Megadeth
Peace Sells... but Who's Buying?


3.5
great

Review

by stalinrules USER (5 Reviews)
December 18th, 2012 | 46 replies


Release Date: 1986 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The most overhyped thrash metal release ever. boring and unmemorable

Peace Sells is widely hyped up as being one of Megadeth's best, and some obnoxious fools would even go as far as to proclaim it to be the best they ever did and a sacred cow of thrash metal. Whilst this was, for its time, a pillar of thrash metal, it certainly does not beat out Rust In Peace and never did, but it has also lost its impact. The riff set for it is still as strong now as it ever was. Wake Up Dead still has that skull crushingly heavy, ultra-memorable riff towards the end that sticks in the listeners head whilst Dave plays his lightning fast hammer-on obsessed solo over the top. Good Mourning/Black Friday is still the most technical pre-RIP thing they did and has that incredible riff after the clean intro. My Last Words is still no holds barred thrash metal from start to finish and one of the best songs the band ever did. So what is actually WRONG with this album?

The vocal performance from Dave is one of the worst in existance. There is whiny and boring, and then there is Dave Mustaine. When he whines lines such as "wake up dead, you die, wake up dead", it is so hard to take him seriously in that overly nasally tone he takes. The title track has one of the most ridiculous vocal performances in thrash metal and i find it really hard to believe that anyone can take this as one of the best thrash songs of all time. Sure, it has some memorable lyrics but Dave's vocals absolutely butcher them.

It also lacks any form of memorability and the tracks themselves are nothing too memorable. They are all rather solid and have alot to like about them, in particular the riff sets for most of them, but they do nothing fresh. It is just South Of Heaven-sounding mid paced thrash metal without that evil tone that sets that particular album apart from most the generic thrash metal out there. Peace Sells... But Who's Buying has rarely any memorable moments throughout. Look at The Conjuring, and listen to it. It whirls past quickly with some great riffs and an intro that sounds particularly decent but it lacks any lasting impact. You won't still be humming the main riff half an hour later, and the over use of galloping guitar work is really annoying on that particular song.

The production is a weak job and the re-master only saught to butcher it even more. There is a good sounding album trapped among the lackluster production but you can never hear it. On the original master, the bass drum was way too low in the mix and the guitars had a very flat tone to them that took any element of heaviness from this album and threw it down the drain. Admittedly, this was only a sophomore album recorded on a low budget, much of which no doubt went on boozing and drugs as Dave Mustaine had already done on their debut, but this really is no excuse for the tin can sound that this album has throughout.

The positives can be found in that the actual music itself is solidly written and performed. Dave riffs like a monster on this album with a huge variety of riffing but none of them really standing out aside from the aforementioned Wake Up Dead riff and some of them from My Last Words. Also, My Last Words stands out as the best song off here and probably one of the best the band ever did with its fast pace and incessant heaviness that really is noticeable on the remaster, even though the actual remastering job was done terrible.

This is one album that really does not deserve its status as a classic based on the fact the vocals are atrocious and the production is appaling and there is no memorablity. As said, the riffs are the best thing about this album, and the drumming is occasionally good but its just so over-hyped.


user ratings (2675)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
FallenDestiny
December 18th 2012


9 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You're brave.
This one was a grower for me. I didn't like it the first few times, but after that it just rose to classic status.
Your review is well-written though, my friend.

renegadestrings
December 18th 2012


1443 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pos because stalin. also good review, though the word 'memorability' is just ugh. agree with all of your points. vocals really take me out of the album

ViperAces
December 18th 2012


12430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

greatest albmu ever fuck off

NightProwler
December 18th 2012


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Remastered Edition is bad

Digging: Captain, We're Sinking - The Animals Are Out

KILL
December 18th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

shit review fuck u

NightProwler
December 18th 2012


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, don't really get that statement. Especially seeing as he's given it a 3.5

NightProwler
December 18th 2012


6353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Or she. Perhaps it's a girl who doesn't know to thrash

Mike08
December 18th 2012


607 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Whilst this was, for its time, a pillar of thrash metal, it certainly does not beat out Rust In Peace and never did, but it has also lost its impact.
- Break up.

The vocal performance from Dave is one of the worst in existance.
- This sounds like a two year old wrote this. Don't use as an intro sentence.

The title track has one of the most ridiculous vocal performances in thrash metal and i find it really hard to believe that anyone can take this as one of the best thrash songs of all time.
- Again, I understand your thesis, don't reuse your original thought because it is poorly written to begin with.

-Don't repeat "butcher" more than once. Use a thesaurus if you must

It also lacks any form of memorability and the tracks themselves are nothing too memorable.
- Again bland opening, and is actually a contradiction of your earlier statement;
I understand you are not overly fond of the material, but review paragraph 1 before penning this line...
(The riff set for it is still as strong now as it ever was. Wake Up Dead still has that skull crushingly heavy, ultra-memorable riff towards the end that sticks in the listeners head whilst Dave plays his lightning fast hammer-on obsessed solo over the top. Good Mourning/Black Friday is still the most technical pre-RIP thing they did and has that incredible riff after the clean intro. My Last Words is still no holds barred thrash metal from start to finish and one of the best songs the band ever did).

Also, My Last Words stands out as the best song off here and probably one of the best the band ever did.
- You already wrote this in paragraph 1, since you don't expand on the original thought, don't restate it.

Conclusions are tricky to handle, so I am OK with your last paragraph. (Since this is review 5), but try to exand on your thoughts while saying something new.

Also your rating of 3.5 does not reflect your 1.5-2 ish read

BillTheButcher
December 18th 2012


289 Comments


stalinrules... so edgy. this album was crucial in the evolution of heavy metal, show some respect.

facupm
December 18th 2012


7721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mmm, this album rules

KangarooSong
December 18th 2012


143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A boring and unmemorable album usually falls in the average range if you ask me.

Good review, although the excessive use of the word "riff" is a bit bothersome.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2012


18492 Comments


honestly peace sells is the worst song ever recorded

Digging: Objekt - Cactus / Porcupine

KILL
December 18th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

remember when we were bros hyp? rip

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
December 18th 2012


18492 Comments


i told you megadeth would tear us apart

evilford
December 18th 2012


22582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

boring lol

Digging: Cadaver - ...In Pains

VermicideReloadead
December 18th 2012


1433 Comments


Please kill yourself stalin, commies are scum and you are a whore

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2012


20695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

unmemorable lol

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

jesuslover46
December 18th 2012


578 Comments


one of the worst reviews ever written

what would faulkner think if he read this trash?

bloc
December 18th 2012


34854 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agree with review

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Chortles
December 18th 2012


17959 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

boring and unmemorable

3.5

hmm



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy