mewithoutYou
It's All Crazy! It's All False! It's all


5.0
classic

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (71 Reviews)
January 26th, 2013 | 34 replies | 1,413 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist

Review Summary: And just as a Flower and its Fragrance are one so must each of you and your Father become

Sitting here on this subzero night I am trying with every single brain cell floating in between my shoulders to put to words the way I have been feeling. I want to do something important. I want to do something with my life that in some way can affect the people surrounding me in a positive manner. Everyone around me has something. You see, I do not have much to boast about. Aside from my modest collection of vinyl and classic literature I do not own anything that would set me apart from anyone else my age. What I do have is a love for music and a penchant for being able to articulate my thoughts. (For the most part) While I am often time satisfied with my final results, I spend more time than I would care to admit obsessing over positive votes I receive on my review for a band you have never heard of.

There’s a movement in our stillness and however much we move we’re bound to stand completely still

I constantly find myself needing this sense of validation: “You are good at writing Alex.” “You’re not making any sort of mistake pursuing an English major.” But through my doubts and lack of production there is one subject in which I can write and speak volumes about, and never doubt myself. mewithoutYou has been here time in and time out. Often times all it takes to put my world into perspective is the wise words of these gentlemen, reminding me that we are all searching and that maybe no certainty even exists but that certainty is definitely worth chasing.

You don’t know where you came from, you don’t know where you’re going. You think you’re you, but you don't know who you are, you’re not you... you’re Everyone Else.

I find my self not listening as often as I used to anymore. I do not have days where I put this record on repeat over and over and find myself inspired. But whenever I hear the opening lines of The Fox, The Crow and The Cookie I remember the introduction to a relationship with music I have never felt before and more than likely will never feel again. I am constantly happy and I am constantly sad. I am constantly angry and constantly at peace. Through the years I see Aaron is the exact same way and I remember these emotions are not anything to hide behind. As my friends drift ever so further away from me I take solace in the fact that nothing can ever take this away. This unrequited love is a love worth holding onto.

There’s a love that never changes no matter what you’ve done



Recent reviews by this author
Trophy Scars Holy VacantsSeahaven Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism Only
Sleep Weather Two Wheels SpinningWe Are Scientists TV en Français
William Fitzsimmons LionsPrawn / Joie de Vivre Split
user ratings (769)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everyone needs a late night pretentious review that isn't really a review. This is actually how i've been feeling lately. I guess sputnik isn't the best place to articulate this, but it's a place I can publish my thoughts. and what else is there to be said about this album that hasn't already been said countless times..

I'm hoping this isn't ripped apart too much lol

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2013



4382 Comments


I love this album myself, but mewithoutYou have yet to put out a bad album. "Every Thought a Thought of You" is probably my favourite song off of this. I love the arabic chanting near the end.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah. they're pretty good. I love every time he speaks in arabic or french or any other language lol. My favorite is probably the fox the crow and the cookie or cattail down

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2013



4382 Comments


Yeah, those are good too. Anyway, sweet write-up, man. I gave you a POS.

DrMaximus
January 26th 2013



8921 Comments


Only mewithoutYou I haven't heard yet.

Chortles
January 26th 2013



17909 Comments


this band seems like swag on deck where do i start

Digging: Yo La Tengo - Electr-O-Pura

DrMaximus
January 26th 2013



8921 Comments


Brother, Sister is 5'd hard. That's where I started.

Chortles
January 26th 2013



17909 Comments


You’re not making any sort of mistake pursuing an English major


pos'd

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2013



4382 Comments


@Chortles

Yeah Brother, Sister or Catch For Us The Foxes would be the best places to start you cant go wrong with either one really. This is what I think is their best song, mainly because I love the lyrics to it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTaQWLD73kM

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is actually the one i started with, but i would definitely start with brother, sister. My all time favorite album.

But thanks, i can't tell if you're being sarcastic or not.. lol

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You just can't find better lyrics than the verse that starts out with " as graceful and green as a stem"

Chortles
January 26th 2013



17909 Comments


just joshing you because that line made me laugh, interesting writeup for sure in all seriousness. that
song rules paperback, a lot different than i thought it would sound but really great.

i'm def gonna have to check these guys out

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's what i thought. It's usually the way it goes lol.

DrMaximus
January 26th 2013



8921 Comments


O, porcupine is my fav.

TooLateToGoBack
January 26th 2013



1753 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is kay.

c0ffee
January 26th 2013



279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was an enjoyable read.
I own about all of mwY's discography on vinyl, and even a few duplicates (in different colors) that I really should sell.

"King Beetle..." synced up to an old film:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sf6TUE9I_FM

larrytheslug
January 26th 2013



1315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the fox the crow and the cookie is one of the best videos of all time!

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That king beetle video is pretty awesome. I remember watching it awhile back.

And the fox the crow and the cookie video is what got me into mewithoutyou. So i'm forever grateful for that

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2013



2809 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@coffe what extra stuff do you have? I've got the entire discography too including the Norma jean split

CasinoColumbus
January 26th 2013



340 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of my favorite bands of all time. Seriously need to see these guys live sometime. Oh, and Wolf Am I is my favorite song too Paperback.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy