Algernon Cadwallader
Fun


4.5
superb

Review

by davygrohl USER (11 Reviews)
February 8th, 2013 | 33 replies


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Algernon Cadwallader's short but brilliant EP breaches the releases of Some Kind of Cadwallader and Parrot Flies.

Algernon Cadwallader’s “Fun” serves as a transition in between their two LPs, arriving one year after 2008’s “Some Kind of Cadwallader” and two year before “Parrot Flies”. Both of these records are outstanding exercises in the emo genre, and it is amazing Algernon had anything of quality left in the vaults in between these two releases.

Even more astounding is that Fun’s six tracks contain perhaps their best known and most widely regarded song, “Spit Fountain”. It demonstrates that Fun resides closer to SKOC, retaining that record’s spindly charm. It also finds time to indulge in a little experimentation. “Black Clouds” is perhaps the least engaging song Algernon ever recorded, featuring a loping groove and an almost freak folk vibe. “Responsible Party” is tacked on the end and is a pleasant enough diversion; its reminiscent of the breezy cover the band did of The Beatles “This Boy”, featured on the Cover Up Compilation.

Like every other release Algernon put out, Fun is an essential listen for Algernon fans and general emo revival fans. While it serves as a sort of cleaning house for the band, the brilliance of the band still shines through like an uncovered light bulb in a basement show.



Recent reviews by this author
Old Gray An AutobiographySand Castles Sand Castles
1994! FUCK ITGrown Ups Hand Holder
CSTVT CSTVTdios trio High on Bikes
user ratings (146)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
pmmets07
February 7th 2013


5984 Comments


damn dude you're cranking these out. i personally don't give a fuck but i'm pretty sure it's site etiquette to not post more than one review a day.

i never even realized that spit fountain was so popular, when i saw them this summer i had never heard that song but everyone went buckwilde for it

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
February 7th 2013


6386 Comments


Yeah there's an unspoken rule about one day but more reasonably, you should wait at least until your
first review is off the front page before you submit a second one.

XingKing
February 7th 2013


11966 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review is far too short, but I fucking love this band

davygrohl
February 7th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Is it? My bad, I have been on a roll lately so I decided to rush a short one out. I'll hold off for a bit.



I personally think they have some better songs, but it is pretty damn good. The shout out to begin the song may be what does it for a lot of people. I managed to see them about two weeks before they broke up, dodged a bullet there.

davygrohl
February 8th 2013


13 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@andcas "it's not every everlong" ha!

Spluger
July 10th 2013


1240 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

LEMME TELL YOU WHAT I THINK ABOUT FROOOOOOOOGGGGGGG SPIT

Digging: Unwound - Repetition

Mort.
May 20th 2014


11950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

LEMME TELL YOU WHAT I THINK ABOUT FROOOOOOOOGGGGGGG SPIT

IM FOR IT!!!!!!!!







ive had that fucking line stuck in my head for the last 3 days. so infectious

Digging: Dead Man In Reno - Dead Man In Reno

Conmaniac
January 11th 2016


8737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

best opening line to any emo album...i say it randomly all the time

Digging: Old Gray - Slow Burn

Mort.
January 12th 2016


11950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it does just randomly pop back into my head occasionally

Conmaniac
June 3rd 2016


8737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

growing on me...might bump to 4

Mort.
June 4th 2016


11950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pls do



i ppl to talk about this band with lol

Conmaniac
June 4th 2016


8737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I will my friend bb

YakNips
August 14th 2016


18657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think it's impossible not to smile while listening to the opener

Digging: Virginia Genta / Chris Corsano - The Live In Lisbon

Conmaniac
August 14th 2016


8737 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i know right dude

LEMME TELL YOU WHAT I THINK ABOUT FROOOOOOOOG SPIIIIIT

IM FOR IT!

AsleepInTheBack
September 5th 2016


2345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is so wonderfully chill and messy.

Digging: Ichiko Aoba - ????

YakNips
September 5th 2016


18657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

in the sunny months it's the only thing i trust

Mort.
September 5th 2016


11950 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Brave little abacus tho

AsleepInTheBack
September 5th 2016


2345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

still need to check them

YakNips
September 5th 2016


18657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they're the pinnacle of emo so doooo ittttt

AsleepInTheBack
September 5th 2016


2345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

why aren't they on Spotify?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy