Green Day
iDOS!


1.5
very poor

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
November 14th, 2012 | 32 replies | 2,759 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ‘Ingenuity’ is a foreign word to Green Day.

14 of 14 thought this review was well written

Green Day’s plans to release a trio of albums within months of each other that saw the group returning to the more energetic simplicity of their youth was a decision that will really bring nothing but faulty results. At this point in their careers, a move such as this is nothing but back-tracing for the band, a devolution that inevitably leads to material inferior to that of the both the albums from back in their prime, and their more mature work of recent years. What was seen on ¡Uno! earlier this year was a very fun, but admittedly haphazard regurgitation of what the band once was before.

It’s obvious that Green Day’s choice was to release very simple music for mindless and careless fun, but that’s just all these songs have proven to be so far, simple music that was obviously churned out in minutes flat. Choosing to release three albums worth of this type of music is a generous offering to fans who may be left desiring more after one album of very quick punk that goes by in a flash, but from any other perspective, hyping three separate albums within short times of each other that are all comprised of brief music that was planned to sound far too much alike seems like a ridiculously unnecessary pursuit.

A single album of Green Day going back to basics for the fun of it would have been sufficient enough, but that is not the case, and here audiences are with the second installment in the band’s pop punk trilogy, ¡Dos!. The album proves to be quite the contrast to ¡Uno!’s polished production and poppy-flavor, as Green Day displays a very raw and garagey style that’s more reminiscent of classic jam rock such as The Rolling Stones than it is The Clash or Ramones. This is without a doubt the grittiest Green Day has ever been, but that isn’t really a quality that helps that album, as the atmosphere is just plain muddy and all around unattractive.

The appeal isn’t heightened very much by Billie Joe Armstrong’s asinine lyrics and vulgar subject matter. Armstrong’s drowsily careless delivery of verses as ridiculously bizarre as “Do you wanna play a game of Twister / Like a dirty old man with a babysitter?” on “Lady Cobra”, and “I wanna manhandle your holy grace / I want to choke you till you’re blue in the face” on the aptly titled “F*ck Time” aren’t the examples of the glory days punk rock attitude that they may have intended to be, and are just juvenile and hilariously absurd.

¡Dos! is made up of songs that are barely distinguishable from one another; all being composed of the same exact riffs recycled from Green Day’s debut over 20 years ago that drone on for what seems like hours, despite the average song’s running time being about 3 minutes. Green Day have actually accomplished making an album that flies by in a flash, and yet somehow drags on in mind-numbing monotony as well. The mindlessly quick pace whizzes past listeners and blurs into every track, making for an album where it’s hard to remember even a single track after both the first and second listen through, let alone tell the tracks apart from each other.

This is the bare bones of Green Day’s signature sound at its bare minimum, and even though there are some notably grungy and well performed guitar solos to be found, as well as some interesting experiments with noise rock-ish guitar feedback, these aspects simply come and go without taking these songs that have no creative angles in any interesting direction, or altering the effect of the songs in general, and in the end are engulfed in ¡Dos!’s dull void of tedium all the same.

Arguably the lowest point on the album where all hope for any redeeming qualities is diminished is the song “Nightlife", where Armstrong drearily mumbles in a seemingly intoxicated daze out of what sounds like some voice filter used on the psychedelic records of the 60's, while female rapper Lady Cobra takes to the chorus and creates a senseless and obscure song with no clear direction or purpose.

When it comes down to it, the fact is that music as simple as this (when it doesn’t offer aggressive fury) is enjoyable because it has a fun spirit, and ¡Dos! just doesn’t feel very fun at all in any way, so much as it does ugly and crude. There's really not a single thing about ¡Dos! that's worth returning to, and that just makes the release of ¡Tré! in the near future all the more daunting.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (630)
Chart.
2.3
average
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

As someone who enjoyed ¡Uno! well enough, I gotta say, this album is amazingly atrocious.

Gyromania
November 14th 2012



15452 Comments


good work on the review. this cd absolutely bored me to tears.

leads to material inferior to that of the both the albums from back in their prime


there are a few things like this in your review but i'm sure you'll catch 'em when you go over it. pos

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2012



20749 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

bad album, pos'd

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Thank you guys. Thanks for pointing that out btw Gyro, I tend to miss a few things here and there this late at night haha.

TrantaLocked
November 14th 2012



1511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"The mindlessly quick pace whizzes past listeners and blurs into every track, making for an album where it’s hard to remember even a single track after both the first and second listen through, let alone tell the tracks apart from each other."

Maybe you haven't listened to the album enough. This one seemed like it needed more time to digest compared to Uno, and that is why it is fun to keep going back to it.

I also completely disagree with your concluding paragraph. American Idiot is the grittiest and darkest album Green Day has ever made (not Dos), and you rated that one 5/5. Apparently this really isn't about the darker tone, but something else. There are many great songs on this album, and coming straight from Uno and allowing Dos to grow on me, it stands as a solid album.

But crap, I am defending an album I have at 3.5. That is the saddest part.

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@TrantaLocked An album that's truely worth anyone's time shouldn't take 3 entire listen throughs before it actually starts
to leave somewhat of an imprint. Also, when I say "gritty" I don't mean dark in tone. I was trying to describe how earthy
and rugged the production sounds.

Btw, come on dude, 3.5? Really? I gave Uno! that rating, it was a fun exercise in returning to their roots, but it's getting
fucking old man. It's getting really old, this music sucks, it's the most unoriginal and worn out state I've ever heard their
signature sound in. American Idiot is one of my favorite albums of the 2000's because I think it truely defined a teens
world in the year 2004, but that was long ago and they're literally doing nothing with their music, they're going nowhere
with this.

WhiteNoise
November 14th 2012



3084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I seriously don't see the problem with this album? Green Day have never claimed to be anything more than a fun rock band and I really don't see how they deserve all this hate...

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Well, sorry, I explained my reason for disliking it the best I could. Thanks for the neg
bro, much appreciated.

WhiteNoise
November 14th 2012



3084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I didn't necessarily mean you man, I was talking about everyone else who's been leaving ridiculous comments.

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@WhiteNoise Ah, alright then. Sorry, misunderstood.

SCREAMorphine
November 14th 2012



1751 Comments


Great review, pos.

They had to know a triple album was a bad idea.

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

@Pestiferous If I were you I'd listen to this album before the Deftones album, so that way you'll have Deftones to wash away this album's terribleness.

@souleater Yeah man, I can't imagine Tres being any better, but it's supposed to be more alt rock-ish, so we'll see. I don't think it would be really worth looking into anyway, I really only see it going downhill from here. Still, I'll probably check it out regardless just so I can say I endured all three of these albums lol.

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

It was originally set to drop in January, but Billy's a junkie dumbass and is in rehab so they had to cancel the rest of their tour dates, felt bad, and decided to release it in December instead. Lucky us lol.

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, what a great christmas present from Green Day lol. But hey, look on the bright side, if the apocalypse does end up happening at the end of December, at least you know it's not gonna prevent you from listening to the last of this trio of albums lol.

demigod!
November 14th 2012



44065 Comments


watch they shock us all and Tres ends up being AOTY

yeah wont happen

Digging: Failure - Magnified

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

If Tre is somehow worse than this album, then that's probably what's gonna trigger the apocalypse in the first place. I mean think about it, it drops, ends up being the worst album of all time, mass hysteria, end of society as we know it. Seems plausable lol.

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

If Tre sucks as much as I predict it's going to, I think I'll refer to all three of these albums as the "Triforce of Shit" or something.

demigod!
November 14th 2012



44065 Comments


I still haven't listened to any of them. Are they really that shit?

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Hey, if you got fragile sides man, then that's what I gotta do. Break the fragile and all that. It's my destiny and shit.

breakingthefragile
November 14th 2012



2954 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

9/11 jokes this early in the morning? Prepare for the incoming waves of butthurt.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy