Metallica
Ride the Lightning


3.5
great

Review

by killemall666 USER (12 Reviews)
September 27th, 2012 | 36 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thrash sophomores Review Series Chapter I

How do you top Kill Em All. An album so perfect that it transcends time, space, and every other ***ing dimension in existance huh? Simply put, you cant, and Ride The Lightning raelly showed that. Compared to Kill Em All, RTL is a boring, dull, piece of ***, one dimensional joke of an album. But it somehow remains to be a decent album in my eyes.

Perhaps this is because of Trapped Under Ice, my personal favourite metallica song. Trapped Under Ice was the perfect speed/thrash song, being one of the fastest songs metallica ever put out, and remaining the best thing theyve done to date.

The intstrumental The Call Of Ktulu is better than the one off of KEA, Anasthesia, and is a fair good attempt at a progressive metal song, with some cool instrumental work. The bass is the highlight of this song for me, which is something Orion would perfect.

The ass-kicking thrasher, Fight Fire With Fire, is one of the fastest, heaviest songs this band has ever put out, and remains a good song to listen to when i am bored or on the bus home from university. A great thrash metal song that should be listened to right the *** away.

The title track reminded me of something from Overkills Ironbound, and this is a decent thing, but it is not a perfect song, but the riffs are rather nice, and Jamess vocals are great on here, being one of the last songs where he uses that ear piercing shriek that sounded so good on Kill Em All.

This album is a thrash heads idea of a wet dream, but is a lot worse than the album that came before it. Sorry, Sputnik, but thats how its got to ***ing be



Recent reviews by this author
Metallica Master of PuppetsSlayer Reign in Blood
Wintersun Time IBlood on the Dance Floor I Scream I Scream
Exodus Bonded by BloodFaith No More Angel Dust
user ratings (5581)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
JAXETA
September 27th 2012


793 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what's with these reviews that seem copy and paste recently

Titan
September 27th 2012


7081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wood

JAXETA
September 27th 2012


793 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

FIX IT

anyway, it's damn annoying

Calc
September 27th 2012


12460 Comments


holy shit this is dumb..its like mini Kill's are reviewing only no where near as funny.

Evreaia
September 27th 2012


4092 Comments


rating is correct though.

Digging: Desolate Shrine - The Heart of the Netherworld

ThroneOfAgony
September 27th 2012


3485 Comments


sexy review

ChopSuey
September 27th 2012


2392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

is this the same guy who gave Disturbed-Asylum a 5/5?

flowerybrains
September 27th 2012


20 Comments


Can't stop screeching RIDE THE LIGHTNING.

zaruyache
September 27th 2012


7648 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is better than their debut so no stfu

Digging: We Stood Like Kings - Berlin 1927

facupm
September 27th 2012


8930 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Compared to Kill Em All, RTL is a boring, dull, piece of ***"

HELL NO

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


1937 Comments


"Compared to Kill Em All, RTL is a boring, dull, piece of ***, one dimensional joke of an album. But it somehow remains to be a decent album in my eyes."

Those two sentences contradict each other so badly, it pains me to even read them.

Digging: Angelus Apatrida - Hidden Evolution

YankeeDudel
September 27th 2012


9328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this kills kill em all. metal up your ass bich

Digging: Loop - A Guilded Eternity

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


21988 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea

Digging: Periphery - Juggernaut: Omega

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


21988 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea

TheNotrap
September 27th 2012


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

SO LET IT BEEE WRITEENNN

Digging: Napalm Death - Apex Predator - Easy Meat

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


51074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cry out






























I'm trapped under ice!

Digging: Bjork - Vulnicura

KILL
September 27th 2012


72592 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SO LET IT BE DOOONE

Digging: Bjork - Vulnicura

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


21988 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

trapped under iceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


51074 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm sent here by the chosen one

KILL
September 27th 2012


72592 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

out for my own out to be freeeee


neck



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy