Sepultura
Nation


2.0
poor

Review

by Andrew Gold CONTRIBUTOR (66 Reviews)
January 18th, 2013 | 30 replies | 2,596 views


Release Date: 2001 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A tired, lifeless effort.

Sepultura will always be known for their thrash metal days, there’s no doubt about that. Consecutive releases Schizophrenia, Beneath the Remains, and Arise were borderline classics, even rivaling the quality of the big-four’s famous albums of the same era. Ever since vocalist/guitarist Max Cavalera left in 1996 however, Sepultura has been pretty hit or miss. It doesn’t have much to do with Cavalera himself per say, considering the band was already on a downhill slope before he quit (Roots being one of the worst albums I’ve had the misfortune of hearing), but the following albums solidified the death of a legendary band and the rise of a mediocre forgettable one.

Nation continues into their foray into groove metal and fails on almost all accounts. None of the songs are ‘groovy,’ or even catchy. Gone are the blistering riffs of their early days and in their place are weak, boring ones. Yet as lazy as the songwriting is, some credit has to be given to vocalist Derrick Green, Cavalera’s replacement. He had fairly big shoes to fill and while he doesn’t have a great voice by any means, he fit quite well, and someone who knew not of the vocalist change likely wouldn’t notice a difference. His voice is fairly similar to Cavalera’s – not as guttural, but more of a scream/yell crossover, which suits their drastic shift in style. The clean vocals don’t though, adding nothing to the songs they’re in and simply serve as a momentary change of pace from the album’s ever-present monotony.

The biggest crime here is the album length. Upon hearing the first few songs, a full 30-40 minute album of similar material would be tolerable – not remotely close to Sepultura’s potential but not particularly offensive either, at least not like Roots was. As the album progresses, however, it almost feels as if you’re hearing the same song over and over again. They all follow the same structural patterns, they all feature the same style riffs (sans the minute long ‘Revolt’ which is a stale attempt to capture the ferocity of their early albums), and not one aspect of the music stands out from the rest. Songs like ‘The Ways of Faith’ try to break the album’s dullness by showing a slower, bleak side of Sepultura, but unfortunately the experimental side of the band is just as boring as their heavy side, if not more so. Not to mention the fact that the songs themselves are very repetitive and each about 2 minutes too long, a few of which should’ve been scrapped completely i.e. ‘Tribe to a Nation,’ ‘Saga,’ and ‘Uma Cura’ (Seriously, Sepultura? Nu-metal?). Instrumental closer ‘Valtio’ is the only case of experimentation done right on Nation, but its placement in the album’s context makes it come across as too little too late.

It’s hard to listen to an album like Nation and think of how far the mighty have fallen. It’s not a surprise really; it happened to all the big-four thrash metal bands, and thankfully most of them are slowly but surely getting their act together. Sepultura are as well to an extent, Dante XXI was a decent album, but it doesn’t change the fact that each bands’ mid-period was completely hit and miss – and unfortunately in Sepultura’s case, mostly miss.



Recent reviews by this author
Within the Ruins PhenomenaSonic Syndicate Sonic Syndicate
Origin OmnipresentMuse Dead Star/In Your World
Justin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2Black Tongue Born Hanged
user ratings (248)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
nibblinghellgoat (4.5)
Massively underrated...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2013



19437 Comments


Nice review but why do u keep reviewing shitty albums lol I want to see a 4 or 4.5!

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2013



19437 Comments


Whoa you've reviews quite a few albums already in 2013 nvmd

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2013



1843 Comments


Great review man. I haven't listened to anything post-'Roots', and I don't think I will in the future. I didn't actually mind 'Roots', I seem to remember liking the change in sound. I saw Sepultura last year at Bloodstock, and Derrick Green does a good job on vocals in my opinion, but it didn't seem like they were on top form to me.

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

thumbcrusher
January 18th 2013



3573 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah this album kind of sucks, though there are some good green era albums

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2013



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@Atari Hah yeah, I'm digging Sepultura atm and felt like reviewing one of their albums. I already did a positive one of Schizo, figured I'd do a negative one this time

@linguist Thanks! As much as I hate what Sepultura has become I would still love to see them live


Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

mindleviticus
January 18th 2013



8162 Comments


good review andrew. I had roots bloody roots on my "To-Listen" list for quite some time now. Should I give that a wurl instead of this album?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2013



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks jake, and idk both are pretty bad. I haven't listened to Roots all the way through in years but from what I remember it's even worse than this. Some people dig it though

mindleviticus
January 18th 2013



8162 Comments


ROOOOOOOOOOOOOOTS BLOODY ROOOOOOOOOOOOOTS

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 18th 2013



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

*shoots self*

DarthMann
January 18th 2013



13476 Comments


never liked this band past the first few good review

apert
January 18th 2013



2972 Comments


why even listen past Chaos A.D

Digging: Emperor - In the Nightside Eclipse

sustainthesatan
January 19th 2013



212 Comments


good review dude and i agree, why listen past Chaos AD-and even Chaos wasnt that good bar a couple of songs. Arise and BTR are their best

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
January 19th 2013



20631 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Dante XXI was alright from what I remember.

VermicideReloadead
January 19th 2013



1433 Comments


The band died after Max departure, their albums after that are bad or in the best case just average.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 19th 2013



19970 Comments


Haven't heard this one and I don't think I want to tbh.

Great review, pos'd.

evilford
January 19th 2013



21167 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nice review, pos'd

A couple decent tracks but yeah overall shit album. Summary is right on

Digging: Demilich - 20th Adversary of Emptiness

Wizard
January 19th 2013



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ever since vocalist/guitarist Max Cavalera left in 1996 however, Sepultura has been pretty hit or miss.

Name one hit with Derrick? I've listened to everything they've put out and it's nothing short of uninspired.

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

sustainthesatan
January 19th 2013



212 Comments


Dante XXI was alright from what I remember. "


Dante XXI sucks, Kairos was their best one after Chaos AD, or perhaps Roorback

Wizard
January 19th 2013



19210 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ewwwww are you kidding me. I remembering being pissed off after listening to that. Same with Kairos which was even worse. It's like they just kind of float for the sake of keeping the bands name relevant.

KjSwantko
January 19th 2013



9052 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The song Border Wars is sweet but this album as a whole is awful.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy