Justin Bieber
Believe Acoustic


2.0
poor

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
January 30th, 2013 | 40 replies


Release Date: 01/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A release that seems as though the only reason for its existence is to meet a quota.

After the success of his debut EP My World, Justin Bieber proceeded to milk the “My World” name for as much as he could. Naming his debut album My World 2.0, and then subsequently putting out both a remix album and acoustic album of the songs on said debut, it appears as though Bieber’s sophomore effort Believe is set to follow in the same path with the announcement of Believe 2.0, and the release of Believe Acoustic.

These acoustic renditions really only seem to have been recorded for the sake of capitalizing on the original content of Believe. Only eight songs were selected to be covered out of the 13 tracks on Believe, and the songs chosen to be covered acoustically were very poor decisions. Songs like “Beauty and a Beat”, “All Around the World”, and “She Don’t Like the Lights” fare poorly in the acoustic format because they were originally composed as electronic dance anthems written with partying in mind. Just when Bieber had shown potential in the dance-pop field on Believe, he has zapped those same songs of all their energy. Songs like “Boyfriend" and “As Long as You Love Me" that were built as love songs to begin with - and already contained some acoustic elements as well - don't feel as out of place here, as they don’t go against their original purpose and do work appropriately in the more serious context of acoustic music.

Though the main issue is that Bieber doesn’t make any efforts to do something new, interesting, or inventive with these songs by utilizing the acoustic format to his advantage. He merely just strips these songs down and puts no real unique spin on them to help them adjust to an acoustic skin better. There’s nothing inspired about the instrumental arrangement either. While the original songs were layered and succeeded mainly through well-done production, these versions feel inappropriate being as bare as they are here. Bieber’s never-wavering serious tone that he consistently keeps throughout the album - even on the tracks that are meant to be fun-loving party anthems - also leaves much to be desired in terms of mood variation, and ultimately leaves Believe Acoustic feeling like a pointless and dull exercise in bland promotion, and nothing more.

The four tracks included that are not acoustic versions are a live version of "Fall", and three brand new tracks from Bieber. Being the only live track on the album, "Fall" is nothing particularly special and really doesn't seem to belong. The track is only worth mentioning because of how it serves as sort of an abrupt transition out of the acoustic songs and into the three new tracks that end the album. The three new songs are nothing in the way of remarkable either. They don't show any growth for Bieber, and despite being new material, all three actually sound more like outtakes than anything.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (47)
Chart.
1.6
very poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
January 30th 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Same case as his first acoustic album, boring and really not suited for his style no matter how much he tries. I can't take him seriously with an acoustic guitar anyway.

Digging: Cathedrals - Cathedrals EP

breakingthefragile
January 30th 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Still stand by my rating for Believe.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2013


23816 Comments


summary makes a lot of sense. they probably just threw this together quickly cause they figured the cash-cow was due for a milking.

I don't know why any non-fan would bother listening to this though.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2013


23816 Comments


review reads as more of a 1.9 though

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2013


23816 Comments


@andcas - you don't think fans of shit like this would be into Jack Johnson or Matt Costa or other non-offensive acoustic-guitar driven pop music? I'd bet against you on that one.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2013


23816 Comments


well I don't know what's up with the people where you live but in BC most people that like Justin Bieber also like Jack Johnson, Ben Harper, etc. etc.

tommygun
January 30th 2013


24931 Comments


$$$ pos

Digging: Broods - Evergreen

breakingthefragile
January 30th 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wrote a new paragraph on the end because I just flat out forgot to talk about the
live track and three new tracks included on this.

Also, whoops, didn't give Bieber a 1, looks like I deserve a neg I guess. Thanks
random reader. Just when I finally hit a 90% approval rating after it being at 89% for
months too rofl.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2013


7041 Comments


a 90% approval rating after it being at 89% for months too rofl.

Lol, keep digging mate, write enough reviews and you won't even notice the negs.

Also EWWW! Bieber and such...

RosaParks
January 30th 2013


14908 Comments


I enjoyed Believe as well, but I definitely wont be checking this out

Gyromania
January 30th 2013


15706 Comments


heard some of this earlier and thought it was pretty meh. good review.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2013


4424 Comments


@Alex
I'll admit they annoy me as well (especially the 'ghost' ones), but negs are so fucking meaningless in this site. You can get it for practically any reason, and most of the time it's for reasons that have nothing to do with the actual review itself. I've learned to ignore them and quite frankly I dont even care anymore. Besides what matters is that you're growing as a writer and that it's getting recognized- hence that nifty contrib tag under your name.

Like Robert said, you'll see that more you write, the less you'll even care about them. Anyway, excellent review. I might listen to this because my girlfriend listens to his music (*sighs*.. oh who am I kidding, I like his stuff too!). Have a POS.

breakingthefragile
January 30th 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks Paperback. I don't give a shit at all about my approval rating or negs anyway
though, I've never received a reason for any one of the negs I've gotten on my past
reviews, so I doubt there's been a good reason for any of them. I just think it's
hilarious that I always seem to get one or two negs on a review now and then and I
can just never seem to maintain that 90% approval rating for more than a day lol.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2013


4424 Comments


Honestly, with this writing momentum you're got going on, you'll end up as a staffer pretty soon. Then who gives a shit if you never hit a steady 90%.

foxxxythnksustnk
January 30th 2013


2132 Comments


pdrmission to neg?

breakingthefragile
January 30th 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Paperback Amen to that. Thanks for all the support you've given me man, can't tell
you how I appreciate it. You think I could really make staff? I hope I'm able to
someday, it would only bring me one step closer to my ultimate goal of making a
profession out of this sort of thing.

breakingthefragile
January 30th 2013


2956 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

And yeah, neg away foxxxy my man. Neg your heart out. Thank you for asking so politely.

Gyromania
January 30th 2013


15706 Comments


yeah, approval ratings mean nothing.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2013


4424 Comments


You think I could really make staff?

Oh yeah, without a doubt, mate. I actually started to take music journalism classes as well at school, hopefully it helps me grow. It started off as a hobby but I'm really enjoying it.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2013


4424 Comments


Just keep writing and keep getting better and you'll get the promotion.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy