Main Attrakionz
808s and Dark Grapes II


4.5
superb

Review

by Super Grover USER (32 Reviews)
February 5th, 2013 | 1268 replies | 22,608 views


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: You can't hate

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

808s and Dark Grapes II is like, 75% perfect. There’s a drop somewhere in between “Take 1” and “Perfect Skies” where you kind of forget you’re listening to Main Attrakionz and maybe pick up a nice book or something, but then that little cheesy piano sample hits and yep, it’s perfect again. By any standard of measure this is a substantial improvement over Kanye’s 808s, which is merely about 12% perfect.

But that’s irrelevant, because all things considered, 75% perfection is pretty damn good. These are fifteen little bundles of cloud-rap goodness all wrapped in haze and sprinkled with some slow-mo, scattershot flow.

Flow is the key word here, because if there’s anything that 808s does, it flows. In a world of Lil B mixtapes and 20-track rap albums, this is an impressively succinct, complete piece of work. For all the lazy, “just wanna put my feet up” images conjured by this brand of “cloud rap”, 808s is expertly produced. For all the haze in their beats and wobble in their voices, Main Attrakionz are airtight. You probably wouldn’t catch them saying it, but 808s didn’t happen by accident. It couldn’t have.

It’s that striking contrast between the near-amateurism of the lyrics--Squadda and Mondre literally shower listeners with “best duo ever!”s and “light some weed up”s--and the brilliant way their flow locks in with the production that elevates the mixtape above the swarms of Clams Casino and Friendzone-inspired efforts that are creeping ever-closer to the mainstream. For however long this trend lasts (certainly not too long, if the duo’s follow-up is anything to go by), 808s deserves to be the standard-bearer.



Recent reviews by this author
Friendzone DXThe Twilight Singers Blackberry Belle
The National Trouble Will Find MeAlice in Chains The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here
The Airborne Toxic Event Such Hot BloodMeat Puppets Rat Farm
user ratings (112)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hep Kat
February 5th 2013



14984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

reveiw short lol neg

Digging: Nipsey Hussle - Crenshaw

Romulus
February 5th 2013



8410 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

< 3

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



4376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I loved this album too. The review could use more touches on detail, but you're on the right track. Ill pos but I suggest you go
back and edit this.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



14982 Comments


hold up i agree that this album is like 75 percent perfect but that is NOT where the drop is

chosen? paperwork? the second half of mondre momurda? cmon

iirc im not a huge fan of incredible or vegetables and some other track toward the middle

Romulus
February 5th 2013



8410 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i really like 'incredible' but yeah i actually put the middle section in there first before changing it. which i suppose would lend credence to the argument that less than 75% of this is perfect but whatever it is perfect enough for me

Romulus
February 5th 2013



8410 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also 'perfect sounds' come on man

robin
Emeritus
February 5th 2013



4241 Comments


i love friendzone so much

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 5th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

chuch

Digging: Shabazz Palaces - Lese Majesty

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 5th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

because if** there’s anything that 808s does

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



6085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

FACT: this album is 100% perfect

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 5th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

would 5 if it wasnt for vegetables and paperwork

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



6085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This review brushes the lyrics off a bit too much, considering just how entrenched in social politics these fellas are. Not to say they are political, but that they are observing life as a constant give and take to which they hold themselves personally responsible. Weed is included, but that is a luxury, not a lifestyle; as is self-aggrandizing. That is the biggest luxury they allow themselves on a mixtape with a song called "Vegetables" on it (green, amateur, nutritious; wordplay, bitches).

EaglesBecomeVultures
February 5th 2013



5180 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

man do i wish you still wrote reviews

Romulus
February 5th 2013



8410 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i was gonna say i'd really like to see that in a review

"just how entrenched in social politics these fellas are."

humor me; they are?

also thanks eagles will fix

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
February 5th 2013



7018 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

FACT: this album is 100% perfect

Yes.

Couldn't disagree more with the assertion that there's a drop in quality in the section you mentioned. Also the lyrics certainly require more discussion, they are profound in their treatment of the struggle between the escapism of hedonistic pursuit (weed indulgence, chasing tail) and the consciousness needed to overcome that, to not "choose the dark." There's humility and thoughtfulness to the lyricism that puts this work above other cloud rap (most rap, I'd argue) and is why I visit it for introspection above anything else.

Digging: Braid - No Coast

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 5th 2013



6085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm a diamond of God but a neighbor with Satan

Could be a role model, or roll whatever's right

Romulus
February 6th 2013



8410 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

different strokes for different folks. i'm happy we can agree it's a wonderful album.

i can't shake the feeling you guys are putting too much stock in deeper meaning here but it's certainly intriguing, gives a whole nother lens with which to look at this.

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Um. "Diamond of God" and "Regrets" speak for themselves.

You are underestimating these guys. Just cause they are not eloquent (but certainly can be), does not
mean they aren't capable of profundity. They happen to filter observations (see: wisdom) through self-aware, 20-year-old bravado. It is entertaining and enlightening.

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2013



6085 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I mean shit, check out "Love is Life," off their label debut. They tackle ideas of legitimacy and credibility in making the music/promoting the lifestyle they do (in a scene that is currently making Chief Keef famous) while upholding greater self-reflections and open dialog with others: "I ask myself / 'How can I live if I'm not in prison?' / Drugs, murder, money and wisdom / walk before you crawl / talk after you listen."



porch
February 6th 2013



8439 Comments


may as well throw your hat in the ring for contrib



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy