Savoir Adore
Our Nature


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jacob R. STAFF
October 17th, 2012 | 50 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A patchwork of promise.

Savoir Adore kicked off their musical career with one rule, straight-forward enough. Their debut EP had to be done within 48 hours, and with no acoustic guitars. A challenge to foster creativity? Perhaps. If creativity wasn't a part of the group's humble beginning, though, it's certainly a part of the formula in 2012. What we have in Our Nature is an album with delectable indie songs, traditional in structure but unique in terms of styling. “Dreamers,” for instance, reveres the dance hooks of the ‘80s by channeling them into a distinctly modern energy. And overall, Our Nature gives the impression of having been around the block and back. The album treads a surprising amount of indie-pop ground, each new interpretation of the genre much more of a success than anyone expected it to be.

Savoir Adore know exactly what they’re doing on Our Nature. Every moment’s perfectly calculated, down to the finest details. “Empire of Light,” a late-game bombshell, is the most immediately gripping track here mostly because of its intricate arrangement, sanguine bassline moving on alongside cloudy synth landscapes. Paul Hammer and Deidre Muro deserve recognition for their stellar vocalplay on this track, as well as across the whole album, because their natural ability to write memorable vocal hooks is one of the most alluring qualities of Our Nature. There are many other highlights, though: the clear-cut production, the lush soundscapes carved sensitively, and the varietal instrumentation in play throughout the whole album. Our Nature begins similarly to a more immediate and confident Stars album, and quickly enough the album fades away with “Sea of Gold,” sentimental but in a more reserved manner. Regardless of the subtle mood change, though, Our Nature is startlingly cohesive throughout its runtime, one reticent tune dying to evolve into the jubilant anthem bound to come after. Variety and quality haven’t ever quite been this hand-in-hand, especially in the indie-pop realm where musicians these days are busy experimenting with texture palettes, one after the other. It all comes together freely here, the individual pieces hugging each other to create a patchwork of promise more sprawling than they ever imagined to be possible.

Despite the best of the average artist’s intentions, he often struggles to create harmony within his material. Forced themes can overshadow the true lasting capability of an otherwise excellent aesthetic object, just like art that tries too hard can be too hard to swallow. However, occasionally both sides of the scale balance perfectly, in impeccable harmony, and it’s during these moments that we remember it comes easier to some artists than to others. Savoir Adore are best suited for exploring the recesses of indie-pop, noting what’s worked most successfully in the genre’s past and utilizing it to shade their brand of music as they please. Here’s to the group blowing away expectations, as well as to a long and prosperous future - Savoir Adore will continue to raise the bar higher and higher with each forthcoming release, and we’ll be there to witness it all.



Recent reviews by this author
The Contortionist LanguageMaybeshewill Fair Youth
Fallujah The Flesh PrevailsEvery Time I Die From Parts Unknown
Baths Ocean DeathClosure in Moscow Pink Lemonade
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
nakedmolerat (4)
(hips)terrific....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


10288 Comments


Originally posted at http://www.muzikdizcovery.com

The album's streaming here, so check it out: http://www.myoldkentuckyblog.com/?p=35628

Great, great album.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16057 Comments


heard Dreamers, not my thing at all, but nice review, pos

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


10288 Comments


Thanks man!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


10288 Comments


It's so pretty. "Empire of Light" surprised me the first time I heard it, mostly because I can see it getting so popular.

scissorlocked
October 17th 2012


3511 Comments


good work as ever omaha

will give this a listen soon

Digging: Traumprinz - All The Things

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16057 Comments


just listened to that track Empire of Light it sounds miles better than Dreamers to me, swayed me to
listen more

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16057 Comments


damn, apart from Dreamers and Regalia which make me sick this is really quite good, love Anywhere You Go

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


3471 Comments


Nice review man, have a pos. This sounds awesome but I have some Anberlin to get through first ;)

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 18th 2012


9049 Comments


Damn Casey still shitting on Vital for some unknown reason. You crazy.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2012


10288 Comments


Thanks guys! Casey likes this album a lot, so either way he's right. ;]

Mike08
October 31st 2012


609 Comments


Omaha needs to be Staff....

Gyromania
October 31st 2012


15941 Comments


summary is kind of lame.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

Gyromania
October 31st 2012


15941 Comments


This >>>> Anberlin's new one.
And that's coming from someone who thinks Cities is a top 10 album.


idk, i prefer new surrender to cities, but anberlin's newest is pretty great.

Cygnatti
October 31st 2012


21353 Comments


this is sounding awesome right now

only every time is better than this though

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2012


2007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is beautiful.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Maps of Non-Existent Places

Nomos
October 31st 2012


843 Comments


Title track is gorgeous. Never heard these guys before. Getting the album now

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2012


2007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Review's pretty solid, have a pos, bud.

One big thing (to me):

Savoir Adore kicked off their musical career with one rule, straight-forward enough - in recording their debut EP, they decided to place a 48-hour deadline on its completion, and furthermore, resolved that there’d be no acoustic guitar in the mix.

This sentence is muddy and big. I'd fall on myself trying to explain it, so I'm going to show you a re-write:

Savoir Adore kicked off their musical career with one straight-forward rule in mind for their debut EP: a maximum of 48 hours to record, mix, and master without involving any acoustic guitars.

Essentially, the furthermore muddles things, the dash needs to be a colon, and things were just a little out of order at the beginning. Admittedly, it's a tough sentence from any approach, but there ya go.

More minute grammar junk:

And overall, Our Nature gives the impression of having been around the block and back - the album treads a surprising amount of indie-pop ground, each new interpretation of the genre much more of a success than anyone expected it to be.

I'd separate into two sentences at the dash, as it's not really strong enough to hold both of those thoughts together. You can then either change the comma before each into a dash or add a "while" following it.

There are many other highlights, though -
This dash should be a colon, since it's followed by a list of items.

Here’s to the group blowing away expectations, as well as to a long and prosperous future - Savoir Adore...
Again, just use a period instead of a dash.

vocalplay
This should be two words.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2012


10288 Comments


Thanks, Atomic. I have a tendency to write sentences that like to be long... I appreciate the feedback, and I'll have to watch that and my punctuation in the future.

Mike08 - thanks a ton, man. We'll see what happens in the future. =]

Gyromania - thanks for the sweet comment!

Cygnatti
October 31st 2012


21353 Comments


only every time > this

:p

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2012


10288 Comments


Huh?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy