Jason Aldean
Night Train


2.0
poor

Review

by Alex Beebe USER (126 Reviews)
October 22nd, 2012 | 28 replies | 2,898 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Musically speaking, Night Train is gnarled, dumb and ugly. As for Aldean himself, boring to the point of tears.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Country music isn’t exactly known for differentiation or progression. Of course artists in the genre want nothing more than to stick to their roots and play what they know, because neither them or their target audience wants to be challenged or see change in a major aspect of their culture that has for the most part gone unaltered. They just want to have a good time with music that proudly represents the things the south and its people are all about.

Though, mainstream music’s current focus and interest on country music originated from artists such as Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood introducing heavily pop oriented elements into the country sound, making the country music that garners the most attention arguably cleaner, softer, and more polished than ever before.

It appears as though with his newly gained famed, Jason Aldean seeks to reinstill mainstream country with the grit, grime, and dirt that the genre has lost to a new generation of country artists that favor polished and clean production. His latest offering, Night Train is an album that makes an attempt to strike a balance between the raw sound of the most stripped down classic country, and the accessible backroads anthems of present-day country, and just fails miserably in all areas.

This is simple music all around, with very little thought behind it, and the sleek processed-for-radio vibes these songs give off end up watering down and castrating any sense of raw and organic atmosphere that Aldean was trying to achieve, and the somewhat raw elements he does bring to the table just sully these party-purposed tracks and makes them quite muddy and unattractive. Each side only negatively affects the other.

Aside from Night Train’s predictable redundancy, and topical matter obviously uninspired and lacking in substance, the single most unappealing trait of the album is Aldean himself. To say that he lacks emotional value in his vocal performance would be an understatement, Aldean is nearly robotic in his delivery, often times letting the twang in his accent serve as the front for his personality instead of displaying emotions at all. Aldean is exhaustingly boring, monotone, and devoid of any excitement whatsoever as he pretty much just talks his way through every song on Night Train. This collection of wannabe country arena anthems covers every cliche theme in the book of traditional country subject matter, Aldean sounding unenthusiastic and dull with each one of them.

This is boneheaded music that will only please the country die-hards and the fans who don’t bother to set their standards or expectations all that high, only looking for and desiring nothing more than another repetition of the common country formula they expect to receive, even if it’s in a state as poor as it is on Night Train.



Recent reviews by this author
Les Claypool's Duo de Twang Four Foot ShackPeriphery Clear
Nickelback The Best of Nickelback Volume 1Eminem The Marshall Mathers LP 2
Active Child RaporJustin Timberlake The 20/20 Experience 2 of 2
user ratings (19)
Chart.
1.8
poor

Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
October 22nd 2012



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This was such a sluggish album. Ugh.

Digging: The Blood of Heroes - The Blood Of Heroes

breakingthefragile
October 22nd 2012



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Pretty much every single girl in my high school loved this guy and other country, and I live in MA, no were near the South, so I don't get what the hell was up with that. P.E. class in my junoir and senior years were hell for me because they'd blast this stuff on the radio the entire block.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012



3440 Comments


YAY AN ALEX REVIEW

Nice work, have a pos. I don't have much tolerance for country pop (other than the master T-Swizzle) so I'll be avoiding this.

breakingthefragile
October 22nd 2012



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks dude! Happy to know someone looks forward to my reviews. And yeah, don't bother with this, it's not worth the time. Besides, give it a few weeks and I'm sure this album will have a ton of terrible singles that will be played to death and become inescapable. Also, I'm a bit partial to Taylor myself, pumped for Red, pretty sure andcas is just as hyped about it too.

StagnantWords
October 22nd 2012



318 Comments


Where in mass you from dude, I'm in Fitchburg, and there's a mix of reggaeton bull shit, this, and hipsters who like Portugal. The man it's so strange

KjSwantko
October 22nd 2012



9277 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Staring at the Sun" and "Wheels Rollin'" are really great tracks....the rest mostly suck

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012



3440 Comments


Honestly I can't say I'm too excited for the new Taylor Swift, judging by the singles it sounds kinda like she's becoming more and more of a white-bread pop star rather than the country-ish pop she did before

awal16
October 22nd 2012



217 Comments


I saw Aldean live this summer at a country fest with my wife. True story. I wish I could get my money back for that show.

sixdegrees
October 22nd 2012



16917 Comments


ugh, all of the hicks at my school are into this guy.

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

KjSwantko
October 22nd 2012



9277 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

1994 is the worst fucking song I've ever heard

StagnantWords
October 22nd 2012



318 Comments


I'd 1 this, but I'd be tempted to 1 every other country "album". My gf listens to this shit all day, surprised I haven't killed myself yet

Cygnatti
October 22nd 2012



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

maybe I was wrong about you breaking

maybe

probs not though

newjunkaesthetic93
October 22nd 2012



1871 Comments


My mom likes this guy.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012



10056 Comments


Why does Alex Beebe spend time listening to this poop when the new Submotion Orchestra is out? The jury's still out, folks!

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

YoYoMancuso
October 22nd 2012



11006 Comments


nice review Alex. pos'd. as for the album, it's so......mundane.

breakingthefragile
October 22nd 2012



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cool, Sputnik is finally back up. Thanks for the feedback everyone, and you know how I roll Omaha, hitting up all them shitty releases if my first priority. Also, StagnantWords, I'm from the Springfield area of MA, can't say I've heard of Fitchburg though.

LifeAsAChipmunk
October 22nd 2012



4854 Comments


breaking, if you didn't figure it out

cygnatti is me, my alt account for when I was banned for a while, I don't really use this account that much anymore

breakingthefragile
October 22nd 2012



2955 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha, oh you know, I've had my suspicions Chipmunk. ;D

Cygnatti
October 22nd 2012



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good job breaking! have a pos, heard a little bit of this guy's songs

craptastic!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 22nd 2012



3440 Comments


Woo, MA love!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy