Incubus
S.C.I.E.N.C.E.


4.5
superb

Review

by Jacob R. STAFF
October 30th, 2012 | 401 replies


Release Date: 1997 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I'm sick of painting in black and white

How much variation can a single band employ throughout their discography? Incubus are one of the best groups to answer that question - their most recent material has little in common with the raw, caffeinated days of their youth. S.C.I.E.N.C.E. is the cornerstone of a group that has no idea what the hell they want to do - the kick-start to a career that's traversed more musical genres than anybody could have ever anticipated.

Sure, we all had a feeling that Incubus was capable of bending genres like magician to spoon; S.C.I.E.N.C.E. itself hints towards this, although the experimentation fleshes out most extensively between the biggest movements on the album. "Summer Romance" (the only track that, puzzlingly enough, wouldn't be out of place buried within a Starbucks playlist,) meekly positions itself between the headstrong "Favorite Things" and the weird-ass "Nebula," as if it didn't necessarily want to be discovered from the get-go. It makes sense that Incubus were going to head in this direction, though, because S.C.I.E.N.C.E., despite its incredibly bizarre funk-metal stylings, was actually a step towards the mainstream. It's strange to think about this, because the album's so freaking quirky. However, Fungus Amongus was even weirder and we all knew it. ("You Will Be A Hot Dancer?" Really?) The silliness came across as a little feigned in those times, but S.C.I.E.N.C.E. is a more mature display of its predecessor's endless genre-meshing.

The album stands out like a sore thumb within Incubus' most widely acclaimed albums, though, and it's because even though S.C.I.E.N.C.E. was a logical progression in context of the band's musical ventures, it's a strange creature on its own. It's that chill kid in your Biology class, kinda smelly but vibey at the same time - the kid you end up becoming best friends with, despite his lack of hygienic discipline. See, he knows that sometimes it's more rewarding to embrace the filth, to be rough around the edges for the sake of something more important. S.C.I.E.N.C.E. only cares about elements and drugs, about love and chemicals and dust, not about how cautiously these themes should be presented, and this is why Incubus' debut album also happens to be their most unforgettable.



Recent reviews by this author
The Contortionist LanguageMaybeshewill Fair Youth
Fallujah The Flesh PrevailsEvery Time I Die From Parts Unknown
Baths Ocean DeathClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
user ratings (1550)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2012


10310 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

DEEP INSIIIIIIIIDE

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


21509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

top 5 albums ever

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

breakingthefragile
October 30th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You're a contributor, how fucking DARE you review an album as old as this one, and one that already has plenty of reviews at that.

Lol just yankin' ya chain dude, but seriously though, this album is as overrated as Nutella.

CaptainDooRight
October 30th 2012


30063 Comments


freeeeeeeedoooooooooom

Digging: Fleurety - Min Tid Skal Komme

KILL
October 30th 2012


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great stuff

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


21509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

whoa shocked you like this kill, sweet

wakeupdead
October 30th 2012


2208 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"If I had a dime for everytime you walked away, I could afford to not give a shit and buy a drink to drown the day"

I Goddamn love this album haha

tommygun
October 30th 2012


24992 Comments


fuck I bought this like a year ago and still haven't listened to it gotta get on board

YoYoMancuso
October 30th 2012


11173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great album, never been fond of the last song though


review's solid. pos

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


21509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

calgone is one of my favs actually, but i cut my version down to 5:30 or whatever when the real song ends cause the rest is mostly rubbish

sixdegrees
October 30th 2012


17234 Comments


ah, back when Incubus was an awesome band.

Digging: Swinging Popsicle - Fennec!

Jruined
October 30th 2012


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really think everything after this is pretty lackluster outside of a few songs, but I do enjoy what they did here.

Digging: Scott Walker and Sunn O))) - Soused

truekebabpower
October 30th 2012


639 Comments


No, they've got much better albums sputnik u high

sixdegrees
October 30th 2012


17234 Comments


plz explain


Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2012


21509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

SCIENCE > morning view > make yourself > a crow > fungus > light grenades > if not now when

and if not now when is a 3.5

truekebabpower
October 30th 2012


639 Comments


Morning>crow>make yourself>science>light grenades>fungus=if not now when

Fungus and the last one are meh, the b-sides album is amazing though, but yeah great and diverse band

toxin.
October 30th 2012


12684 Comments


"this album is as overrated as Nutella"

what

sixdegrees
October 30th 2012


17234 Comments


who even says shit like that?

truekebabpower
October 30th 2012


639 Comments


And yeah wtf nutella's one of the few perfect things in this world

breakingthefragile
October 30th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I say shit like that. Nutella's okay by itself, but it's way to sweet, and it sucks so bread so why even bother with jarred melted chocolate. And yeah, I'm a ridiculously huge Incubus fan, but this album's not my jazz. srry ppl.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy