Gnarwolves
Cru


3.5
great

Review

by Ethereal Space Yogurt USER (205 Reviews)
December 28th, 2012 | 23 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Ball's: Walking The Anti-Kvltian Path

2012 has been a close-minded year for me. It's a year that has found me exclusively listening to the most claustrophobic, cavernous, basement dwelling, sieg heiling metal on earth. Why? I do not know. Maybe it's because I've been on a Crowley/Lovecraft binge, maybe it's because my ever-growing hatred for fat people, Planet Fitness and Blood On The Dance Floor continues to grow and inspire me to be more hateful, in turn, forgetting my fun, social self and attracting me to go back to my cave-dwelling Gollum-esque ways. Whatever the case, it is what it is. This "Lord ov the Pagan Forest" attitude/musical niche was broken recently when a UK based pop punk band called Gnarlwolves slapped the kvlt out of me.

Normally I consider (modern) pop-punk to be pretty gay but Gnarlwolves I happen to like. It's not that they add anything new to the genre or go against what I don't like about pop-punk, they just happen to catch my ears because I really dig the energy, happy aggression and charisma they bring to their music.

Cru is a nice little EP from the group that emphasizes catchy hooks, naked beer-pong with the bros and early morning treks to the local Denny's after an exhausting evening of Pokemon card tournaments. Catchy riffs and gang vocals abound, the group skirt through up-tempo numbers with youthful exuberance and poise while slowing down and adding in a few Brand Newisms to the mix. Vocals are often times shrill and gritty but go pretty well with the nice assortment of bouncy chords and melodies that the guitars provide. The rhythm section is pretty entertaining as well. Drumming is high in the mix and gives a nice rhythmic sound and the bass has a good, dense tone to it.

Cru is simple, fun music that can be easily enjoyed. Unfortunately, it's a rather short recording. Coming in at six tracks and twelve minutes Cru really isn't so much an album as it is an appetizer. It's fun, it's catchy and it's to the point. Before you've gotten up to unload the taco 12 pack you just ate in your personalized toilet the recording is already over. There's nothing more to it than that.



Recent reviews by this author
Vampyric Blood Ordo DraculPagan Hammer Ode To My fathers
Destroyer 666 Of Wolves, Women & WarSo Hideous Last Poem/First Light
13th Moon The Pale Spectre over the WormTheophany Time's End: Majora's Mask Remixed
user ratings (58)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Gnarwolves

Comments:Add a Comment 
GiaNXGX
December 27th 2012


4867 Comments


Latterly reviews DSBM and all of a sudden "Lord ov the Pagan Forest" attitude/musical niche was broken recently when a UK based pop punk band called Gnarlwolves slapped the kvlt out of him.

Sorry balls, I'll do a thelemaic ceremony for you later, but I think it's too late already.



Hep Kat
December 27th 2012


16966 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude i love you

Digging: Boilerman - Boilerman

BallsToTheWall
December 27th 2012


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd like that Gia. I

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


51197 Comments


Balls 4 staff

BallsToTheWall
December 27th 2012


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Artwork makes me hungry for some cold, Hawaiian Stuffed Crust Pizza-Hut.

BallsToTheWall
December 27th 2012


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Earth Crisis and Kate Bush making sweet, beautiful love, giving birth to a majestic, white swan with massive shoulders.

GiaNXGX
December 27th 2012


4867 Comments


* It sounds like your taste.

Sorry dude I read some pages from the book of law as I chanted to Ea and idolized your anti-kvltian
tendencies as a perilous decrepitude. But it didn't seem'd to work. So my personal recommendation
for ya would be healing yourself with some kvlt, unadultured noisy sounds of the 4.0>[静香]

GiaNXGX
December 27th 2012


4867 Comments


卐 nature. Read this while drinking some ol' Jager, as well:

With pensive grace the melancholy Swan
Mourns o’er the tomb of luckless Phaëton;
On grassy banks the weeping poplars wave,
And guard with tender care the wat’ry grave.
Would that I might, should I too proudly claim
An Heav’nly parent, or a Godlike fame,
When flown too high, and dash’d to depths below,
Receive such tribute as a Cygnus’ woe!
The faithful bird, that dumbly floats along,
Sighs all the deeper for his want of song.

BallsToTheWall
December 27th 2012


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tattooed we dance the tango, in a melancholy way,

Bearded ladies, muscle men, freaks entering the affray.

Crowds come in from the suburbs to observe the perverse,

Jimmy the pick-pocket he's on the loose,

Mind out and watch your purse.

GiaNXGX
December 27th 2012


4867 Comments


you're back m/

BallsToTheWall
December 27th 2012


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought I'd be happy in heaven

I thought it would be swell

I thought I'd be happy in heaven

In fact I'm as unhappy as hell

The harps, they all bore me

St. Peter's jokes are a farce

The angels look down their noses

because I'm from a different class

St. Mathews discovered religion

He converts people every day

Whenever he gets near me

I tell him to go away

St. Christopher, I've been rude to him

I told him what he could do with his staff

I told him where he could stick it

And he didn't laugh

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 27th 2012


51197 Comments


cuz we luvin the cru
we luvin the cru
we luvin the cruuu

BallsToTheWall
December 27th 2012


44805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

gugu for chuchus

cthulhu

GiaNXGX
December 28th 2012


4867 Comments


A mountain walked or stumbled

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2012


7514 Comments


'an exhausting evening of Pokemon card tournaments'

^Haha. Cool review.

Digging: Royal Thunder - Crooked Doors

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
December 28th 2012


6583 Comments


This was really fun to read, pos.

TenSecondsToThink
January 12th 2013


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I saw them together with Every Time I die and a couple of other Hard-/Metalcore bands, so it was

kinda

fun to hear them play Pop Punk. I also remember them being pretty good though, guess I'll have to

check this out.

.

.

I'd love to give this a 4 because they're really talented and shitz but it's really not enough on

here. Still a really good and fun listen.

.

.

Whatever, I'm an idiot.

TenSecondsToThink
January 14th 2013


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUR BOILING EEEEEEEEEEEEEEYES MAY RUN THICKER THAN MIIIIIIIINE

TenSecondsToThink
May 3rd 2013


1290 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The new song is disappointing. 2013 is a frustrating year so far.

Ire
May 3rd 2013


41851 Comments


cru



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy