The Caretaker
Persistent Repetition of Phrases


4.0
excellent

Review

by ClemintineBree USER (12 Reviews)
November 21st, 2012 | 18 replies | 1,888 views


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mysterious and beautiful-dark-ambient-ballroom-jazz.

5 of 5 thought this review was well written

We all have a little bit of ambient-love in us. On a rainy day we may look out of a cracked window to absorb the decadence and serenity of the sounds of falling rain. At the beach we may stand still from time to time to feel the caressing sways of wind gusts or we may enjoy the whistling droning sounds our ears pick up. A baby in the womb of its mother is subjected to a constant loud sound that is equivalent to the volumes of a household vacuum. We all appreciate these sounds, moments, and memories because we are instinctively hard-wired to utilize these sounds to aid in many areas of life; such as sleep, relaxation, meditation, the list goes on. The Caretaker's [i]Persistent Repetition of Phrases[i/] aims to be that white noise is in our life that stands as a compliment to our normal everydays activities. Exclusive member James Kirby makes effective use of ambient sounds of fuzz, repetative themes, replicated audio devices, airy synths, and a droning backdrops of minimalistic jazz.

The culmination of emotional textures is what makes Persisten Repetition of Phrases so effective. The deep melancholic feelings of "Past Life Regression" play as a symbolic soundtrack to feelings of nothingness. The title track feels like a person could be sitting at a school dance and be zoning to all the chaos around him while loosing perspective to realities. "Poor Enunciation" feels like abandoned caves of mystery.

Existing as a complementive component to everyday life Persistient Repetition of Phrases is a great release out of James discog and shows why he is a worthy artist creative ambient music in our present day.



Recent reviews by this author
Echolyn Suffocating the BloomSoul Cycle Soul Cycle II
Monolithe Monolithe IIINecroven Worship of Humiliation
Tidal Force NebulaAllan Holdsworth Secrets
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



15800 Comments


rainfall is decadent ?

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2012



14990 Comments


grreat great great album, more ephemeral or something than Empty Bliss but still absolutely gorgeous

YankeeDudel
November 21st 2012



9305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is that tim robbins?

Digging: Bedhead - WhatFunLifeWas

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



19471 Comments


hey it's riff's avatar

Digging: The Who - Tommy

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2012



14990 Comments


Good review! I think your point about the Caretaker's music acting as a "complement" to various everyday life activities--sort of as a soundtrack--is potentially spot-on, but this is one of those reviews where I'm left wanting more. Through what means, exactly, does Kirby achieve this effect? (You start to do this with the last sentence of you first paragraph, but I'd like to hear it applied to the specific songs you mention in the second.) Why is his approach meaningful and not boring?

There are a few other nitpicks--the formatting on the album title (it should be "[/i]", not "[i/]"), "repetitive" is misspelled, a few sentences could be clearer, and I agree that "decadent" isn't the first word that comes to mind with regard to rainfall, although decadence in the sense of a process of decay does indeed play a heavy role in the Caretaker's aesthetic.

Good work, anyhow

Shuyin
November 21st 2012



11173 Comments


riff

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta II: Dialogue with the Stars

Funeralopolis
November 21st 2012



11029 Comments


riff [2]

Digging: RATKING - So It Goes

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



15800 Comments


i doubt it will be his profile picture any more if he sees this review

MO
November 21st 2012



18260 Comments


ffir

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

Funeralopolis
November 21st 2012



11029 Comments


does dat ass have an ambient album too?

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
November 21st 2012



15800 Comments


ambient ass

mindleviticus
November 21st 2012



8169 Comments


I like AEBBTW more, but this is still really good

CaptainDooRight
November 21st 2012



28353 Comments


gd al, pos on rev


Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2012



14990 Comments


i actually think i like the alternate re-release album cover more

Ire
November 21st 2012



41749 Comments


ifrf

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
December 1st 2012



4507 Comments


might be his best album

"i actually think i like the alternate re-release album cover more"

agreed

CaptainDooRight
October 30th 2013



28353 Comments


can't believe I was the first to review this.

Kman418
January 26th 2014



9850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

false memory syndrome is one of the best songs ever recorded

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy