Metallica
Ride the Lightning


3.5
great

Review

by killemall666 USER (12 Reviews)
September 27th, 2012 | 36 replies


Release Date: 1984 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Thrash sophomores Review Series Chapter I

How do you top Kill Em All. An album so perfect that it transcends time, space, and every other ***ing dimension in existance huh? Simply put, you cant, and Ride The Lightning raelly showed that. Compared to Kill Em All, RTL is a boring, dull, piece of ***, one dimensional joke of an album. But it somehow remains to be a decent album in my eyes.

Perhaps this is because of Trapped Under Ice, my personal favourite metallica song. Trapped Under Ice was the perfect speed/thrash song, being one of the fastest songs metallica ever put out, and remaining the best thing theyve done to date.

The intstrumental The Call Of Ktulu is better than the one off of KEA, Anasthesia, and is a fair good attempt at a progressive metal song, with some cool instrumental work. The bass is the highlight of this song for me, which is something Orion would perfect.

The ass-kicking thrasher, Fight Fire With Fire, is one of the fastest, heaviest songs this band has ever put out, and remains a good song to listen to when i am bored or on the bus home from university. A great thrash metal song that should be listened to right the *** away.

The title track reminded me of something from Overkills Ironbound, and this is a decent thing, but it is not a perfect song, but the riffs are rather nice, and Jamess vocals are great on here, being one of the last songs where he uses that ear piercing shriek that sounded so good on Kill Em All.

This album is a thrash heads idea of a wet dream, but is a lot worse than the album that came before it. Sorry, Sputnik, but thats how its got to ***ing be



Recent reviews by this author
Metallica Master of PuppetsSlayer Reign in Blood
Wintersun Time IBlood on the Dance Floor I Scream I Scream
Exodus Bonded by BloodFaith No More Angel Dust
user ratings (5430)
Chart.
4.4
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
JAXETA
September 27th 2012


779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

what's with these reviews that seem copy and paste recently

Titan
September 27th 2012


4884 Comments


wood

JAXETA
September 27th 2012


779 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

FIX IT

anyway, it's damn annoying

Calc
September 27th 2012


12190 Comments


holy shit this is dumb..its like mini Kill's are reviewing only no where near as funny.

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

Evreaia
September 27th 2012


4040 Comments


rating is correct though.

ThroneOfAgony
September 27th 2012


3485 Comments


sexy review

ChopSuey
September 27th 2012


2392 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

is this the same guy who gave Disturbed-Asylum a 5/5?

flowerybrains
September 27th 2012


20 Comments


Can't stop screeching RIDE THE LIGHTNING.

zaruyache
September 27th 2012


6461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is better than their debut so no stfu

Digging: Alpha Male Tea Party - Droids

facupm
September 27th 2012


7672 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Compared to Kill Em All, RTL is a boring, dull, piece of ***"

HELL NO

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


1876 Comments


"Compared to Kill Em All, RTL is a boring, dull, piece of ***, one dimensional joke of an album. But it somehow remains to be a decent album in my eyes."

Those two sentences contradict each other so badly, it pains me to even read them.

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

YankeeDudel
September 27th 2012


9313 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this kills kill em all. metal up your ass bich

Digging: Walknut - Graveforests And Their Shadows

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


21090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


21090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea

TheNotrap
September 27th 2012


8070 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

SO LET IT BEEE WRITEENNN

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


50375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cry out






























I'm trapped under ice!

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

KILL
September 27th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SO LET IT BE DOOONE

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


21090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

trapped under iceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


50375 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm sent here by the chosen one

KILL
September 27th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

out for my own out to be freeeee


neck



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy