Clint Mansell, Kronos Quartet & Mogwai
The Fountain


4.5
superb

Review

by Jennifer Ravensdale USER (3 Reviews)
November 5th, 2012 | 65 replies | 1,853 views


Release Date: 2006 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Grim and gloom above, vast as a canyon within…

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

A bleak walk through a cemetery, the motivation to accomplish a daunting task to honor someone’s life; picturesque mental snapshots and emotions come to mind when listening to this fantastic composition by Clint Mansell. Every pluck of a string and every well placed arrangement perfectly encapsulate what feelings were present in the scene. Whether these moods were of melancholy origin or raging actuation, they were well represented by the tune that accompanied them.

The majority of The Fountain, is rather mellow and dark and rarely does the tempo climb to fast rates. This is not a problem however, as this was not the overall purpose of this soundtrack. The intention was to craft audible emotion, and it does just that. Littered throughout this movie score are grandiose amounts of violins, cellos and other strings. They provide the framework for most of the songs, such as “The Last Man”, “First Snow”, and “Xibalba”. In almost no situation do they mar the overall feel of the song. In the rare case where the strings would be played slightly too high compared to the rest of the song, it is only brief and is never distracting enough to break continuity. They deftly leap from soft and relaxing lows into eerie build ups that are more often felt than just heard alone.

Accompanying the strings are the occasional choir vocals, melodic piano segments, sparse drums and fleeting atmospherics that more or less support the rest of the composition rather than make a stand on their own. Slow paced guitar strumming is present as well, frequenting tracks such as “Stay With Me” and “Tree of Life”, and mostly are there as background filling to compliment the strings. The piano is secondary in importance to the score, and while its presence is fleeting and not too prominent, it lays a backdrop to multiple songs and is responsible most of the time for any creeping feelings that can be heard throughout the album. The only real track in which the piano is the main focus would be the final ballad “Together We Will Live Forever”, which is arguably one of the best tracks on the album.

As for the structural aspect of the album, it is insanely well composed and ties in incredibly well to the material it was composed for. Every instrument blends well and showcases the atmosphere that it was meant to convey. While all of the pacing is rather slow, it is still varied in its appearance and its depth, with some sections purposely haunting and deep, while others are laced with extra input to draw the attention elsewhere. Build ups are present here and there throughout the album, but they are mostly there to lean help to a familiar hand called suspense. They however do a fantastic job of fooling the listener and thus succeed in that regard.

This is a fantastic and underrated score for a great and underrated film. While the film and the soundtrack never graced the limelight of popularity, it is a grand album with an almost deathly atmosphere that can leave one lingering in their thoughts about the purpose of life and whether certain lives should have or should not have ended at the time they did.


user ratings (118)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Joshua Hunt (4.5)
...

Bradley (4.5)
And so the black clouds came down, consuming us all…...

Nick Greer EMERITUS (4.5)
Beautiful soundtrack to a beautiful movie. A mix of post-rock, minimalism, and modern classical....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Jennifer22
November 5th 2012



255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My second review, this is a very memorable film score!

ViralOblivion
November 5th 2012



7679 Comments


Good review pos'd and I still need to hear this all the way through as well with the black swan and wrestler soundtrack

Jennifer22
November 5th 2012



255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks! From what I've heard of the Black Swan and the Wrestler soundtracks, Black Swan outclasses that of the Wrestler, but that's just my opinion honestly, they both are pretty top notch.

ViralOblivion
November 5th 2012



7679 Comments


Yea the black swan soundtrack from the few times I've seen the movie very dark and intense

Gyromania
November 5th 2012



15480 Comments


correct rating!

last man, death is the road to awe, and together we will live forever are my favourites. this movie is breathtaking as well. highly recommended.

Gyromania
November 5th 2012



15480 Comments


good review btw

ViralOblivion
November 5th 2012



7679 Comments


Together we will live forever is amazing love that song it's on my sleep playlist

Jennifer22
November 5th 2012



255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks!, also I can't believe I hadn't heard of this soundtrack / movie before I was recommended it
yesterday, it's absolutely fantastic. This review was honestly pretty easy to write for me and I'm not
sure why since the material I was writing about has so much depth to it.

OmairSh
November 5th 2012



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You are efficient! You watched the movie and had enough time to listen to the OST for a review. You could be a threat hmmmm :P. POS'd.

The albums effects were wearing off since I was listening to it in the wrong setting, have to save it for the right moments unfortunately. Clint Mansell was actually in a rock band before and it kind of shows, I love how he brings conventional rock instruments into his grandiose orchestral compositions, they complement each other well, examples being "Stay With Me" and "Tree of Life".

Digging: Paco de Lucia - El Duende Flamenco

Jennifer22
November 5th 2012



255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He was in a rock band? I had no idea, I'm not familiar with Clint's history but now that I know that I hear where some of the influences on this score came from. I wonder what his next composition will be.

ViralOblivion
November 5th 2012



7679 Comments


Probably the new biblical epic from Aronofsky

OmairSh
November 5th 2012



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Okay so the actual page link hadn't been working for some time but I found the other review here: http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/10435/Kronos-Quartet-and-Mogwai-The-Fountain-OST/

I don't know if you should shift your review or not, since the OST is actually by Clint Mansell, Kronos Quartet & Mogwai.

OmairSh
November 5th 2012



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Slow paced guitar strumming is present as well, frequenting tracks such as “Stay With Me” and “Work”

I think you meant some other track when you wrote "Work"

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2012



19641 Comments


uhuhuh uhuhuh hey beavis, it's a chick

ViralOblivion
November 5th 2012



7679 Comments


Oh atari lol

OmairSh
November 5th 2012



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pretty rare sight round these here parts partner

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2012



19641 Comments


@viral, yes i know i have too much time on my hands.

seriously though, good review jennifer pos'd.

OmairSh
November 5th 2012



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just one more comment Atari for the big 5k

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2012



19641 Comments


SHIT

OmairSh
November 5th 2012



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great way to reach the milestone, short and to the point, bravo I say



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy