APOSTATE
Against All Odds


4.0
excellent

Review

by DotEight USER (7 Reviews)
November 16th, 2012 | 49 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A promising EP that delivers both technicality and melody, without becoming boring in an ever-so-stale genre.

Ah, "djent". What a fickle word thou are. Love it or hate it, the term has taken over the metal scene these days. I bet Fredrik Thordendal is kicking himself right now over how popular the term has become.

Apostate is a fairly-unheard of band hailing from the Czech Republic. And to be honest up until a day or two ago I had not a clue who they were. Stumbling across the mention on a Circle of Contempt review, I happened to find their Band Camp. And boy was I surprised.

Don't come into this thinking they are another rip-off metalcore or wanna-be progressive band. Apostate know their limits and have a blast proving that they can exercise them to the fullest extent. While this EP is short, clocking in a 22 minutes, it's a wild ride from start to finish.

And so begins "The Road", a three minute track that builds your suspense into the EP. Tomas's vocals command your attention, while Nik provides some well-needed drum fills throughout the course of the song. What is unique about Apostate is the fact they have a very hardcore feel while maintaining that metallic sound that's so cherished by most bands nowadays.

Into "The People". An epic six minute track that features breakdowns, trance-like sections, and ridiculous tapping sections and tremolos. As well as "The Road", this song builds up to break you down at the end. Definitely the highlight track of the EP.

"The Speech" is just what you think it is. A clip from someone (I couldn't tell you where), layered over clean guitars. The lyrics generally are about freedom, humanity united, and politics. In my eyes, it's basically a statement saying stand tall and **** the government. I quote, "You the people, you the people have the power".

Part of what makes this band so good is also one of their biggest downfalls - their use of tapping throughout the EP. While they make it sound cohesive and fluent in sound, it gets a bit redundant. "The Rupture" makes good use of this, even featuring a nice solo. But only so much can be taken from this EP in terms of creativity.

If you're looking for a fresh metalcore album that has replay value and doesn't feel like it was created just to hold fans over - this is the EP you're looking for. Apostate have found their niche, and hopefully they will hold onto it and produce even more solid albums in the future.



Recent reviews by this author
Versions A Clearer ViewYelawolf Trunk Muzik 0-60
Chali 2na Fish Outta WaterUpon a Burning Body Red. White. Green.
Disfigured Elegance The Last DiseaseRebstar Bad Karma
user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
related reviews

Seaborne

Comments:Add a Comment 
DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Probably wasnt a good idea to review this while drunk, bring on the negs!

http://apostate.bandcamp.com/album/-

But the band fucking rules.

J0ckstrapsFTW
November 15th 2012


3652 Comments


Nice review man, pos. been diggin this band a lot lately

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah I'm glad I found them, they are ridiculous. I could have made a longer review but with an EP this
short it's more just a scenario where you have to listen for yourself.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7095 Comments


what's with the; the, the, the, the?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


50500 Comments


paragraphs are so short

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I know I have a bad habit of doing it, ever since like middle school. It's a terrible habit.

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"what's with the; the, the, the, the? "

That's how they named the EP, all the tracks start with "The".

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Everyone needs to hear the ending of "The People".

bloc
November 15th 2012


34915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This was pretty boring. I thought the previous EP was way better.

J0ckstrapsFTW
November 15th 2012


3652 Comments


I like the previous ep the same. They are just completely different from each other

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

WUT. :O

Well Bloc you've always had similar interests to mine, but I thought this was pretty awesome. Their
debut EP was great too. "The People" is just one of the songs of the year for me.

bloc
November 15th 2012


34915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm a fan of that young British technical metalcore that a lot of bands are doing, like No Consequence, The Arusha Accord, etc. and Seaborne had a really good sound going. I don't know why they decided to take a different turn.

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well Arusha and this band are in completely different sections in my opinion, but I like the approach Apostate took on this EP, they made it original within their limits and knew when to draw the line, but to each his own. I do admit they went crazy with the tapping though.

bloc
November 15th 2012


34915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I definitely agree. The Arusha Accord is a monster on its own, sometimes a bit too much even. Apostate definitely knows when enough is enough.

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Arusha Accord is just nasty, this band has a good blend of melodic and hardcore though.

Emim
November 15th 2012


26646 Comments


getting pretty sick of this shit

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"getting pretty sick of this shit"

Well don't listen to it then brother. No harm, no foul.

wacknizzle
November 15th 2012


13464 Comments


Decent review, pos'd. Fix "And so beings The Road" to begins, only error I noticed. This is okay, it sounds too much like Daybreaker imo. Their ep Seaborne is awesome, I like the sound they had on that much better, make sure to check it out, you'll dig it.

Digging: This Gift Is A Curse - I, Gvilt Bearer

DotEight
November 15th 2012


5586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Decent review, pos'd. Fix "And so beings The Road" to begins, only error I noticed. This is okay, it sounds too much like Daybreaker imo. Their ep Seaborne is awesome, I like the sound they had on that much better, make sure to check it out, you'll dig it. "

Thanks for that typo point-out, fixing now.

HenchmanOfSanta
November 15th 2012


1878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't really a djent album and you don't talk about it after the intro.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy