Aim For The Sunrise
The Bigger Picture; Hope


3.5
great

Review

by Flut USER (17 Reviews)
November 25th, 2012 | 49 replies | 1,406 views


Release Date: 2009 | Tracklist


8 of 8 thought this review was well written

Swedish metalcore band releases a great and promising EP, but it shows off nothing too spectacular. Melodic riffs that take from melodeath like At The Gates and melodic hardcore like Life In Your Way or Misery Signals. At times it can be some what chuggy but they at least try to break away from that and keep it fun or passionate/serious.

The guitars mix things up, with octave chorus, leads, clean guitar, melodic chord riffs, and sometimes dissonant riffs. Keeping things for the most part melodic, along with soaring cleans from time to time. The cleans remind me of TDWP and Life In Your Way mixed, not as high pitched or sometimes produced as TDWP. The vocals have more of a raw natural feel. "Saints Never Surrender" starts of with a melodic guitar part with chords being played under and diving into a harmony then chugging begins. But as a perfect example of how they try to not over do that, is they begin playing octaves in time with the chugging till they hit the chorus.

The songs can start to sound a lot like cause of the cleans that find themselves in chorus's at least in every song. But the title track "The Bigger Picture; Hope" has an emotional piano playing a long with the clean vocalist singing. Near the middle of the track an electric beat starts building up to melodic chords. Making this song one of the more different and more interesting songs to listen to on this EP.

This EP showed passion and ambition, but fell flat at some parts due to its generic sound and samey songs. They have room to improve, and this year they released No Kings, No Chains. Which could be better or worse. Hopefully they took what was good and worked on that.



Recent reviews by this author
HammerFall Glory to the BraveMisery Signals Mirrors
Misery Signals Of Malice and the Magnum HeartMisery Signals Misery Signals
Aim For The Sunrise No Kings, No ChainsAblaze My Sorrow Anger Hate and Fury
user ratings (5)
Chart.
3.1
good
related reviews

No Kings, No Chains

Comments:Add a Comment 
Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Short review, but hopefully its not complete shit haha.

Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

also if you want to listen to my fav track on the EP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TVeWM9OUV28

WashboardSuds
November 24th 2012



4981 Comments


such an AVA album art

Digging: Acid Bath - When the Kite String Pops

Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

AVA?

WashboardSuds
November 24th 2012



4981 Comments


angels and airwaves

Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh! i get ya.

WashboardSuds
November 24th 2012



4981 Comments


btw typo in the first sentence: "Swedish metalcore band releases a great and promising EP, but it shows off nothing to spectacular."

otherwise nice review

Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ah thanks man.

MichaelSnoxall
November 24th 2012



12163 Comments


Not your best review, kinda reads like a sound-off with the casual tone. Fuck it, I'll pos.

Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha yeah i know its short.

but thanks man.

mindleviticus
November 24th 2012



8156 Comments


good review bro m/ i will check this out

Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha thanks mindle.

mindleviticus
November 24th 2012



8156 Comments


short and to the point, me likey

sixdegrees
November 24th 2012



16701 Comments


good review, short but sweet.

This doesn't sound like my style of metalcore tho.

Digging: Kishi Bashi - Lighght

Fluttertrank
November 24th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah its understandable. the melodic style this band plays can get old.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
November 25th 2012



13424 Comments


Review is pretty descriptive despite being so short, but it seems just a little pedestrian, try to expand on stuff like the song writing, technicality and the production. Also, when describing an aspect of the album/EP, instead of just running through what you'll find on the album, you could explain why or why not it works. This will also give you more to work with as you could delve deeper by saying whether or not these things helped/hurt the coherency of the album.

Just my two cents, good review though.

Digging: Krusseldorf - Fractal World

Fluttertrank
November 25th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"you could explain why or why not it works"

thats actually some good info/help thanks.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
November 25th 2012



13424 Comments


No worries, do you reckon I should check this out? I'm a sucker for melody, even if it is metalcore.

Fluttertrank
November 25th 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hmm, well maybe. here listen to this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TVeWM9OUV28

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 25th 2012



4378 Comments


Really good work, Flutter. Have a POS.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy