Excruciating Thoughts
Archaic


5.0
classic

Review

by NuMetalFan2022 USER (4 Reviews)
November 15th, 2012 | 19 replies


Release Date: 2008 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A great album from a local band.

Okay, for my first departure from nu metal, I have decided to do a local technical death metal band called Excruciating Thoughts. Their 2008 release, Archaic, is their only full length release.

This is what you would normally expect from a death metal album: Very complex and brutal. However, the album has a few breaks from the heaviness, namely the beginning of In Memory, and Grunt. The guitars are very good, and the solos are very complex and amazing.

The drums are pretty good, yet the snare drum might turn some people off. However, I think it sounds good and adds a unique sound. The bass, while not very audible, is good when you can hear it.

The vocals are very low gutteral vocals, with the backing vocals being high pitched screeches. The lyrics are very violent and disturbing stories, as is what you would probably expect from a band from like Cannibal Corpse, though they are bit more toned down than that.

So overall, this is great album from a local death metal band.


user ratings (3)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
NuMetalFan2022
November 14th 2012


30 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, this may be a short review, but I don't think anyone else was ever going to review this.

NuMetalFan2022
November 14th 2012


30 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, this may be a short review, but I don't think anyone else was ever going to review this.

CaptainDooRight
November 14th 2012


29130 Comments






Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Calc
November 14th 2012


12185 Comments


"Yeah, this may be a short review, but I don't think anyone else was ever going to review this."

not that i was convinced in away way by your little haiku here but if its any good i hope someone actually does review this.


Digging: Jizue - Shiori

ChopSuey
November 14th 2012


2392 Comments


I love how it doesn't even show the rating chart

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

numetalfan gives this a 5

must be bad

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

NuMetalFan2022
November 14th 2012


30 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Insurrection I'm not sure how much you'll like it, but if you like technical death metal, you should check out at least one of their songs.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ok ill check this out and see if its any good

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

god the snare sound is awful. riffs are pretty good so far

NuMetalFan2022
November 14th 2012


30 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah, the snare isn't very well received, but at least you enjoy the riffs.

MunsuLight
November 14th 2012


561 Comments


Played one song from RBN and thought the music was OK.. It still sound like an average band at best to
me..

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012


21053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

alright almost done with the album. these guys definitely have potential but its nowhere near a classic. most of their problems are production wise, especially the godawful snare and sloppy guitars at times. they do have some good riffs tho.

oh and most of the songs sound the same so yea

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2012


18461 Comments


The guitars are very good, and the solos are very complex and amazing.


the pinnacal of post-modern sonic interpretation

Digging: Recondite - Caldera/DRGN 2

FrozenVain
November 15th 2012


2432 Comments


Has some cool parts actually. Nowhere near a 5 though as Insurrection said. Has certain originality to it in my opinion, but yeah the production is weak.

itchy
November 15th 2012


244 Comments


This is an undeniably awful review that says basically nothing, and certainly absolutely nothing useful. The drums are "pretty good", while the guitars are "very good" and the solos are "very complex and amazing". It's a "great album" that is "what you would normally expect from a death metal album". Are these supposed to be the points that support the classic rating?

FrozenVain
November 15th 2012


2432 Comments


He doesn't give a shit. He just really likes the album.

Jotun35
November 16th 2012


57 Comments


The question raised by this review is really important : how's it possible to be a nu metal fan in 2012 ?

NeoSpaz
March 27th 2013


4518 Comments


best album 2012 m/

Mister Twister
June 23rd 2013


1547 Comments


Released in 2008 tho



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy