Fen
Dustwalker


3.0
good

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (196 Reviews)
February 6th, 2013 | 25 replies | 1,413 views


Release Date: 01/21/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Swirling chain reactions meets a fundamental approach steadying up Fen’s overall sound in a positive manner.

Dustwalker is an album that bends and shifts, but never against the confines of the genre. Nor is it completely straight forward; stretching to some post metal and avant garde/shoegaze, Fen promotes just how to expand from previous releases creating a safe but not overly generic listen. Everything that the band presents in the records run time sits squarely in the genres stereotypes. However Fen does manage to steer away from a roughly dull listen, recreating a solid presence on the black metal community adding some ‘post-like’ elements and reaching Fen’s potential (or as close to it as they’re likely to get). With all of this in mind, it’s important to realise that Fen are not simply conforming to the typical restraints of the music they develop – rather the music revitalises, lifts and expands creating a captivating black metal listen, highlighting that this band is no mere one trick pony. This atmospheric black metal band succeed on knowing where the limits are, ensuring that the music is not forced, strained or over-the-top. In retrospect it’s good to see them improving on their previous full length, Epoch – not in a drastic, revolutionary way but, more in a manner that the band itself has grown, matured and moved forward from their 2011 release.

Transcending the genre completely is a difficult task and rather than trying it seems Fen has accepted their fate, finding it better to go down stream rather than fighting the current. At a respectable sixty-six minutes Fen’s Dustwalker is sure to provide enough material to let the listener fully absorb the music without being disappointed by its runtime and maintain forward thinking they present on Dustwalker. At times, one could be fully immersed in the minimalistic beauty of “Hands Of Dust” swallowed in the tranquil almost Alcest cleans that float in and out only to be broken by even phrased raspy screams. Most of the tracks on the record aren’t exactly the most accessible or catchy tunes; at times you could be listening to a ten minute track filled with multiple influences, soundscapes and especially with the aesthetic black metal sections they get rammed down the listeners’ throat – take the aforementioned “Hands Of Dust for example. Between the combinations of these two integral themes, the clean and tranquil sections come out on top, leaving the stereotypical black metal rather average but still vital. Fen shines through when the music is warm and inviting.

Overall, Dustwalker is a record to take a little notice of. It’s not a best of the best release but it is certainly merit-able in its own right. Fen has built off their last release from two years ago, without slipping away from what they know. Unfortunately for the record it doesn’t have too much of a repeat value and a once through is generally enough for listeners’ to get the feeling of this record. Ultimately, Fen’s Dustwalker is a steady, acceptable release but nothing more. Dustwalker is melodious, energetic, tranquil and yet there is still something in the band’s overall design that’s holding them back.



Recent reviews by this author
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
Miserable Failure HopeBong Stoner Rock
user ratings (72)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
Hernan M. Campbell STAFF (3.5)
Atmosphere, melody, and brutality mixed together into a potent musical brew....

related reviews

The Malediction Fields

Epoch
recommended by reviewer
Fen Epoch

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



6993 Comments


A little late on the release date, but it still counts, right?

PortalofPerfection
February 5th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Damn this is really well written. Obviously I disagree, especially about them being safe. Specter is 10 minutes long and doesn't have a single harsh vocal and barely any distorted guitar. And after some 30 minutes of relatively slow paced spacey music, they hit you with something so shockingly uptempo as Wolf Sun, fall back into brooding black metal, and then end with a progressive whirl (Epilogue).

Digging: Der Weg Einer Freiheit - Unstille

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


Thanks dude, and your username just reminded me i need to find a legal stream of the new Portal full length.

PortalofPerfection
February 6th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol oh god portal hurts my soul. They're like the lo-fi version of DeathSpell Omega.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


They're like the lo-fi version of DeathSpell Omega.


Dude, did you have to?




PortalofPerfection
February 6th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

lol I meant it in a good way though, I like it but it's damn hard to listen to.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


Not hard at all dude, and if you like some Deathspell Omega, try some Secrets Of The Moon

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2013



4410 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this was good, I really enjoyed it. But there were a few songs were the band just got really repetitive for me. Mainly the last two heavy songs after 'Wolf Sun', I dont know about anyone else, but I really didnt care for those 2.

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


Yeah i agree with you, it lost a lot of headway around the halfway mark

PortalofPerfection
February 6th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I don't understand the hate/disregard for The Black Sound, it's a death/doom masterpiece, with touches
of BM and post-metal. But really, it's doom.

PortalofPerfection
February 6th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

And Crowpath is epic as fuck. Epilogue makes a big difference though. Was gonna give this a 4 before I got my physical copy and heard the real last track, it ties everything together so well and is awesome in it's own right. Crowpath seemed to end too abruptly but it was really just a lead in to Epilogue.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


I've got the full thing including a couple of demo recordings in the bonus tracks, still though there's still some better stuff out there

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


I've got the full thing including a couple of demo recordings in the bonus tracks, still though there's still some better stuff out there

PortalofPerfection
February 6th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Meh. Everyone on this sight seems to adore Agalloch, I enjoy them, but I thought Marrow was easily their best album, which people here went two opposite directions on. And Secrets of the Moon is *yaaaaaaawwwwn*

So there's my taste for you lol

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


Off a first listen? Anyway fair enough - I know better than to start a debate on a subject more opinonated than politics lol

PortalofPerfection
February 6th 2013



395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Well, with politics, choices made should be good for everyone. My choice of music only has to be good for me ;)

Anyway, again, tight review man cheers.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


I'll still got more to come

Gyromania
February 6th 2013



15495 Comments


few errors here and there, like,

recreating a solid presence on the black metal community (add 'by' here) adding
some ‘post-like’ elements


but overall good writing. pos

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6993 Comments


Thanks man, ill sort that out

Gyromania
February 6th 2013



15495 Comments


i'd actually never heard fen before this album. one of the reasons i checked this out is because i think the artwork is pretty cool, but it's prob a 3/5 for me as well. i wonder if i should check out other fen albums.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy