Linkin Park Hybrid TheoryRammstein Sehnsucht
Boston BostonA Dozen Furies A Concept From Fire
user ratings (1262)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Psyclone
March 7th 2006


432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry if the review is brief. There just wasn't much to say. And I didn't add the bonus track because I burned my CD and I didn't know about it. Is it a good song?This Message Edited On 03.07.06

Music Nerd
March 7th 2006


95 Comments


Overall it's a good review. I've never been a huge fan of this band but I think I will get this album.

The Jungler
March 7th 2006


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like the Angel wasn't realesed as a single? That seems like the best choice.

NEDM
March 7th 2006


1113 Comments


Like The Angel was indeed a single. Nice review, though more detail would be appreciated. But I see your comment, and it's okay. But your Powerslave review was class.

tom79
March 7th 2006


3377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Brief but decent review. Not a big fan of rise against, but like the angel is a good songThis Message Edited On 03.07.06

Digging: Free Throw - Those Days Are Gone

DFelon204409
Emeritus
March 7th 2006


3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review isn't very good. You don't add anything new to the previous reviews. It'd be more effective if you reviewed an album that isn't already present on the site or had a significantly differing stance and understanding of the album that you could use to flesh out the community's understanding of the album.

labonza01
March 7th 2006


546 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

mr. precision hasnt been in rise against since the unraveling, todd mohney does the guitar on this album, not mr. precision, whose actual name, i beleive was dan. No offense, but i didnt like your review, mostly because i found this album to be absolutely perfect and very easily a classic. i would most definitaly agree if it was for a band that deserved that kind of rating, but your style is good, just make the reviews longer, it helps.

Pete
March 8th 2006


189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You messed up the names of a lot of people. And I don't agree with a single thing you say, basically. Where are these blazing solos you speak of? Also, saying that the hardcore tracks are stupid - wtf, son, they're a melodic HARDCORE band. Also for your comment on slow songs - acoustic songs =/= slow songs. "Like the Angel" is a really slow song, for example. So are "Heaven Knows", "Amber Changing" and "Torches" in the verses. And how is the tempo not different from song to song? Seriously - LISTEN to the album more than once before reviewing.

Also: their name before Rise Against was Transistor Revolt.This Message Edited On 03.08.06

spoon_of_grimbo
March 8th 2006


2241 Comments


fatpete, thou hast spaketh the truth!

Psyclone
March 8th 2006


432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, that review did suck pretty bad. I'm just about to go out to HMV and buy a P.O.D. CD to review (Satellite). I didn't really put much effort into this anyway and I was just trying something new on this review.

And I got all that information about the band off of Wikipedia, so I didn't know the timeline for the band since I couldn't find their info on riseagainst.com.

Sorry for wasting your time, but I just wanted to state my opinion.

P.S. Does anyone know how to contact mx. Sorry, I'm pretty new to this site and I need to ask him a few things about my profile.This Message Edited On 03.08.06This Message Edited On 03.08.06

Pete
March 9th 2006


189 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's right there in the inlay of the CD, the info. And if you don't have the CD, I pretty much think you shouldn't bother reviewing the album, unless you've really formed a solid opinion about it despite not owning it. Which, in this case, you hadn't.

But w/e, we still need people reviewing albums, and you'll gt better with time. At least your spelling doesn't suck

Mike Rakhabit
April 21st 2006


34 Comments


Great album, all the songs are so fucking awesome

Two-Headed Boy
April 28th 2006


4527 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ehhhh review. Rise Against need a fantastic review to give them the respect they deserve.

The Sludge
May 4th 2006


2169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Anybody knew of Tim as vocals in the very early versons of Fall Out Boy?

But the song is a Journey cover, "Anyway You Want It"

emocorepunkboy
August 19th 2006


3 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

your opinion of the bass line in black masks and gasoline is shit.
your obviously a guitarist who doesnt apreciate other instruments and your one of the reasons bass players are fucked every where they turn

AmericnZero02
August 20th 2006


3353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

not a bad review, couldve gone into more detail about some of the tracks. i guess it doesnt help that i dont agree with you on a number of points. i cant believe you dont like the bass parts on this album!

Psyclone
September 8th 2006


432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

[quote=emocorepunkboy]your opinion of the bass line in black masks and gasoline is ****.

your obviously a guitarist who doesnt apreciate other instruments and your one of the reasons bass players are ****ed every where they turn[/quote]
Easy buddy. Easy. It's just my opinion, and mine only. It's okay to disagree with me, but don't flame about it. I just didn't like the way the music was cut off by the bass. If you ask me, the bass in Drones off The Sufferer and The Witness was a better example of how bass should be used.

And since when have bass players been "****ed everywhere they turn?"

Psyclone
September 30th 2006


432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, it isn't. You should still check out The Sufferer and The Witness though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy