Bosse-de-Nage
III


3.5
great

Review

by Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (196 Reviews)
November 30th, 2012 | 53 replies | 3,932 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hold on a second, this isn’t Deafheaven rather, it’s an act to itself.

Showing that you can have a black metal album injected with ideas from other genres may not be such a revolutionary feat but Bosse-de-Nage manages to combine their black metal aesthetics with some features of post rock in a manner that is likely to ensure a steady fan base. For all the inevitable Deafheaven comparisons that are about to commence Bosse-de-Nage manages to show themselves off without falling into the same stigma.

III feels like a follow up record to the band’s sophomore record - that’s because it is, in a lot of ways. Not only have Bosse-de-Nage managed to build on their self-titled debut but with each consecutive release they manage to add a little more in terms of depth and creative writing. All the main features are still prominent from the other records but this consistency is only seen in a better light when the little extras are added to show that Bosse-de-Nage can still add new ideas to the mix. Now with the mention of post rock a certain, more popular act comes to mind: Deafheaven. When you think about it Deafheaven know how to blend both features quite well and when compared to Bosse-de-Nage striking similarities emerge. Now for those thinking that a clone is being presented to them, they may just need to think again. The genre crossover (which already stated bares a strong resemblance to Deafheaven) only helps add to Bosse-de-Nage’s personal and almost unique soundscape. III shows that there is some merit in crossing over genre’s. What needs to be understood is that whilst this has indeed been done before the album is far from a write off.

At times the album feels bare-boned at complete odd with the thick guitar tones layered overing stuttering beats, but all this comes together when the wailing (not whaling) screams punch through the noise and highlight the album’s internal woe. A downside for III however is that after a while the music begins to sound the same. Tracks blend into each other and all being over five minutes long start to create a tiresome listen. For the casual fan of the genre however this works out great because for the most part there is no repeat listen but for the fans who will listen to this over again they may just find their attention shifting before the final track. This is music that has both light and dark, at times the two of those even mix together. The album might not be a minimal atmospheric standout like those found in the funeral doom genre but it has its own relevance on the metal scene. Bosse-de-nage’s III make not be the complete revolutionary but it’s a sound uncommon enough to sound a little fresher than your day to day black metal acts. Give this one a shot, it may just be worth your time.



Recent reviews by this author
Mastodon Once More 'Round the SunMayhem Esoteric Warfare
Architects Lost Forever // Lost TogetherKauan Pirut
Miserable Failure HopeBong Stoner Rock
user ratings (47)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


There we go I'll hit 100 with a relatively unknown.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2012



17196 Comments


This is one of my favorite records of the year. I absolutely love the drumming on it. Personally I think the sound is more post-hardcore mixed with black metal than post-rock. If it wasn't for the vocals Desuetude would sound like a Thursday song.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


This is one of my favorite records of the year. I absolutely love the drumming on it. Personally I think the sound is more post-hardcore mixed with black metal than post-rock. If it wasn't for the vocals Desuetude would sound like a Thursday song.

Yeah I know what you mean but with the precurser of the the other two albums it was (to me anyway) a development on the post rock sound. But yeah i completely understand the point you make.


Athom
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2012



17196 Comments


I can see that.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


Why no rating?

wabbit
November 30th 2012



6978 Comments


I don't know shit about black metal but I love this album. It, local business or Ghost Mice are my AOTY

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


Why no rating Mr. Rabbit?

wabbit
November 30th 2012



6978 Comments


ratings are dumb.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


ratings are dumb.

Fair enough.


CaptainDooRight
November 30th 2012



28317 Comments


you've been writing shorter effective reviews and I love that

I got a good idea of what this may sound like

good job and happy 100th, have ur first pos on ur 100th m/

Digging: IQ - The Road of Bones

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


Thanks Captain : ]

you've been writing shorter effective reviews and I love that

They're ussually around the 500 word mark, this ones just closer to 450.



CaptainDooRight
November 30th 2012



28317 Comments


looking at your past reviews they do seem to be following that trend

this just 'looks' a little shorter but eyes can play tricks on ya

keep doin what chur doin

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


Also, the reviews look longers when that space on the right hand side is filled up with other reviews 'rec'd by the reviewer' and 'related albums'

Thanks captain, im glad I've made an avid reader out of you m/

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 30th 2012



4380 Comments


You're on fire lately. POS'd.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


You're on fire lately. POS'd.


I got another one coming then i'll be off for a couple of days. Back to work and a sweltering summer in the kitchen. If it's too hot in the kitchen well, step outside it's hotter.



CaptainDooRight
November 30th 2012



28317 Comments


"the reviews look longers when that space on the right hand side is filled up with other reviews 'rec'd by the reviewer' "

yea that's prolly what it is, when it's blank it allows for most of the paragraphs to be lengthy width-wise

"If it's too hot in the kitchen well, step outside it's hotter"

dam are u in AZ or NV

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


Auz, sposed to be 42 degrees celcius today. probably 50+ in a kitchen. Love being a chef brother

CaptainDooRight
November 30th 2012



28317 Comments


koo maine, my cousin's a chef too and I love food but my lady does all the cooking but when I lived on my own I def cooked quite a bit, prolly nothing up to your par

do you specialize in a cuisine

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 30th 2012



6931 Comments


Pub food, so we got your snitty covered, but we also have a function centre where shit gets a little fancy. We cater for both. Between 5 chef we'll do anywhere between 300 to 900 a night.

WashboardSuds
November 30th 2012



4981 Comments


jeez 100 reviews? I remember at one point you had less reviews than me. I'm so fucking lazy. have a pos.

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy