The Birthday Massacre
Hide and Seek


3.0
good

Review

by Acanthus USER (46 Reviews)
October 11th, 2012 | 109 replies | 8,502 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The album title says it all.

10 of 10 thought this review was well written

When Pins and Needles was released in 2010 many viewed it as the logical, if not completely wanted, next step for The Birthday Massacre. While earlier albums, 2005's Violet especially, contained elements of a harder sound the band was slowly embracing their more pop oriented eccentricities. With Hide and Seek the Canadian group aptly name the
musical game they are playing with themselves, while providing fans with a mixed experience in the process.

Opening with the sound of rainfall and shattered with a drum hit reminiscent of a metal pipe being struck, album opener "Leaving Tonight" recalls the sound of Walking With Strangers in its ambiance, while snuggling up to Pins and Needles vocally. An attempt is made at drawing the listener in with the vocal hook "I wanna go home" but the idea doesn't quite reach completion, as the tracks slower moments have been done before (and better) in previous albums. The attempt to bridge the musical gap is the songs downfall, and sadly is a repeat offender throughout Hide and
Seek
's entirety.

Lyrically the band has always been stalwart, but on this album it seems as if more and more the group relies on Chibi's vocal delivery and small background touches to deflect from the oft repeated lines and more simplistic structuring. "Play With Fire" is an excellent example of this, as Chibi delivers and excellent performance while crooning "Her house of red light, burns like, your wanting eyes" before returning to the tracks title. With the shorter track times of the album this really hinders any attempt at crafting something lyrically grand, and though Pins and Needles did this to an extent as well having the band focused wholly on one sound refined the results and added depth to the lyrics; here there is only a sense of deja vu.

This is also a concern for The Birthday Massacre's distinct soundscape, succinctly put the album sounds like a collection of B-Sides. "Down," with its out of place screaming (and guitar intro Ala "Redstars"), could have come from Walking With Strangers or Violet. "One Promise" tries to harness the power and pop hooks of Pins and Needles but fails, and "Calling" could have fit on the EP Looking Glass with its almost Depeche Mode beat. Indeed the only real surprise is album closer "The Long Walk Home" which actually manages to carve its own niche in the bands sound albeit too little too late.

The Birthday Massacre have until now been a group that released above average or simply stellar material, but Hide and Seek mares this track record and sets back any expectations for a true follow up to their newer direction. Trying to combine multiple elements from their discography, the band seem to be grasping at musical ideas already fleshed out in prior albums, leaving Hide and Seek to be their weakest release to date.



Recent reviews by this author
Gary Numan Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)Ryan Amon Elysium
Shpongle Museum of ConsciousnessAnamanaguchi Endless Fantasy
Sneaker Pimps Becoming RemixedJuno Reactor The Golden Sun Of The Great East
user ratings (77)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Acanthus
October 11th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Didn't expect that didja?

Sorry bloc!

Any issues hit me up, the line break thingy in the first paragraph won't go away, sorry!

Whispered4tw
October 11th 2012



607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll give this a listen today. The samples didn't sit well with me, but I enjoyed Calling and Down quite a bit.

Acanthus
October 11th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah those two are alright, nothing really has made much of a lasting impression on me.

breakingthefragile
October 11th 2012



2955 Comments


Haven't listened to this yet, but a 3 sounds about right, it's what I'm expecting going into this album. Excellent review btw, has a pos.

Digging: The Blood of Heroes - The Blood Of Heroes

Acanthus
October 11th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks sir, I heard you were planning on reviewing this as well; will read when you post it!

Typhoner
October 11th 2012



837 Comments


I kinda liked Violet and Waking With Strangers. Wasn't really blown away, but they were nice. I only heard Down from this one, it's quite cool.

Nice review, pos'd. You might want to take a look at the formatting though.

Digging: Banks - Goddess

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012



15906 Comments


liked reading the review, i have Walking with Strangers but it grew off me fast, might check this out, pos'd

Digging: Nemrud - Journey of the Shaman

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2012



8327 Comments


The content is good Acanthus-man, but there are some spelling mistakes here and there which you should look over (if you want, I can point them out to you but most are obvious so I think you'll see 'em yourself). Been real busy with university/life in general this fall, hence the time for music listening has gone rapidly downhill. Taking that into account, I think I'll leave this one be, at least for the time being.

pizzamachine
October 11th 2012



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review is completely on point, nice work. I still like the album though. : )

Tyrael
October 11th 2012



20824 Comments


No no no no

great review though

SiliconFields
October 11th 2012



201 Comments


Can't see this band doing anything below a 3.5 at lowest :/

helpmypantsareonfire
October 11th 2012



37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The synth work is amazing as always. Dude is on point.

Acanthus
October 11th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the support/critic guys!

@Metal - I'll look over it then sir, been working a lot myself so writing this at 2am probably didn't
do myself any favors.

@Typhoner - I can't fix those sadly, they don't show up when I go to edit the review : /

BallsToTheWall
October 11th 2012



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hmm 3 rating, 4.1 overall. gOOD REVIEW IM STOKED TO HEAR THIS.

bloc
October 11th 2012



34774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Not gonna lie Cant my boy, I'd say this is their weakest album my MILES

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Acanthus
October 11th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I thought you might agree sir, though I knew your rating would be higher. I might raise mine too but I really haven't felt the need to revisit this or had any of its lines pop up in my head.

Whispered4tw
October 12th 2012



607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The band plays their stuff as good as they always have, but the songwriting is simply not up to par with their previous albums.

Still liking it, but hopefully they'll put in some more effort next time.

Acanthus
October 12th 2012



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope so too, and they've been remarkably consistent so far so they have the heft and talent to make it back on track.

whimsicalhag
October 12th 2012



4 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i still think H&S beats P&N

nope

bloc
October 12th 2012



34774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The band plays their stuff as good as they always have, but the songwriting is simply not up to par with their previous albums.

Yeah this is my main issue with the album. Seems a bit on the plain side for some reason.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy