Judas Priest
Ram It Down


2.0
poor

Review

by KissFan289 USER (2 Reviews)
September 25th, 2012 | 22 replies


Release Date: 1988 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Follows the Turbo trend. A cliche 80s album, but not as bad as Turbo.

Ram it Down is hard to describe. At first, I listened to the title track and Hard as Iron. That made me think it was a great album, until I listened to the whole thing.

In 1986, Judas Priest was supposed to release a double album called Twin Turbo. One side was intended to be commercially friendly material, and the other a more Priest-like sound. Instead, Turbo was released in 1986. The scrapped material from the heavier side of Twin Turbo was used to create the basis of Ram It Down. Judas Priest were better off abandoning this material. In a matter of a few years, they put out Painkiller. This album should have been more like that.

To point out, drummer Dave Holland was having medical issues during the recording of this album. Thus, Judas Priest opted to use a drum machine for most of the album.

Also, this was the last album that Tom Allom produced with Priest. As usual, the production was good on this album like the other classics he produced (British Steel, Defenders of the Faith).

The lyrics for Ram it Down are cliche, since it was meant for the Twin Turbo album. The album overall lacks originality in terms of the lyrics (Love Zone, Heavy Metal, Monsters of Rock).

On the other hand, Rob Halford delivers another kick ass vocal performance (he is the metal god).

The music to the album is strong. Tipton and Downing deliver the classic guitar sound that they are famous for. The guitar solos are very strong (Ram it Down, Hard as Iron, Johnny B. Goode). Ian also delivers some good bass lines.

The only musical complaint is the drums. As mentioned, the band utilized a drum machine. The drum machine gives a more glossy sound, and takes away from the metal sound. It would have been nice if Hard as Iron was performed on a real drum kit.

Overall, not the strongest Judas Priest effort. It sounds like a cliche 80s album (Released in 1988).

Recommended Songs:
Ram it Down
Hard as Iron
Johnny B. Goode


user ratings (428)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
Matthijs van der Lee (2.5)
Priest make a tiny step upwards in quality from their worst album, making something that is more enj...

Jason Hellmuth (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
September 25th 2012


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

My first Priest vinyl.

I'm probably the only one here that digs this.
Ram It Down, Hard As Iron, Blood Red Skies and I'm a Rocker are awesome tracks.

Digging: Threshold - For The Journey

KissFan289
September 25th 2012


20 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I understand. It is a good album, it just is not my personal favorite.

KissFan289
September 25th 2012


20 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I rated it awhile back, and honestly didn't bother to listen to the whole album.

KissFan289
September 25th 2012


20 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I would change it if I could.

RunOfTheMill
September 25th 2012


1501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There are some fucking awesome songs here, and some really bad ones.

Also, sorry, but your review was kinda bad, and it's been said before, but the rating is wtf. You didn't support your arguments very well, and there's not much structure or substance to your words. You make this sound like it's another '80s Priest album, when it's actually quite different from what they did previously.

ViperAces
September 25th 2012


12466 Comments


Title track m/

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012


19911 Comments


pretty disappointing album.

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

ViperAces
September 25th 2012


12466 Comments


Yes, I had such high expactations after Turbo!

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012


19911 Comments


Lol I'm not even bothering with turbo.

RunOfTheMill
September 25th 2012


1501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This has quite a few charms, tbh.

Friday13th
September 25th 2012


2546 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, this and turbo are some of Priest's worst, but they still have at least a couple great tracks. "Hard As Iron" and the title track are great, and Turbo's got "Turbo Lover" and "Locked In" (if you guys haven't seen the video for the latter you have no idea what you're missing).

Digging: Donovan - A Gift From A Flower To A Garden

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012


1890 Comments


I haven't yet heard this album, but I intend to. The review was kinda structureless, in that you didn't really give any examples to support each of your points, so a little more depth might help your review be better.

ReturnToRock
September 26th 2012


3448 Comments


Decent, to-the-point review, although a bit more detail wouldn't hurt. you describe the sound well, but someone who doesn't already know what Priest sound like will not be enlightened. Good job condensing the background info, though.

Re: this album, I've only heard the title track (decent, but nothing to write home about), and the cover to Johnny B. Goode (awful, atrocious, indecent).

ViperAces
September 26th 2012


12466 Comments


The title track is better than Metal Meltdown, or some other songs on PainKiller imo.

KILL
September 26th 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

the fuck viper

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

ViperAces
September 26th 2012


12466 Comments


Its so catchy, Metal Meltdown and BTHATA cant keep up.

KILL
September 26th 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

maybe on queef day

RunOfTheMill
September 26th 2012


1501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As a whole, Painkiller is miles ahead of this, but c'mon this has it's fair share of worthwhile tracks. The title track, Hard as Iron and Blood Red Skies are some fucking great Priest songs.

ViperAces
September 26th 2012


12466 Comments


You should. Title track is the best song ever.

TheNotrap
September 26th 2012


8108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Indeed.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy