Xanthochroid
Blessed He With Boils


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (71 Reviews)
December 26th, 2012 | 160 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: There's always that one album that has to screw up end of the year lists....

It's the very end of the year, most people have already done or are finishing up end of the years lists. You think you have a solid ranking of your favorite albums from 2012 and then....here comes Xanthochroid to mess all of that up. Being released on December 21, 2012, Xanthochroid's debut full-length Blessed He With Boils shows you why you should wait until every single album of the year has been released until you make an end of the year list, which is something a lot of us didn't do.

For starters, I'm sure many people have no idea who this band is. Hell, I was one of those people up until about a week ago. With that being said, Xanthochroid is a black metal band hailing from California. I don't know about you guys, but when I think of USBM (especially from California) I think of bands like Ash Borer and Fell Voices, so if you're like me, I'm sure you'd expect more of that type of sound from this band. The droning guitars, the cold atmosphere, the "Cascadian" sound, all of that. However, that couldn't be further from the truth when talking about Xanthochroid. Their brand of black metal is more on the melodic/symphonic/progressive side of the spectrum.

Just think for a second if Emperor, Dimmu Borgir, Immortal, and Moonsorrow all had a love child. The end result of that would be Xanthochroid. From the Ihsahn-esque nasally shrieks and the Abbath-esque croaks, the epic symphonics you would hear from a later Dimmu album, and the folky interludes and clean vocals sounding like they came from Moonsorrow, you have one hell of a mixture here. You might think it would sound kinda messy if you mixed all of those sounds together, but these guys make it work magically. You can even hear a little bit of an Arcturus/Borknagar influence as well in the little creepy avant-garde esque bits sprinkled here and there.

If you're someone who is an elitist when it comes to black metal then you'll hate this album. On the other hand, if you're someone like me that got into the genre by listening to the "entry-level" bands such as the ones I've already mentioned, then you'll probably have a field day listening to this. That is if you haven't grown out of this type of music. Clocking in at a little over an hour, Blessed He With Boils is quite an adventure, but it's an exciting one and you won't find yourself bored or wanting to skip any songs. It's like one big soundtrack. So do yourself a favor, don't finalize your 2012 list just yet and give this a chance.



Recent reviews by this author
Incantation The Infernal StormCradle of Filth Midnight in the Labyrinth
Istapp BlekingeAntediluvian Through the Cervix of Hawaah
Marduk Dark EndlessDer Sturmer A Banner Greater than Death
user ratings (113)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
CaptainDooRight (4.5)
A captivating adventure into the conceptual minds of our present day progressive/black metal ringlea...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Good lord I haven't written a review in forever. Probably sucks, but this needed it.

And as you all know, I'm a sucker for this type of bm so I may be overrating it a bit, but it still rules.

Wizard
December 26th 2012


19437 Comments


This sounds like a 2.5/5 for me, just from the comparisons you draw. Good review though buddy, no complaints on grammar, punctuation, etc. stuff I normally grill you about.

Digging: Nightbringer - Ego Dominus Tuus

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah Wiz I feel like you wouldn't enjoy this too much and I can understand that. This stuff isn't for everyone. Thanks though. :]

mindleviticus
December 26th 2012


8237 Comments


lol I JUST got this two hours ago haha. the first two songs left me scratching my head though

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can understand that. I feel like this kind of bm is definitely an acquired taste.

mindleviticus
December 26th 2012


8237 Comments


prog bm?

Wizard
December 26th 2012


19437 Comments


If you want a damn great bm album, go listen to Cornigr's Relics of Inner War.

mindleviticus
December 26th 2012


8237 Comments


On it!

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

prog bm?

Just the cleanly produced, epic type like this.
If you want a damn great bm album, go listen to Cornigr's Relics of Inner War.

Yeah that's a great album.

Tyrael
December 26th 2012


20883 Comments


Ah

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, I did it since you weren't gonna...

Tyrael
December 26th 2012


20883 Comments


Well obviously :]

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

:]]]

mindleviticus
December 26th 2012


8237 Comments


Loving the 4th song though :]

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Don't know if I could choose a favorite track. The whole thing kinda runs together, but in a good way.

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Thanks dude. I could see you digging this.

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I've been around. Just wasn't posting all that much.

CaptainDooRight
December 26th 2012


29419 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos
pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos
pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos
pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos
pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos
pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos
pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos
pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos pos


Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

Hawks
December 26th 2012


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

There's my man Captain. m/ m/ m/

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2012


20741 Comments


Nice review Hawks.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy