Buke and Gase
General Dome


4.1
excellent

Review

by Cam EMERITUS
January 30th, 2013 | 37 replies


Release Date: 01/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Brooklyn-based duo drop their weird, catchy sophomore record

On their sophomore album, Brooklyn-based duo Buke and Gase continue to expand their brand of asymmetrical, off-putting indie rock, peppered with all sorts of infectious hooks and riffs. The sound of General Dome is that of a female-fronted, modern version of The Pop Group, relegated to playing in a garage somewhere while an 8-track, stuffed somewhere in a corner, records everything that’s being played. General Dome has this sort of loose and improvisational feel, reminiscent of a post-punk record without a whole lot of the self-righteousness and seriousness that makes so much post-punk a drag to listen to. It’s the kind of record that makes people like myself--people who are constantly switching between listening to some cult obscurity from the 80s to the newest flavor of the month--get really, really excited.

The major drawing point of General Dome is its uniquely lo-fi production, which gives an added bite and edge to many of the duo’s songs. Vocalist Arone Dyer, whose untamed yelps and varied singing is sure to draw comparisons to like-minded singers like Karen O or Braids’s Raphaelle Standell-Preston, sounds like she’s recording her vocals in a wind tunnel, straining to be heard. Aron Sanchez, who plays a guitar-bass hybrid instrument called the “gase” (Dyer plays a ukulele-hybrid called the “buke”, both of which explain the band’s ridiculous name), creates an exceptional amount of no wave-esque noise to surround Dyer’s hooks with. Sanchez’s sloppy yet propulsive riffs are rough and grimey in the best way, and wouldn’t sound out of place on a DNA or a Sonic Youth record. These two seemingly disparate parts combine in an off-putting but refreshingly rough-and-tumble way.

Most of all, General Dome is simply a good freakin’ time: there’s no denying the sheer joy behind the R&B-influenced “Metazoa”, or the snarling and minimalistic title track. Even better is “Houdini Crush”, which noisily opens like a garage rock relic, then wastes little time transitioning into a wistful, surprisingly touching ballad, with a hook that’ll bounce around in your head for a while. The messiness of the band’s prog-meets-no wave songs is undeniable, but Buke and Gase are having too much fun to really care. And trust me: their good times are infectious.



Recent reviews by this author
Beach Fossils Clash the TruthBeach House Bloom
Sun Kil Moon Among the LeavesASAP Rocky Live.Love.A$AP.
Red Hot Chili Peppers I'm with YouBon Iver Bon Iver, Bon Iver
user ratings (70)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
related reviews

Riposte

Comments:Add a Comment 
SeaAnemone
January 29th 2013


20304 Comments


Cam likes this? Okay I'm in.

Digging: Holy Sons - Lost Decade II

Asdfp277
January 29th 2013


1093 Comments


Sweet cover. Good review.

I want.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2013


23819 Comments


"Cam likes this? Okay I'm in."

seconded.

also, the review is great, perfect length for an album review imo.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2013


23819 Comments


I mean if it was 4.0 I probably wouldn't have wasted my time but 4.1?!?!?!!!! well now.

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2013


7111 Comments


General Dome is what I call your mother.

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad this got reviewed, great album

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2013


3449 Comments


Look who's back

TRMshadow
January 30th 2013


4982 Comments


4.1. This is not going to die

StallionMang
January 30th 2013


5619 Comments


Yeah, good review, but I've been wondering, how is it that you can do 4.1's and stuff like that? Is that new?

Digging: The Antlers - In the Attic of the Universe

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2013


4507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a new Staff-only option.

kitsch
January 30th 2013


5107 Comments


sold

NightmareCinema16
January 30th 2013


2016 Comments


The rating increments are tipping me off. What just happened?

joshuatree
Emeritus
January 31st 2013


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

4.1 is clearly so much more important than a 4 guys

i think my next review is gonna be xiu xiu's a promise and i'm gonna give it a 5.2 fuc wtih me

Spare
January 31st 2013


5306 Comments


o man a cam review

sounds good son

Digging: Best Witches - Wishes

kitsch
January 31st 2013


5107 Comments


i had a dream i met up with this girl i used to know in high school and would play guitar with and we drove to indianapolis to see xiu xiu

IrrationalAnimal
January 31st 2013


73 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What is the point of the increments being staff only? Because you know, I'm dying to start dishing out the 4.1's myself

irrevrent
February 1st 2013


115 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm so glad this got featured. This album... If not for 2 or 3 songs I would have given it a 5.

bakkermaarten007
February 1st 2013


3504 Comments


I so want that staff ratings option.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2013


7276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ohai!!! It's Cam!!

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Tyrael
February 1st 2013


20876 Comments


this is pretty wag

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy