Shugo Tokumaru
In Focus?


4.2
excellent

Review

by Elijah K. STAFF
February 16th, 2013 | 47 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yet another chance to tumble lovingly into the quirky mind of Shugo Tokumaru.

There is a principal in biology called the “Red Queen Hypothesis” that states that something could potentially evolve to maintain the place that it has always been. There’s change, for sure, but nothing in the way of taking the organism outside of its established niche. Oddly enough, this correlates to Shugo Tokumaru and his approach to the lovely music he creates. Throughout his career, Tokumaru has essentially remained in a stasis. No grand changes in direction or bold uncharacteristic statements appear anywhere in his discography. Instead, the Japanese songwriter has tinkered a bit with the mechanics of his work, but ultimately has stayed exactly where he has always been. Luckily, that place is exactly where he belongs.

In Focus?, for the initiated, is a Shugo Tokumaru record through and through. What that entails is quite a lot, actually, as the artist crams in a mind boggling amount of sights and sounds into the record. Each of the album's 15 tracks features an average of 20 instruments with hundreds of recorded tracks. Per the usual, it’s a quirky, fun, and sweetly produced mixture of Tokumaru’s folk and pop sensibilities; a magical amalgam that sounds bigger than anything he’s done before. Nailing down every single facet is nigh impossible as a bevy of instruments fill the space, never allowing for a hint of silence to break through. While this may seem a bit busy, one finds themselves sprinting to keep up only to be wonderfully exasperated at everything to be found. Tons of percussion and unconventional instruments are used ingeniously, and as always, Tokumaru absolutely stuns with his complex guitar delivery. Once again, the artist shows a penchant for bringing together tons of elements into a perfectly executed package.

With his fifth record, Shugo Tokumaru has shown that he need not surprise his listeners with any grand displays or attention grabbing gestures. Instead, it’s the sublime chorus in “Circle,” the total silliness of “Pah-Paka,” and the sheer intensity of “Micro Guitar Music” that once again displays his genius. That being said, In Focus? is far and away his boldest record to date. Choruses are more explosive and it all has a much more boisterous pop feel to it. Yet underneath the added girth is the same core that has been present in every one of the musician’s offerings to date. Thankfully, it is more than enough reason to delve once again into Tokumaru’s quirky saccharine mind.



Recent reviews by this author
Howls of Ebb The Marrow VeilLocrian Infinite Dissolution
Envy Atheist's CorneaSigh Graveward
Marriages SalomeMarsen Jules The Empire of Silence
user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Tyrael
February 16th 2013


21003 Comments


This is your best work in a long time

good job, I will check this out

mindleviticus
February 16th 2013


8534 Comments


Good album

Anthracks
February 16th 2013


4113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it was released in 2012 tho

Digging: Embrional - The Devil Inside

foxblood
February 16th 2013


6797 Comments


yeah hasn't this been out for a while. or is that just in japan or something idk

Calc
February 16th 2013


12883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sorry to be that guy but I don't think that's what the red queen hypothesis is...



other than that I'ma listen to this.

Digging: Poloniumcubes - Three

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013


7517 Comments


This has some good hooks. I listened to 2 songs out of this and they both sounded interesting to say the least. Despite many instruments involved, this sounds really organic. Great review as always.

Digging: Clarence Clarity - No Now

Asdfp277
February 16th 2013


2471 Comments


the ratings look like a penis.

is this a sign?

Digging: Alaska Thunderfuck - Anus

joplinpicasso
February 16th 2013


427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, Tokumaru has been adding layers to his work ever since his minimalist debut, so this might just be his best work yet.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 16th 2013


4968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shugo rules, this is a 2012 release fyi.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 16th 2013


51505 Comments


Eli you hack

Anthracks
February 16th 2013


4113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

polyvinyl released it in north america in 2013, sure, but the album was available in his home country (and on the internet) in 2012

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013


10961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Who gives a fuck when it came out it's good

robin
Emeritus
February 16th 2013


4284 Comments


eli i have grown to love you so

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013


7517 Comments


Yeah. It doesn't matter if it's 2012 release. It most definitely rules.

Anthracks
February 16th 2013


4113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i guess so...it's just kind of weird to ignore the fact that it released originally in november just because of where it released

kingsoby1
Emeritus
February 16th 2013


4968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean who cares except that our release date is wrong on the site?

plane
Emeritus
February 16th 2013


6110 Comments


2013 release. We go by original country release date if there isn't a foreseeable US/international release date, right? The US date for this was announced shortly after Japanese release. And in any case, this'll give us more time to realize it should prob end up on out list. Also: best Shugo!

Eli you done this justice. More like 4.2 tho amirite

ihopeuchoke
February 16th 2013


668 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Best pop album so far of 2013.

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013


10961 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yeah normally i extensively discuss the release date in my review anthracks

Anthracks
February 16th 2013


4113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

all i'm saying is complaining about someone talking about it is an even bigger waste of time than talking about it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy