Fero Lux/Courtships
Fero Lux/Courtships


3.5
great

Review

by Jacob R. STAFF
January 2nd, 2013 | 18 replies


Release Date: 02/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: While uneven in nature, Fero Lux/Courtships displays the true prowess of two of hardcore's most promising acts.

Coming off their hot debuts in 2011 and 2012 respectively, Courtships and Fero Lux have a lot to live up to with their new split. Fero Lux's Some Divine Ashtray was an exciting amalgam of math core and post-rock, and Courtships' The Feral Sound was a ferocious blend of sludgy hardcore and piercing guitar licks. Both albums succeeded in gaining more fans for the promising groups, and the thought of the two collaborating is a very promising one. When two equally competent newcomers work together to craft something memorable, it just makes sense that the end result would be thrilling.

Fero Lux/Courtships contains some of the most jarring tracks either group has recorded, and it has to do with some very important stylistic shifts. Both groups undergo subtle changes, making the experience especially worthwhile. The most notable difference in Fero Lux's sound is vocalist Victor Skamiera veering away from singing: this isn't surprising, either. One of Some Divine Ashtray's biggest flaws was Skamiera's occasionally off key vocal melodies, and so it's nice to see the group advancing towards a sound that works best for them. Fero Lux instead work with spoken word in "Say It Like Pacino," and the approach works incredibly well for their style. And Courtships drops any subtleties from their sound, and embraces an energetic madness reminiscent of their biggest influences. The Feral Sound is more dynamic in nature; Courtships' tracks here are instead explosive, all the way through. These changes, while initially subtle, end up in one unpredictable album.

Fero Lux's half is an exercise in honing strengths and diluting weaknesses, and this formula leads to success. "The Devil (Hooah!)" is a concise track, but it's filled to the brim with fun riffs. It's also got some frightening screams within, another area in which Skamiera has stepped up to the plate on this release. Instrumentally all the musicians are at the top of their game, whether it be from disorienting rhythmic grooves or ambitious work on the guitar. The only noticeable flaw of Fero Lux's side is its prolonged denouement - "Say It Like Pacino"'s ending is far too long. There's nothing inherently wrong with the dramatic climax itself; the deconstruction is just placed at a curious moment. Perhaps the ending would come more fittingly after more material from Fero Lux, for wrapping up two tracks with such a grand statement feels highly unnecessary. Putting things into perspective, though, this problem isn't even close to worrisome. At least this is some of the best material Fero Lux have written, comparable to Some Divine Ashtray's most bombastic moments.

Courtships' half is more of a mixed bag. The Feral Sound implied the group's next release would feature killer riffs, one ferocious vocalist and clear production. The group only have the first two attributes on their side here, somewhat of a deal breaker. Courtships' half is very well-written and musically exciting, but the less-than-flattering production waters down the overall experience. Sure, "DOA" is the angriest song here, but it's hard to appreciate when the song sounds like it was recorded in the one of the band members' garages. There are even issues with the sounds of the instruments themselves: the snare drum is astoundingly weak here, for instance. This is a shame, too, because the songwriting on Courtships' half is about as enjoyable as Fero Lux's. We're able to see the group is still able to write powerful tracks; they just need to find the proper means with which to display them.

At least Courtships succeed with "Japam," a dutiful cover of Botch's classic track. The production isn't half bad here, and the group does a wonderful job of properly displaying Botch's energy by channeling it into their own domain. If they can treat their own music as delicately as they do their influences, Courtships will be more capable of reaching their forefathers' heights.

Overall, though, Fero Lux/Courtships is definitely a success. Fero Lux have created two of their most rewarding tracks yet, and furthermore, there are numerous signs that Courtships are capable of writing some truly massive tunes. It's exciting to think about where the groups go next, too, because two big hardcore acts with even bigger potential are sure to really make something of themselves.



Recent reviews by this author
The Contortionist LanguageMaybeshewill Fair Youth
Fallujah The Flesh PrevailsEvery Time I Die From Parts Unknown
Baths Ocean DeathClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
user ratings (5)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 1st 2013


10288 Comments


streaming here: http://www.muzikdizcovery.com/2012/12/stream-fero-lux-courtships-split.html

Cheggit!

wacknizzle
January 1st 2013


13495 Comments


Great review Jacob, pos'd. I'm definitely gonna check this out, I just got into Fero Lux. Plus I really wanna hear Courtship's cover of Japam, that song rules. I need revisit Feral Sound, I only heard it once, I just don't remember it having good production.

Digging: This Gift Is A Curse - I, Gvilt Bearer

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 1st 2013


4443 Comments


Good review, Jacob. I'm interested in hearing the cover for "Japam", since you say it lives up to the AAODE version.

wacknizzle
January 2nd 2013


13495 Comments


They did a really good job at Japam. But still nothing matches the sheer intensity of Botch's version. Ordered AAODE on vinyl recently, should be here in a couple days, can't wait!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


10288 Comments


Thanks Wack! 'The Feral Sound' had clear production, which allowed the listener to absorb all the stylistic changes. Here that isn't the case, unfortunately, but the tunes are still enjoyable.

Cheers Hernan. I'm not sure it lives up to the original version, but it's damned fun.

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


4443 Comments


I meant to say that you described it in a very appealing light. I just checked it out, it was indeed a good cover.

@Wacknizzle
Nice! It's a sweet album to have.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


3471 Comments


Great review Jacob, nice to see you tightened it up a bunch. Have a pos.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


10288 Comments


Thank you sir! ^_^

this album is much more my domain than Big Boi was. I'm getting better at understanding hip-hop, but maybe I should focus on music I comprehend more before I try other genres.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


3471 Comments


Actually, I think it's a good idea to try other genres. I mean, you get better faster if you take music you're uncomfortable with rather than just review your comfort zone. Personally, though I review a lot of electronic, I still step out of what's comfortable every so often (like Solterra and Carly Rae Jepsen) - and that's helped me quite a bit.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


10288 Comments


Yeah, I guess that's true. I just hate having reviews that aren't as high-quality as the other ones, even if they do teach me a lot.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


2005 Comments


I think you can make "math core" into just one word ("mathcore"). That's my only stupid little nitpick :P

Good review, though it doesn't sound like these are the kinds of groups I'm really interested in these days. Hell, I don't even listen to Botch that much anymore.

Anyway, have a pos, man. Always enjoy reading your stuff.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Maps of Non-Existent Places

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2013


10288 Comments


I typed mathcore originally, but my computer edited it to two words. Thanks, man! I always look forward to hear the music you enjoy, and reading your reviews as well

thinkingofyou
January 21st 2013


1 Comments


James from Courtships here, thank you very much for this.

If you're looking for more music in this vein, check out my other band that I also do vocals in, Feral King (ex Spitfire). We've got a split coming out with Lonely Ghost Parade, which features members of Zao.

http://feralking.bandcamp.com/

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Feral-King/185234368241941?ref=ts&fref=ts




Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 13th 2013


10288 Comments


I'm late as hell here, but thanks for the comment James! I'll be sure to check your other group out.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2013


3471 Comments


very late haha

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2013


10288 Comments


i know, man, DON'T MAKE ME FEEL EVEN WORSE OK

GmemberKills
February 4th 2014


952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Been spinning this on vinyl alot. Nice to see a staff member promoting these guys.

GmemberKills
October 2nd 2014


952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this still rules. new fero lux album in da works too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy