The Future Kings of England
Who Is This Who Is Coming?


4.0
excellent

Review

by menawati CONTRIBUTOR (92 Reviews)
October 16th, 2012 | 21 replies


Release Date: 2011 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Retro prog/space rock done with style. If you like early Pink Floyd you will probably like this too.

The Future Kings of England have quietly been putting out records since 2003 and this is their fourth full release. Based upon a classic short ghost story by M.R. James called Oh Whistle And I'll Come To You Lad, the music aims to capture the spirit of the tale of a hapless archaeologist who finds a bronze whistle which unbeknownst to him is capable of summoning a nameless horror.

One thing I will say about this album is that if you have a tendency to be unsettled by the supernatural under no circumstances read the short story, easily found on the net in the public domain, and then listen to this alone at 2 o'clock in the morning. The music and sound effects take on a decidedly chilling note at certain junctures. The story gets underway with a pastoral introduction entitled "Journey to the Coast" as our protagonist travels to The Globe Inn which he has been told is not far from a suitable dig site. The Pink Floyd influences are evident in abundance here with an eerie floating melody overlaid with Gilmour-esque lead guitar. After finding the cursed bronze whistle we are led through, on the ethereal and haunting title track, how the professor witnesses a strange landscape in a waking dream in which he is compelled to witness a man being pursued by a white shape. "Convinced Disbeliever" finds the band turning things up a notch with some 70's style prog riffing and serves to bring the listener back to reality. By the time "A Face of Crumpled Linen" announces its arrival with its eerie sound effects you will probably be turning all the house lights on and resolving to stay up all night as the hypnotic unsettling music paints the picture of our hero's final meeting with the dread figure that springs up from his bed and blindly gropes around for him as he stands terrified by the bedroom window.

This is not an instantly appealing album. The melodies are quite subtle on the mostly instrumental pieces and there is nothing that leaps out at you on a first listen. However, if you give it a few spins all the way through you could well find it seeping into your subconscious and becoming a compellingly addictive experience.



Recent reviews by this author
Peter Hammill A Black BoxMotorpsycho Trust Us
iamthemorning BelightedMonty Python Monty Python Sings
Hominido Estirpe LiticaDisconnect Planned Obsolescence
user ratings (4)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Globe Inn - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDodwT13qQQ
Face of Crumpled Linen - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qnnWHOm5SSo&feature=related
Scarecrow - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGk9fAK0AFo

CaptainDooRight
October 15th 2012


30334 Comments


Was just about leave work, caught this just in time, a quick read but legit

pos'd bro

will prolly check later

"The music and sound effects take on a decidedly chilling note at certain junctures"

swee

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


50959 Comments


Hopefully England won't have a king ever again

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hey i salute a picture of the queen before i retire every night

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


50959 Comments


Bro when are you going to break out the guillotine for those guys?


menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shoulda happened years ago, i mean they are germans ffs

OmairSh
October 15th 2012


11924 Comments


Nice, seems interesting, will have to check it out since I'm in the mood for some eerie music as of late :-). Short and to the point, pos.

OmairSh
October 15th 2012


11924 Comments


I love how the bands you're reviewing were never on sputnik before :D

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ye bcos no-one likes them lol

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah theres probably loads of stuff not on here, i only add prog and that aint a big genre compared to some

OmairSh
October 15th 2012


11924 Comments


Enough with the modesty menawati.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

eh ? no, people add stuff all the time im just saying there still must be lots of holes where albums are missing cos so much music out there

OmairSh
October 15th 2012


11924 Comments


Too much for this lifetime.

ADM20
October 15th 2012


48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The moment I read the word "prog" I knew this would be right up my alley.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gd gd but just some warning its definitely at the spacier end of prog

OmairSh
October 15th 2012


11924 Comments


In case the review didn't make that clear

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i dunno, just to be safe, the guy might be expecting mars volta or something

Ire
October 15th 2012


41828 Comments


the future kings of wagland

IronGiant
April 9th 2014


935 Comments


which album should I start with? their second album sounds absolutely killer as does the viewing point. menawati guide me!!!

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
April 9th 2014


16131 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dont matter all 4 are similar mate and none of them really stand out that much as the best



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy