The Last Royals
Twistification


3.0
good

Review

by SowingSeason EMERITUS
January 10th, 2013 | 28 replies | 5,347 views


Release Date: 01/08/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A catchy albeit formulaic debut for the Brooklyn pop duo.

Even though they have already released an EP, The Last Royals are for all intents and purposes new kids on the block. Formed in 2010 by singer Eric James and drummer Mason Ingram, they craft infectious and heavily electronic pop music with themes pertaining to daily urban life in “a world of concrete and steel.” One listen may be all it takes to dismiss their thematic legitimacy, but that doesn’t mean that they don’t have anything to offer. Twistification is a vibrant debut, buzzing with memorable beats and catchy choruses that will engage the casual listener for the majority of its brief but fulfilling duration.

If you are searching for an album with a degree of grit or rawness – something that challenges you but is rewarding in the long run – then you have come to the wrong place. The Last Royals have certainly created a good album, but it is more immediately gratifying than it is worthy of long-term appreciation. Songs like ‘Friday Night’ and ‘Always to Belong’ are glossed over, so smooth in their production that you almost feel the need to watch your step in order to avoid sliding. The former in particular is quite enjoyable, opening with a confidently strutting club beat that expands into a synth-driven pop extravaganza, along with an unforgettable chorus of “my baby said she wants to fall in love.” It’s nothing groundbreaking, but it gives party-goers a fun and edgy tune to enjoy as the excitement of the night beckons.

Twistification isn’t all glamour and glitz, though. There’s a variety of styles to be enjoyed here, from the Killers-influenced indie vibe of the thoughtful crooner ‘I Hate California’ to the distant echoes of punk-rock that can be heard on ‘Crystal Vases.’ The record is more of a melting pot of genres than it is an endeavor in one particular direction, which makes for an eclectic and unpredictable listen. With that said, The Last Royals struggle to string together quality songs in a row, with their best efforts coming at the very front of the record. Twistification’s listeners can anticipate a wide range of indie and pop songs – all electronically influenced – while maintaining hit-or-miss expectations when it comes to the band’s consistency.

As for the future it is clear that The Last Royals have the potential to make a rather large mainstream splash. If they can continue to produce interesting and catchy material, it will simply be a matter of exposure and time. The band possesses a somewhat rare ability to make flat-out mainstream songs that aren’t completely derivative of other people’s work, and that in itself is worthy of at least a half-hearted endorsement. Other than that, however, there isn’t much to say about Twistification. If fun, accessible indie/electronic pop is your cup of tea, then The Last Royals will probably find a spot in your regular rotation. Otherwise, they are a “check out their hits, ignore the rest” type of band.



Recent reviews by this author
Ingrid Michaelson Lights OutLost In The Trees Past Life
The Avett Brothers I and Love and YouAvril Lavigne Avril Lavigne
Yellowcard Ocean Avenue AcousticGoo Goo Dolls Magnetic
user ratings (9)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Emeritus
January 10th 2013



14511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Stream:
http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/spinner#/4

Recommended Tracks:
Friday Night
Come Take My Hand
Crystal Vases
Barefoot Winter Waltz


Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2013



7011 Comments


from the Killers-influenced indie vibe of the thoughtful crooner ‘I Hate California’

BUT THE KILLERS LOVE CALIFORNIA!!! NEG.

Hahaha, just kidding SS. Good review. I thought the line "The Last Royals have certainly created a good album, but it is more immediately gratifying than it is worthy of long-term appreciation" was the killer (no pun intended) description. I take it this doesn't really stand out above our clump of typical indie pop bands then, eh?

Just a heads-up: I think you'll like the stuff from the next album that I plan on reviewing on here. Band's called Air Review (album - Low Wishes). Hope to get up my piece by tonight (What he said? Ha!) so hopefully you can read it then =)

*holding hands* =)

Digging: Caleb McAlpine - All Things New

SowingSeason
Emeritus
January 10th 2013



14511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah they're typical Indie Pop clump, just with like two songs I can't stop listening to because they're catchy as hell

And I look forward to your review. As always I love your insights. If you think I'll like them, that's enough for me to give it some
attention...

tommygun
January 10th 2013



21345 Comments


so basically this is music made for tv advertisements?

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2013



23637 Comments


sounds bad, won't listen

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Tyrael
January 10th 2013



20394 Comments


Well this album stinks

Sowing, did you listen to that Allo Darlin' album yet?

Digging: Lantlos - Melting Sun

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2013



3008 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review as always Sowing, though I feel like the summary could probably be improved (I hate using
"albeit" there). This sounds like something I'd probably like, so I will check it out later.

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2013



15693 Comments


3/5 sowing review why the fuck would i ever read this

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins [AMDISCS]

SowingSeason
Emeritus
January 10th 2013



14511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know, 3 reviews are pointless. Right, Irving?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2013



7011 Comments


Yeah man wtf is wrong with you.

And that dude who wrote that 3.0 Halloween review. Like. Wtf?!

SeaAnemone
January 10th 2013



18802 Comments


yeah this trend is beyond played-out, I can tell exactly what this sounds like based on the band name alone and it's excruciatingly uninteresting : p
bands like this irritate me more than clearly-bad bands

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 10th 2013



7234 Comments


That summary had Daveyboy written all over it.

Good review anyhow, I doubt I'll be checking this out though.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2013



3008 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Friday Night" is really annoying, and I can't stand the guy's voice. It's gonna be stuck in my head all day, though, isn't it?

SowingSeason
Emeritus
January 10th 2013



14511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yes, yes it is.

Geist
January 10th 2013



371 Comments


The album cover is Instagrammy as shit and it makes me sad for our generation.

paxman
January 10th 2013



4083 Comments


The summary needs a couple commas but good review. I'll probably YouTube the tracks you recommended and ignore the rest.

SowingSeason
Emeritus
January 10th 2013



14511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Where would you put commas? I don't see how it needs them.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
January 10th 2013



7011 Comments


Where would you put commas? I don't see how it needs them. [2]

ihopeuchoke
January 10th 2013



667 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"A catchy, albeit formulaic, debut for, the Brooklyn pop: duo."

That's MUCH better.

SowingSeason
Emeritus
January 10th 2013



14511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol

I could maybe see "A catchy, albeit formulaic, debut for the Brooklyn pop duo" but I still think my way sounds better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy