Meat Puppets
Meat Puppets II


5.0
classic

Review

by porch USER (7 Reviews)
December 3rd, 2012 | 154 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: http://oi50.tinypic.com/216d7n.jpg

Forget Let it Be, Doolittle and the other usual suspects that prop up the usual best of lists of the 1980s US indie rock underground - Arizona’s Meat Puppets released at least two albums in the same time period that top them all. Instead of just focusing on the decade and punk background from which they came, there’s even a case to be made for them as one of the great US rock bands, period. It was from those punk roots that the band’s defining works Meat Puppets II and Up on the Sun were born - having already made their mark with the unique acid fried retard hardcore of their first EP and SST debut, their creative progression in the next few years was motivated in large part by a desire to branch out and further alienate the kind of audiences who reacted to their long hair and covers of Doc Watson and Creedence Clearwater Revival songs with hurled beer cans. Led by one of the more talented songwriters/guitarists of the era in Curt Kirkwood (assisted by bro Cris on bass and drummer Derrick Bostrom), the result was a unique album boasting a hybrid of sounds and influences, from psychedelia tinged hardcore to the smoldering guitar jams of Zuma era Neil Young and straight up country of Bob Nolan, but the end result still sounds like little else.

Evoking images of the desert around the band’s hometown Phoenix, the instrumental “Aurora Borealis”, “We’re Here” and “Plateau”s shimmering outro are representative of the album as a whole; timeless passages of music imbued with a sense of fragility by the bands lackadaisical playing and Kirkwood’s languid, wavering vocals, which may initially take some getting used to for new listeners or those with dicks in their ears. Surreal yet often strangely poignant, his lyrics are one of the keys to the enduring charm of II’s hazy, spaced out world, touching on subjects ranging from folklore and junk culture to youthful uncertainty, as described by the breezeway rambling narrator in “Lost”. Their next record Up on the Sun was a similarly great leap into new territory but the Meat Puppets never sounded quite like this again.



Recent reviews by this author
Flipper Gone Fishin'Stick Men With Ray Guns Some People Deserve to Suffer
Cliff Martinez DriveVoid Sessions 1981-83
Wipers Youth of AmericaFugazi Instrument Soundtrack
user ratings (305)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
MegaMetalHeadBro (5)
Wow....

mranti (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2012


995 Comments


Very concise. That second paragraph, especially where you're describing the songs could do with fleshing out a little, but your review is good man. Have a pos.

ThroneOfAgony
December 3rd 2012


3485 Comments


Amazing album, good review

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2012


16057 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

like your reviews, always short but informative, pos from me

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

porch
December 3rd 2012


8459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks bros

this is an old review that kill was asking me to post ages ago

Chortles
December 3rd 2012


17998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review dude, these guys rock

i prefer up on the sun to this though

Digging: Jacaszek - Treny

porch
December 3rd 2012


8459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

everything from in a car to up on the sun is gold but this is the major one for me

Chortles
December 3rd 2012


17998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haven't heard in a car, need to get on that

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2012


19933 Comments


good review but the reference about listeners with dicks in their ears is pointless IMO

Digging: Coldworld - Melancholie

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 3rd 2012


6487 Comments


It was from those punk roots that the band’s defining works Meat Puppets II and Up on the Sun were borne


Oh and:

...which may initially take some getting used to for new listeners or those with dicks in their ears.

This is just a terrible inclusion.

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

derho
December 3rd 2012


307 Comments


You're reviewing some cool albums. Definitely a favorite of mine. Up On the Sun's still growing on me. I was actually planning on reviewing it but i need to give it more time.

Chortles
December 3rd 2012


17998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great edit

KILL
December 3rd 2012


71965 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

omfg the day has come best review ever

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

porch
December 3rd 2012


8459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

8)

KILL
December 3rd 2012


71965 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

who negged cos i'll fight you im not scared lets go

Sublime92
December 3rd 2012


92 Comments


this is an amazing album, i remember when i bought it in 84

porch
December 3rd 2012


8459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

glad you saw this before my hiatus, i may not post again for hours or months who knows

KILL
December 3rd 2012


71965 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

dude dont pull a gyro we need you bro i cant be the only warrior questioning the 2012 staff list omg

Ire
December 3rd 2012


41803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ossum review 5/5 porch telling me how to music

KILL
December 3rd 2012


71965 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

4 wtf ire you homo

Sublime92
December 3rd 2012


92 Comments


what does wtf stand for?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy