Ataraxy
Revelations of the Ethereal


3.0
good

Review

by ClemintineBree USER (12 Reviews)
November 16th, 2012 | 45 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Solid 2012 revival death metal band, which means, yup you got it, they are rehashing ideas that have been done a thousand time. Nothing new here guys, just solid osdm.

So here we are again guys in 2012. It's about that time when we evaluate what death metal has put out for the year. Some, I'm sure have had some expectations, some may have had low ones. I personally feel metal is for the most part dead and I still stay up to par with what's available. I know from time to time there will be solid death metal released and Ataraxy's Revelations of the Ethereal is without a doubt solid.

But I'm not gonna waste too much time saying with an intro because we all want to know if this album is good or not and what makes it good and what doesn't. So I'll stop with the fourth person semantics and say that you should definately check this album out. The music here is similar to Horrendous, Convulse, and most Swedish styled bands. They favor the typical old school styles of death. The music is definately cohesive and varying. This album starts with a pointless two minute clean intro and honestly from there most of the music is typical osdm Swedish style.

I found that many of the songs here flow very well, meaning that the transitions are smooth. For instance on the first real track "Necrotic Shadow of Decay", there is technique used of slow passages that are almost doom like and ones that are faster with blast beats. The little transitions used to fused the two together are smooth. Each tempo has its chance to play itself out.

I want to make special mention on the vocals as they are very tasty and fit the music very well. The vocals are aggression and powerful yet they fit the albums emotional contact with flying colors. All the other instruments are executed well which is usually typical of artists under labels but I'm always more concerened about the compositional aspects which this does have but everything is rehashed and nothing really stands out as being new to the revival scene.

If were to try and the say the remaining tracks were anything different I'd be lying as they all sound pretty much the same. They are all still very good as the band is but this album is barely above average but still one of the best death metal releases of 2012 so far, but yeah metal is dead. Rehashing old ideas doesn't bring life. It's worth checking tho. Have fun.



Recent reviews by this author
Echolyn Suffocating the BloomSoul Cycle Soul Cycle II
Monolithe Monolithe IIINecroven Worship of Humiliation
Tidal Force NebulaThe Caretaker Persistent Repetition of Phrases
user ratings (22)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
ChopSuey
November 15th 2012


2392 Comments


whats odsm?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


7127 Comments


Yu Funny Firecracker! lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


always post links with your reviews! ;P

here's a few songs off the album for anyone who wants to listen sounds pretty decent IMO

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkF6h_a_Lmc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KrADm_caokg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUynZ41JTdo



Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

GiaNXGX
November 15th 2012


4867 Comments


Real Rating: 3.5

Yeah, really good album. Ghosts of Saturn is on a roll of great uploads, Veil was really sweet DSBM.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


if the real rating is 3.5 why do you have it as a 5 :P

GiaNXGX
November 15th 2012


4867 Comments


Real Rating: 3.5

metal is for the most part dead


*Real metal.

GiaNXGX
November 15th 2012


4867 Comments


Real Rating: 3.5

if the real rating is 3.5 why do you have it as a 5 :P















































































....Artwork.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


lol i'm asking the meds to wipe my ratings just so i can rate everything again

GiaNXGX
November 15th 2012


4867 Comments


you don't like your pie chart?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


what? did i say that? :P

GiaNXGX
November 15th 2012


4867 Comments


No, I assume, either that or you think your ratings don't reflect your taste properly.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


ha check your shoutbox

ShadowRemains
November 15th 2012


21641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that first paragraph is terrible

ShadowRemains
November 15th 2012


21641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So here we are again guys in 2012. It's about that time when we evaluate what death metal has put out for the year. Some, I'm sure have had some expectations, some may have had low ones. I personally feel metal is for the most part dead and I still stay up to par with what's available. I know from time to time there will be solid death metal released and Ataraxy's Revelations of the Ethereal is without a doubt solid.

But I'm not gonna waste too much time saying with an intro because we all want to know if this album is good or not and what makes it good and what doesn't. So I'll stop with the fourth person semantics and say that you should definately check this album out.


this can all go

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


Relax it's only their second review

ShadowRemains
November 15th 2012


21641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The music is definately cohesive and varying.


*definitely

This album starts with a pointless two minute clean intro and honestly from there most of the music is typical osdm Swedish style.


lol

For instance on the first real track "Necrotic Shadow of Decay", there is technique used of slow passages that are almost doom like and ones that are faster with blast beats.


this reads very awkwardly

The little transitions used to fused the two together are smooth.


what?

also "fuse", not fused

The vocals are aggression and powerful yet they fit the albums emotional contact with flying colors.


what?

All the other instruments are executed well which is usually typical of artists under labels but I'm always more concerened about the compositional aspects which this does have but everything is rehashed and nothing really stands out as being new to the revival scene.


please re-word this

If were to try and the say the remaining tracks were anything different I'd be lying as they all sound pretty much the same. They are all still very good as the band is but this album is barely above average but still one of the best death metal releases of 2012 so far, but yeah metal is dead. Rehashing old ideas doesn't bring life. It's worth checking tho. Have fun.


what the hell?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


it's his SECOND review if you're gonna give him feedback don't be a dick about it

ShadowRemains
November 15th 2012


21641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

then why was his first review better?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2012


20158 Comments


no clue i didn't read his first review. i agree the review isn't very good just don't have to be so harsh :P

ShadowRemains
November 15th 2012


21641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

his first one wasn't much better, now that i've gone through it

and i'm being harsh because this has not done the album justice, whether it was positive or negative (although i don't agree with his rating either)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy