Through the Eyes of the Dead
Bloodlust


4.0
excellent

Review

by Shadows USER (89 Reviews)
February 13th, 2006 | 146 replies


Release Date: 2005 | Tracklist


Through the butchering of innocent souls, the malevolent ones flourish. Through the fortitude of audacity, decorum shall triumph. Through the eyes of the dead, a bloodlust will spawn.

Imagery often plays a key role in the affect that music can have on a listener. A theme or illustration can take a sound recording and transform it into something so much more. In the case of Bloodlust, a sordid compilation laced with warlike violence and merciless musical slaying, the imagery is as rich as the blood flowing through our veins. As flashes of damaged lives soar crying across the mind’s eye, one can never forget the profound impact that Through the Eyes of the Dead's debut depicts.

I have never been particularly warmhearted towards the metalcore. The mere mention of the name sends chilling images of repetitive breakdowns, recycled riffs, and horribly yelled vocals through my head. However, the mere mention of this band being associated with Arsis (through ex-guitarist Jake Ososkie) sent me running to the nearest music store. And while Ososkie was not personally affiliated with the writing process, this band is the first of the genre worthy of being mentioned in the same sentence as the almighty Arsis. Through technical prowess, brutality, melody, tortured vocal performances, and a machinegun like assault, Through the Eyes of the Dead blow away every metalcore band in existence in every way possible.

From the flow of the Intro into Two Inches From a Main Artery, it’s painfully obvious that this band favors the gore of traditional death metal over the negative traits that the metal world commonly ignores core-related genres for. The drums cut through like bullets while the guitars pummel into submission. The vocals, while featuring some expected shouting, feature piercing shrieks and inhuman growls. This is not just another metalcore band. Through the Eyes of the Dead is a terrifying fusion of death metal with everything that metalcore should be.

The extreme brutality was the deciding factor for the album. The music displays how aptly the release was titled through the crushing displays of Two Inches From a Main Artery and With Eyes Ever Turned Inward. As stated, every musician plays a part in this sound, which presents like a complete war zone. The rhythm section is total chaos with its pounding pulses and flowing rhythms. The instrumental The Black Death and Its Aftermath sets the darkest of tones as the deepest shades of blood red coat the intensity of said massacre. There is no turning back once track one begins. All you can do is grab a security blanket and hope that 38 minutes is enough time to repent your sins.

Dark tendencies of viciousness and frenzied playing are offset by unforgettable melodies that add emotion to a bleak setting of death. Through When Everything Becomes Nothing and Truest Shade of Crimson, life becomes stable as the end looms near. Though the horrifically perfect vocals, crying through the bloodshed and barking to defend, the music becomes beautiful and the texture once again rich with imagery - this time imagery of everything good. Nothing is certain during Bloodlust.

Through a spectrum of emotions and a fury of instrumental madness, the bar of the metalcore genre has been raised to a significant new high. Shifting from mesmerizing splendor to pure black desolation in a Decaying Process, strikingly serene to overwhelmingly complex - this is truly a Bloodlust capable of catching all extreme music fans. Nothing has been achieved similar to this. All that can be expected is for vision to see light once again as the slaughter fades away in the distance and music fans worldwide to embrace the new awakening and witness the advent of Bloodlust Through the Eyes of the Dead.



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Blackwater ParkMirrorthrone Carriers of Dust
Cradle of Filth ThornographyTrivium The Crusade
Opeth DamnationBlind Guardian A Twist in the Myth
user ratings (364)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
M A D R I G A L
February 14th 2006


103 Comments


Marvelous review! You've done it yet again. I'll check these guys out.

Confessed2005
February 14th 2006


3314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another fantastic review 'ShadowsFallen'! I have heard a track from these guys on a 'Prosthetic Records' sampler, and it was a fine one. I might try and buy this album.

Thor
February 14th 2006


10202 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review! I never thought I'd see the day where you would be giving a metalcore album a 4/5.

Digging: Black Crown Initiate - The Wreckage of Stars

M A D R I G A L
February 14th 2006


103 Comments


Well, heard a few songs from their MySpace profile, and I must say, they're very good. At times I wouldn't even consider them metalcore (which is a good thing, though I'm still somewhat fond of the genre).

Shadows
Moderator
February 14th 2006


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep, that was what caught my attention. I asked a friend about them, and he said, "meh, they're metalcore". But after many full listens, this is way beyond what you would expect from a band called "metalcore". At times it's basically death metal.

I hope this review is okay. When I wrote it I felt like I was going off on some kind of metaphorical tangent instead of being as literal as I usually am. I think it's less dry anyway.This Message Edited On 02.14.06

Two-Headed Boy
February 14th 2006


4527 Comments


lmao I can't believe what a dweeb I was.This Message Edited On 08.06.07

Two-Headed Boy
February 14th 2006


4527 Comments


...but that's just me.

Shadows
Moderator
February 15th 2006


2530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Terrible as in...? Terribly disgusting or terribly written?

Two-Headed Boy
February 16th 2006


4527 Comments


edit #2 :thumb:

Great review.This Message Edited On 08.06.07

Cravinov13
February 17th 2006


3854 Comments


Look out AV8RS! The evil is coming to get you!

That just means that the band is'nt for you. Stick to your alt rock and grunge.

GuitaristPaul
February 18th 2006


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I have really enjoyed this album. Yea, they do go above just metalcore and stuff. They truly are a great band and I look forward to more cd's to come from them in the future.

MyLastLifeLine
February 24th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very Nice Review I must say but they are way above the title "MetalCore"... You would know that if you have heard their first album The Scars Of Ages. Its a lot faster and really a lot better than this album. I was sad to hear about the change of drummers but hopefully it was for the best... If you like this album check out The Scars Of Ages it will pretty much blow you away! This Message Edited On 02.24.06

MyLastLifeLine
February 24th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very Nice Review I must say but they are way above the title "MetalCore"... You would know that if you have heard their first album The Scars Of Ages. Its a lot faster and really a lot better than this album. I was sad to hear about the change of drummers but hopefully it was for the best... If you like this album check out The Scars Of Ages it will pretty much blow you away!

Dancin' Man
March 2nd 2006


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is killer. As far as beatdown style bands go, TTEOTD is one of my favorites. I do wonder though, is the bass drum real or programmed. Some people can play that fast but not many. I hear they don't live up to the album live which is why I wonder.

MyLastLifeLine
March 5th 2006


4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The Bass Drum Is real not programmed! if you have heard the first album it says it in the little book thing!

Dancin' Man
March 5th 2006


719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You can write all you want in the liner notes, that doesn't make it true. He may have, but it usually sounds too even.

PurpleHaze420
March 9th 2006


56 Comments


I have yet to check these guys out.
But I have heard some great things about them.

Nice review.

santi3hg
April 3rd 2006


440 Comments


The drummer double base ability is pure amazing. I can't believe he plays that fast.

A Threnody Waltz
April 6th 2006


2 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

amazing review for an absolutely amazing album

shred_master
April 22nd 2006


8 Comments


for those wondering if his drum playing is real it is, i saw them open for chimaira and children of bodom in toronto about 3 weeks back and let me tell you these guys r insane, im not to fond of the high pitched screams though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy