Pissed Jeans
Honeys


4.0
excellent

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
February 16th, 2013 | 51 replies | 5,296 views


Release Date: 02/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: First World Problems.

1 of 1 thought this review was well written

Political punk is a dead movement all in all. Why is that? The music that Black Flag and Bad Religion made back in the day brought attention to relevant issues and urgently addressed the sad realities of the everyday man’s life that affected us all individually a bit more than we openly like to realize it did. Pop punk was so popular with the young'uns because the songs detailed the bliss of immaturity and love through the eyes of naive youth, so post-hardcore ended up taking up the job of discussing the social issues. However, with emo and post-hardcore making their angsty mark on culture through more adult songs of love gained and then lost, and the once dominant anarchists-turned-geezers not having anything important to write lyrics about anymore for some reason, punk seems to have retained attitude but let its subject matter collapse into more trivial issues. Maybe it’s just that the casual listener can (and is more willing to) relate to issues on a much smaller and more personal scale than to bother with involvement in problems larger than they themselves.

Honeys is a punk album that embraces all the pet peeves, minor annoyances, and persistent irritations of everyday working class life and explodes them miles out of proportion with irate noise. Honeys violently shatters the boundaries between noise rock and punk by relying on barrages of formless feedback for structure just as much as it does charging basic chords. It is the ultimate explosion of suppressed frustration with the most trivial of problems, and it isn’t ashamed to make an insane and outrageous deal over having it up to here with first world problems. Whether it’s the continually subpar quality of cafeteria food, being paranoid about wondering if the laughter you heard was directed at you, or the pained responsibilities to come out of the blurred transition from teenager to official adult stature, Pissed Jeans is letting loose and venting about these problems through the most hectic and disjointed of clanging, harsh, warped, detrimental static and distortion that combined with the shouted vocals often sounds like hearing a mental breakdown in a therapy session muffled through a closed door.

If you’re in a mood where children are starving in Africa, but god dammit, who the hell cares, you’re stuck in traffic, there is nothing more therapeutic than this album.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (48)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
February 16th 2013



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I got 99 problems but the first really good Pissed Jeans album ain't one. Hit me!

Digging: Glassjaw - Everything You Ever Wanted To Know...

MrElmo
February 16th 2013



1950 Comments


never heard of them and I'll change that asap

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013



3344 Comments


youngins

young'uns

Other than that, good short review, may listen to this soon.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Musically, this album is nothing special: they basically rehash the AmRep sound, but I like these guys and their lyrics. So yeah, this is quite enjoyable.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

porch
February 16th 2013



8451 Comments


expected this to be better

horrible review

alachlahol
February 16th 2013



7471 Comments


lets write a review filed with pointless shit that has nothing to do with anything and then rate the album way too high and stick a finger in our ass

porch
February 16th 2013



8451 Comments


lol

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah yeah. The review is not very good, Alex. The 2nd paragraph is spot-on, but the 1st seems like an unnecessary history lesson. It'd work if the review was longer though. You basically spend more time talking about the punk scene than describing the album. It should've been the other way around.

GiaNXGX
February 16th 2013



4867 Comments


Political punk is a dead movement all in all.





stopped reading

breakingthefragile
February 16th 2013



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well, everything I said had to do with describing the album's unique lyrical themes, and I think the first paragraph was necessary in giving perspective and background on how punk's themes have gotten to this point and why lyrics about things that aren't seriously important are relatable.

@GiaNXGX Give me 2 good examples of modern political punk bands that are relevent and popular in the general hardcore punk scene nowadays.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You've totally misread my point. I was pointing at the fact that you spent too much time describing the scene... in such a brief review. You're only tackling the album in the 2nd paragraph (which is not enough imo). Pretty half-baked review if you ask me. This para would work better as a sound-off.

The phrase with political punk at the beginning is also questionable to say the least.

breakingthefragile
February 16th 2013



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not a really big deal that describing what I wanted to describe about the punk scene's background took just a little more wording than it did to describe the album's sound, I mean the general punk scene is a bigger subject afterall, but I tried to make both paragraphs as breif as I could. The paragraphs are really about the same length anyway.

Also, I'll believe the political punk not being mostly dead thing when I'm given some examples of modern politically charged hardcore punk bands that are pretty popular, because that side of punk has pretty much been dethroned by all the new subgenres.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The lyrics are definitely personal. They deal with bleak reality and often revolve around apt social observations.

breakingthefragile
February 16th 2013



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And yeah greg, I get that you're saying that in only two short paragraphs I spend half of it talking about the punk scene, but the thing is, I would have only used the second paragraph as the entire review if I didn't feel the first was needed. Two paragraphs may be too short to you but I've been trying to make my reviews as concise as I can, I think it's more straightforward that way, as opposed to huge essays.

breakingthefragile
February 16th 2013



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, alright then, you completely missed the entire point I was trying to convey with this whole review. I wasn't saying this album was politically charged at all, in no way do I say that. I was talking about how punk has retained the attitude but the subject matter has changed from important political issues that matter, to the trivial social observations that are discussed on this album.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2013



7315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah yeah. My mistake. This makes sense. Still, I like brief reviews, but the structure of this one just doesn't cut it for me.

breakingthefragile
February 16th 2013



2943 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it works, I'm pretty satisfied with it, but hey, thanks for the critiques regardless.

Tyrael
February 16th 2013



20738 Comments


I gotta agree with greg on this one, the first paragraph reads like some sort of lecture

ibringyoufire
February 16th 2013



351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album's satisfying as fuck.

Digging: Alex G - DSU

jefflebowski
February 16th 2013



7379 Comments


can't wait to listen to this, if it's as good as king of jeans i won't be disappointed

Digging: Flying Lotus - Cosmogramma



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy