Departures
Teenage Haze


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (96 Reviews)
November 27th, 2012 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: When a new Departures record is everything you wanted

Sophomore albums are really hard to pull off. You put your heart and soul into your debut album which was probably written over a period of many years, and the second it comes out the record label wants you to do it all over again in one to two years. It's very easy to put out an inferior product the second time around which is usually known as the sophomore slump. From Cam Newton to The Killers, a lot of dudes just don't have enough juice for more than one effort. Thankfully this is not the case for Departures, whose second album Teenage Haze is superior in every way to their debut.

Not to say Teenage Haze is better than When Everything Is Everything You Wanted. It may have better vocals, guitars, and drums, but it doesn't have the wow factor that the first album had. That first Departures album came out of nowhere and blew up the hardcore scene just at the right time when Defeater were sophomore slumping, and it came as a breathe of fresh air to a scene that was quickly becoming stale. Teenage Haze is more consistent than the debut, but it also has fewer stand out moments. Teenage Haze is almost too consistent in a way that prevents it from having a lot of outstanding moments. It does have a few though: from the snare roll at the end of "Drained Out," to the pounding drums that lead to a beautiful arpeggio riff in "Making Maps," to ***ing all of "21" and "Those Miles Meant Everything," Teenage Haze stands out just enough to avoid becoming stale.

With More Than Life's future in doubt, Departures are pretty much ruling the UK hardcore scene right now and it's easy to see why with the band's ability to meld subtle but always satisfying melodic guitar work with tortured high pitched vocals and lyrics. In just two years the Scottish melodic hardcore outfit has put out two incredible records, and I expect them to have a very bright future coming out of their teenage haze.



Recent reviews by this author
The Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is ThereModest Mouse The Lonesome Crowded West
Modest Mouse This Is a Long Drive for Someone with Nothing to Think AboutViper the Rapper You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack
Have Mercy A Place Of Our OwnPianos Become the Teeth Keep You
user ratings (105)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Jeremy Bentham (4)
Green turns to red, then turns to gold, And the summer air, it grows so cold....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Killers fans are going to hate me

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

foxblood
November 26th 2012


6797 Comments


damn it still need to listen to this. pos

Cygnatti
November 26th 2012


22347 Comments


!!!

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't even talk about the vocals but whatever
They are good

auberginedreams
November 26th 2012


6077 Comments


so who wants to hook me up with a 320kbps link?

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

auberginedreams
November 26th 2012


6077 Comments


because all i can find is some shitty 192kbps rip...

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't even know the difference so sorry

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


16136 Comments


nice review treb, and tru that about the killers, pos

Digging: Suzanne Vega - Suzanne Vega

Calc
November 26th 2012


12371 Comments


"Thankfully this is not the case for Departures, whose second album Teenage Haze is superior in every way to their debut.

Not to say Teenage Haze is better than When Everything Is Everything You Wanted."

No matter what your point was here this reads wrong.

auberginedreams
November 26th 2012


6077 Comments


yeah that part doesn't really make any sense, but i agree this is great so far, even though i've only heard like 3 songs off of it so far.

tommygun
November 26th 2012


25425 Comments


I think you mean to say 'heart and soul' in that second sentence.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh yeah thanks
I mean like how something can be objectively better than something else but the something else had more of an impact when it first came out cuz it was new and yeah hard to explain
Like how Toy Story 2 is superior to Toy Story in animation and writing and stuff but most people like the first better

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


24098 Comments


awesome summary, awesome review, decent band (maybe this LP will change my opinion?)

pos

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

HitlerIsPissed
November 26th 2012


411 Comments


i have a few problems with this review. first of all, you dont really explain how the music sounds. "from the snare roll at the end of 'Drained Out,' to the pounding drums that lead to a beautiful arpeggio riff in 'Making Maps...'" this is the only actual description of the music in the whole review. and also this sentence bothers me: "Teenage Haze stands out just enough to avoid becoming stale." makes it sound more like a 3 or 3.5 than a 4.5 if it stands out "just enough". id like to hear more justification for such a high rating. sorry, but have to neg.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have a bad habit of assuming people have already heard a band's previous albums I know


HitlerIsPissed
November 26th 2012


411 Comments


"because all i can find is some shitty 192kbps rip..."

yeah, and it has a skip in the beginning of Drained Out

Cygnatti
November 26th 2012


22347 Comments


"Like how Toy Story 2 is superior to Toy Story in animation and writing and stuff but most people like
the first better"

yep yep yep, the concept of the kid inevitably growing up/outgrowing his toys was really tragic

still haven't seen 3 yet.

auberginedreams
November 26th 2012


6077 Comments


yeah fuck that rip. there should be a better one soon though because i don't think the album is even
officially released until tomorrow.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's power chords, octave chords and arpeggios
It sounds like melodic hardcore idk not very interesting to describe
I added a sentence to the last paragraph if that helps

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
November 26th 2012


24098 Comments


rob, is this worth checking out if I thought their previous work is largely missable?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy