Yngwie Malmsteen
Spellbound


2.5
average

Review

by King Henry VIII USER (64 Reviews)
December 10th, 2012 | 32 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Yngwie makes yet another “sophisticated” wankery of an album. Essentially, nothing is new.

Let’s face it; Yngwie will always be Yngwie. The day he doesn’t play neo-classical shred is the day the Mayans were right. So far the Mayans have been blatantly dishonest to the public, and never gave a single “boo-hoo” to tell the public that December 21st was in fact a Winter Solstice date. Besides the doomsday hoopla, what more can you expect from Yngwie? He’s going to be shredding in D# harmonic Major till the day he dies. Whether you love him or hate him, he’s always been making carbon-copies throughout his entire career. Personally, I’d be a pretty pissed off metal head if my favorite band couldn’t make millions off the same album over and over again. *cough, cough* Dragonforce *cough, cough*

On Yngwie’s official website, the man proclaimed that Spellbound will be – and these are his words, not mine – “ turbo charges bluesy stuff to boot”. One thing is for sure, there is bluesy stuff to boot. The only songs that could be considered bluesy is “Let’s Sleeping Dog Lie” and “Iron Blues”. Not to mention “Let’s Sleeping Dog Lie” could very well be mistaken as something Skwisgaar Skwigelf would spew out with his speech impediment and what’s not’s’s. Besides that I congratulate Yngwie for taking up vocal duties, even if it was for only 3 out of the 13 songs and despite the fact that he auto-tuned his voice. Surprisingly enough he did a more impressive job than some of the other vocalists that were on past albums.

However, his milestone of DIY doesn’t evade the fact that he has formulated yet another carbon-copy. The lack of emotion from the drums put a damper on the atmosphere, Yngwie should never do vocals ever again, and worst of all the feeling of ”I feel like I’ve heard this in one of his other albums” leaves a bitter taste for any listener. Spellbound ultimately lacks inspiration, and kicks the can down the street till the very bitter end. This in return is making Yngwie irrelevant, as well as blatant showcases of Yngwie running out of gas. At the end, Spellbound will be loved by any diehard fan, but loathed by anyone who thinks he’s overrated.



Recent reviews by this author
Galneryus VETELGYUSEdguy Space Police - Defenders of the Crown
Powerwolf Preachers of the NightDark Tranquillity Construct
Gamma Ray Master of ConfusionStratovarius Nemesis
user ratings (22)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

tell me if anything reads funny and I'll go fix it.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2012


16389 Comments


wont bother listening, Blackmore pretender, but good review pose'd

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

damn

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2012


23522 Comments


Great reivew, pos'd.

I like some of this guy's early stuff but I don't think I'll be checking this one out.

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks guys

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yngwie's wife is fappable

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"it always baffles me how an artist, with the resources they have, can release the same album over and over again with little to no growth"





yeah, the guy is a millionaire and most of his albums have shit production.

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

still gay

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh yeah look up April Malmsteen, she's some Czech model. I think.

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ha

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

but which one is better looking?

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2012


8131 Comments


His early stuff is not all bad but I feel that he needs to work more on writing good songs and less on shredding. He is amazing technically but music is about passion not speed.

Digging: Hammer King - Kingdom Of The Hammer King

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol tell Buckethead that

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2012


16389 Comments


not all buckethead's albums are about speed and technicality

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

a few of his stuff is pretty stellar, the rest is autistic

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2012


16389 Comments


he's quite entertaining even on the shredding type albums, cant stand it when he does all the bleepblip stuff tho

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

exactly my thoughts.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2012


3884 Comments


Missing some sort of punctuation in the first sentence, but otherwise good review and have a pos.

FictionalFlames
December 10th 2012


1528 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Saw what you were talking about, thanks for pointing it out.



bloc
December 10th 2012


35543 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is absolute shit



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy