TesseracT
Perspective


2.0
poor

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (69 Reviews)
February 21st, 2013 | 72 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Tesseract lose what little balls they had

Tesseract, a polyrhythmic progressive metal band, lost their lead singer/screamer in 2011 and promptly decided to hire an alt rock, effeminate sounding crooner to fill his shoes. What could possibly go wrong, right? Well, a lot apparently since their 2012 release Perspective is a reinterpretation EP, aka a few of their past tracks done again in a different style, which in this case is a very stripped down, piano and acoustic guitar-filled sound to contrast the abrasive polyrhythmic chugging found in One.

‘Perfection’ starts off nicely with a subdued piano melody and calming instrumentals throughout, but as soon as the vocals come in they completely overshadow everything else, and not in a good way. Technically Elliot can sing, there's no doubt about that, it’s just that his voice doesn’t fit with Tesseract at all. I suppose on paper his presence fits for the theme of this EP, considering four out of the five tracks are reinterpretations of songs from One, but his tone of voice just sounds so incredibly awkward over the instrumentals. The other song is a cover of Jeff Buckley’s ‘Dream Brother.’ Why a polyrhythmic metal band chose to cover a Jeff Buckley song is beyond me, but oddly enough it’s the only song where Elliot’s vocals fit right at home. I could see Elliot in any chill alternative or pop act really, it’s just for Tesseract he was way out of his depth.

It’s hard to call Perspective a bad release because for its purpose it does a pretty decent job. These songs do sound nice stripped down and acoustic, and the atmosphere is quite pleasant in these songs. The only song that comes close to their One-style heaviness is ‘Eden 2.0’ which is easily the best track here. Although Tesseract is notorious for rereleasing songs far more often than any band should, that’s not even the biggest issue with Perspective. The whole “reinterpretation EP” concept does work out in some cases (e.g. Cynic’s Re-Traced) but unfortunately Perspective shows Tesseract way too far out of their comfort zone to succeed. Better luck next time.



Recent reviews by this author
Dysphoria The ApogeeWeezer Maladroit
Septycal Gorge Scourge of the Formless BreedXerath III
Inanimate Existence A Never-Ending Cycle of AtonementWithin the Ruins Phenomena
user ratings (152)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


21586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Was bored, this didnt have a review

Digging: Soen - Tellurian

fromtheinside
February 21st 2013


19029 Comments


moth is better

Digging: Ibex Throne - Ibex Throne

fromtheinside
February 21st 2013


19029 Comments


review with precision. a comfortable read good job

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


21586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thank you sir

GiaNXGX
February 21st 2013


4867 Comments


progressive polyrhythmic metal





huh

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


21586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Really negging because of that. Really

GiaNXGX
February 21st 2013


4867 Comments


no, I couldn't care any less about you obfuscating 'Djent.'

your punctuation was awful - that's all.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


21586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Djent is a stupid fucking term, and if you couldnt care less why bring it up in the first place?

tempest--
February 21st 2013


14354 Comments


I didn't think this was that bad but I did only listen to it twice then never again

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


21586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I can see why people like it. Elliots vocals just rub me the wrong way most of the time

fromtheinside
February 21st 2013


19029 Comments


this band had so much potential too

tempest--
February 21st 2013


14354 Comments


Agreed, they could do so much but I think they really limit their sound

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2013


4452 Comments


I may look into this out of mild curiosity. Review was actually pretty informative and well-written, but you might want to take a look at the punctuation/grammar stuff, Ins. We all make mistakes on that department though.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


21586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

To be honest i didn't get a chance to proofread. It will be fixed

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2013


4452 Comments


No worries. Carry on.

GiaNXGX
February 21st 2013


4867 Comments


point one was about you making usage of unnecessarily complicated genre categorization.


point two, simply put: -obfuscation is irrelevant to 'Was This Review Well-Written?'

-----> atrocious punctuation is.


Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 21st 2013


21586 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ok please point out these instances of atrocious punctuation

toxin.
February 21st 2013


12762 Comments


" Not that Elliot is a bad singer, because technically he can sing, it’s just that his voice doesn’t fit with Tesseract at all. "

You couldn't find a better way to phrase this? Not to mention all the different grammatical errors littered in this review

fromtheinside
February 21st 2013


19029 Comments


"atrocious pronunciation"

lol punctuation dude

GiaNXGX
February 21st 2013


4867 Comments


It's 3 O clock here, ugh.


ex, punctuation:

Well I couldn’t tell you, but apparently they had a plan since their 2012 release Perspective is a reinterpretation EP

ex, spelling:

but its his tone of voice



Read your work out loud before publishing it, goodnight.









You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy