Anthrax
Among the Living


4.5
superb

Review

by Aaron Arneson CONTRIBUTOR (108 Reviews)
October 8th, 2012 | 184 replies | 8,488 views


Release Date: 1987 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Anthrax take everything up a notch on their third full length, proving they are one of the biggest bands in thrash.

After their impressive second album Spreading The Disease, Anthrax had a lot to prove. Metallica had already released the groundbreaking Ride The Lightning in 1984 and seemed to be ahead of the game. In response, Anthrax brought everything up a level with Among The Living. The more melodic influences heard on their last effort have been replaced by a brutal and relentless thrash sound. Now widely considered to be one of the best Thrash albums of all time, Among The Living is Anthrax at their very best.

Right off the bat it’s easy to hear the differences between the band’s last album and Among The Living. Everything is considerably heavier, from the rapid drums to the aggressive riffs. However, Belladonna’s voice is also angrier, which only adds more intensity to the experience. The second song ‘Caught In A Mosh’ is the first real gem. It’s full of creative, heavy guitar riffs, but the obvious influence of hardcore helps add character to the choruses making it a definite standout. Thankfully, the album just gets better as it goes along. Throughout the first five songs, the energy doesn’t seem to let up and each song thrashes harder than the one before it. ‘Skeletons in the Closet’ is one of the heaviest songs they’ve ever written and is nothing less than perfect. It isn’t until the sixth song ‘Indians’ that the listener is given a slight break from the constant aggression. Although the song still thrashes hard, it utilizes melody and has some of the best vocals on the album.

As usual, both Scott Ian and Dan Spitz are highly impressive on guitar. ‘A.D.I./Horror Of it All’ starts out with beautiful guitar work, only to explode into a heavy thrash song and finish off with face melting solos. The drums are also over the top courteous of Charlie Benante. However, even the bass is audible and unusually impressive. Although the band worked well together on their last album Spreading The Disease, they have really outdone themselves on this release. It contains some of the best guitar work and instrumentation they’ve ever recorded.

Those who loved the band’s first two albums may be surprised by Among The Living, but it’s an album not to be ignored. It’s proof Anthrax can really hold their own against the likes of Metallica or Megadeth. Not only is it an extremely influential album, but it’s one of the most intimidating, well executed thrash releases of all time.



Recent reviews by this author
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
Fireworks Oh, Common LifeA Slow Descent On Ganymede
user ratings (1259)
Chart.
4.3
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had some writers block on this one hope it doesn't suck

Digging: The Who - Tommy

theacademy
October 7th 2012



28239 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i agree with almost everythign you write but you could use some grammatical editing

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay I'm open to suggestions ?

theacademy
October 7th 2012



28239 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

subject verb agreement

theacademy
October 7th 2012



28239 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

key entity extraction

theacademy
October 7th 2012



28239 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Anthrax brings everything"

this is how i like it tbqh but you went with the plural everywhere else so id say for consistency u might wanna flip it

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay that makes sense but is that what you were referring to when u said subject verve agreement?

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So just bring then?

XingKing
October 7th 2012



10037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The summary is missing "a" between "up" and "notch". Anyway...

ANTHRAX! Hell yeah. Good review, man. Are you planning on reviewing State of Euphoria? It's their most underrated release in my opinion. Saddens me.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@James Franco, I know I'm in the processing of editing it right now. And to be honest id have to listen to that album more before considering reviewing it but maybe ;)

XingKing
October 7th 2012



10037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You know you want to!

I am sad that I was born too late to see any of the great 80's bands in their prime.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@skeletor, thanks buddy

Ecnalzen
October 7th 2012



6398 Comments


Much shorter than normal. Good stuff. I don't know how you write as often as you do. I usually need a break for a few days to a week after I write something.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hehe I might do that album eventually but it won't be my next review

ViralOblivion
October 8th 2012



7679 Comments


Good review man posd

ReturnToRock
October 8th 2012



3448 Comments


I pos'd, but this does need a bit more description of overall sound and individual songs. An Anthrax newbie would be completely lost as to what they sound like.

I prefer "Spreading" over this (maybe because of the more melodic sound you mentioned), but "Indians" absolutely kills. Next to "Lone Justice", it's probably the best song Anthrax ever wrote.

TheNotrap
October 8th 2012



7981 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Their best album in my opinion. Caught In A Mosh is an absolute classic.

Have a pos.

ViperAces
October 8th 2012



12376 Comments


Just bought this and Spreading 2.5 euros each, awesome stuff.
Good review, but why didnt you mention that Imitation Of Life has the best intro ever?
But I dont agree with that you said this is different from their last effort, they are pretty damn similar.

BTW: You got the fifth track name wrong somewhere in the middle of the review.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2012



19450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@viper, you really think this is similar to spreading the disease? I think they have a completely different sound!

ReturnToRock
October 8th 2012



3448 Comments


CRY FOR THE INDIAAAAAANS
DIE FOR THE INDIA AAAAANS
*drum break*
CRY FOR THE INDIAAAAAANS
CRY CRY
DIE FOR THE INDIA AAA AAAAAAANS

WAR DANCE!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy