Direwolves
Me From Myself, To Banish


4.0
excellent

Review

by Josh Fountain CONTRIBUTOR (63 Reviews)
September 25th, 2012 | 25 replies | 2,671 views


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Direwolves put themselves on the hardcore map with their debut EP

Direwolves are a band that wear their influences on their sleeve. You can tell that they simultaneously love Modern Life Is War and straightforward hardcore bands like that, and also the crust influences of bands such as Trap Them. They play in the slower tempo of their contemplative hardcore heroes, but with the occasional instrumental lunacy inherent in the crust sound. With Me From Myself, To Banish, Direwolves show that they can stand toe to toe with their contemporaries in terms of quality. The guitarists create a crushing atmosphere throughout, while playing off each other undeniably well in the band's crazier parts. The drummer is no slouch either, keeping a sturdy backbone throughout the sixteen-minute runtime. The real star of the album might be the vocalist, known only as P, who screams with venom and malice, never letting up.

The entire album is awash in desperation and urgency, even among the slower sections. The dread that looms in the title track, and it's connection to the closer, "Relief", is quite possibly the best part of the EP. Speaking of which, the song "Relief" is anything but, with blistering riffs and the most crust influence on the album, until it all crescendos with spiraling guitar and P shredding through his vocals, creating a fitting end to a fantastic EP. Direwolves may not be on anyone's radar yet, but with Me From Myself, To Banish, they are clearly only an LP or two away from becoming a top band in hardcore.



Recent reviews by this author
Linkin Park The Hunting PartyPowerman 5000 Builders of the Future
Lord Mantis Death MaskChuck Ragan Till Midnight
Perfect Pussy Say Yes to LoveTwin Forks Twin Forks
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



7949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

A short little writeup for this awesome EP that I found at random. You can get the EP for free here:

http://direwolves.bandcamp.com/

johnnydeking29
September 25th 2012



8933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cool band name

Digging: Pixies - Doolittle

johnnydeking29
September 25th 2012



8933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is actually pretty dec, am not a huge hardcore fan, but it rocks hard and vocals are unusually for a free bandcamp release

CaptainDooRight
September 25th 2012



28198 Comments


I enjoyed the read. Pos on the review.

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

instantradical
September 25th 2012



197 Comments


Insert obvious joke here...

http://memegenerator.net/instance/27356663

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



7949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

haha nice one

Kris.
September 25th 2012



11981 Comments


this fucking rules but french people are huge pussies i dont understand how this exists

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



7949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Me neither, my first paragraph was about hoe the french suck but I deleted it so as not to offend those surrender monkeys

Kris.
September 25th 2012



11981 Comments


you should bring it back to emphasize how much of an anomaly this is

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2012



7949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i would but its gone forever

cvlts
September 26th 2012



8950 Comments


this is pretty bomb. sweet review man!

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



23796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

only read this cause you posted it on fb but yeah great work, this sounds really really good. i may have to acquire it.

Digging: Ought - More Than Any Other Day

johnnydeking29
September 26th 2012



8933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's defo worth getting, and it's only 15 mins or so; what's not to like?

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



7949 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, Adrian, this rules

johnnydeking29
September 27th 2012



8933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Diving and Struggling is so damn good

RosaParks
October 1st 2012



14592 Comments


this kills

johnnydeking29
October 1st 2012



8933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah

GringoSuave89
October 4th 2012



1001 Comments


Fantastic album. Expect great things to come from these dudes.

And, ahem, the French are pussies? Their music sure isn't, look up Celeste.

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

Apollo
November 4th 2012



10218 Comments


This sounds fucking awesome. Will check out tomorrow

jayfatha
November 4th 2012



2882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's aight



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy