Bolt Thrower
In Battle There Is No Law!


3.5
great

Review

by Andrew W. Gold CONTRIBUTOR (93 Reviews)
February 12th, 2013 | 114 replies


Release Date: 1988 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Warning: Not for the faint of heart

It’s a well known fact that pussies don’t listen to death metal. Death metal is brutal and fast, relentless and technical, and it requires a certain level of masculinity, if you will, to appreciate. To clarify, I’m not talking about the fairy dust melodeath ala Arsis, Neuraxis, and Dark Tranquility, not to say they aren’t great bands, but posers can pass off liking a couple of their songs and call themselves a true death metal fan. That means no technical wank metal either (I’m looking at you The Faceless). I’m talking straight up, no tricks no gimmicks, brutal death metal. The sound that Possessed created in 1985 with their legendary debut Seven Churches; the kind that scene kids manage to make it through the first 10 seconds before they claim it’s Satanist crap, shut it off and proceed to jam A Day to Remember.

Bolt Thrower is a common name in death metal, and for good reason. They’re one of the few bands in the genre that are consistently excellent. Not releasing one bad album in their entire discography, considering they’ve been around since 1986 I’d say is a pretty big feat. Their ’88 debut In Battle There Is No Law already shows the band off to a great start. The riffs are fast, the atmosphere is heavy and dark, and listening to it has the tendency to make you want to punch someone in the face. This album in particular has some of the fastest riffs Bolt Thrower ever conceived. Closer ‘Nuclear Annihilation’ puts you in a trance with its relentless riffage until the very end when it fades out with a drowning effect to ease you back into reality.

The best way I can describe this album is that’s raw, unforgiving, death metal. Nothing more, nothing less. It’s littered with some of the best thrash riffs the genre has to offer, and the production, while far from the genres’ best, provides an unparalleled dark and raw atmosphere that many bands strive for to this day. Bolt Thrower really separates the boys from the men on their debut – for example, you wont find a pussy-whipped Atreyu fan listening to In Battle There Is No Law, that’s for damn sure.

Recommended Tracks
- In Battle There Is No Law
- Forgotten Existence
- Concession of Pain




Recent reviews by this author
My Tears, Your Weapon On the Edge of ReasonMuse Drones
Incubus Trust Fall (Side A)Soundtrack (Film) The Guest
Every Time I Die SalemOceano Ascendants
user ratings (114)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

if the review reads like i'm high, its because im high as fuck



tried to make it look all professional though. short review for a short album

Digging: Between the Buried and Me - Coma Ecliptic

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
February 12th 2013


6692 Comments


The album title is awesome.

Digging: Brannthorde - Auf Teufel Komm Raus

0vrot
February 12th 2013


459 Comments


metal as fuck

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


20715 Comments


Hey leave a day to remember out of this lol.

good review man gotta check this band

Digging: Tigers on Trains - Grandfather

demigod!
February 12th 2013


47045 Comments


only heard realm of chaos by this band, its pretty sweet

NocteDominum
February 12th 2013


7214 Comments


It does read a little high dude.

NocteDominum
February 12th 2013


7214 Comments


It does read a little high dude.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sorry michael i meant no offense to ADTR fanboys I swear

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that's kinda vague man care to elaborate?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wait is that supposed to be terrible or sexist?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

how are they sexist?

tempest--
February 12th 2013


16072 Comments


Haven't heard this one yet, what's it better/worse than in comparison to the rest of their discography?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

wow lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


20715 Comments


that's enough guys lol.

listening to mercenary right now first album i've heard by them you guys like that one?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I mean.. You're joking right? Like its kinda dark and excessive but... really?

tempest--
February 12th 2013


16072 Comments


all their albums are 3.5 or above

Agreed, haven't jammed these guys in so long though.

demigod!
February 12th 2013


47045 Comments


pos for high review

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol seriously I meant no offense to ADTR or Atreyu fans hell i didn't even insult them they were just examples. and my view on death metal is that it's ballsy. if you think that's sexist you really gotta take the stick out of your ass and realize its just a casual review, you don't have to take everything so fucking seriously

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


20715 Comments


i do agree that the comparisons to a day to remember and atreyu are sort of pointless. i mean i enjoy some ADTR but i also love death metal lol



Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
February 12th 2013


22664 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

then more power to you! :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy