Megadeth
Killing Is My Business...


4.5
superb

Review

by killemall666 USER (12 Reviews)
September 23rd, 2012 | 46 replies | 1,752 views


Release Date: 1985 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Incredible

1 of 4 thought this review was well written

Kicking things off with Last Rites/Loved To Deth was a smart move for Megadeths debut, Killing Is My Business. It had a nice clean vocal section, that left the listener completely ***ing unprepared for the utter riff fest of an album that was about to come along and *** their day up. THIS is raw thrash at its finest, and im Killemall666 to talk you through the reasons for this.

First off, the Mustaine/Poland duo is the finest guitar pairing Megadeth have ever had. *** your notions of Friedman/Mustaine, Poland and Mustaine worked together a lot better, and the leads here are a lot better written. The riff work is some of the tightest the band ever put together, being primarily just a way to prove Mustaine could play a lot faster than his old band, Metallica ever could. And it works.

Dave's vocals on here are his absolute best, and really do the album a great deal of good. He is not a good singer, but there is not a single ***ing vocalist out there who could take these songs as well as Dave did. Loved To Deth, Rattlehead, Mechanix, These Boots and the rest of the songs on here are taken with utter raw thrashing energy by Dave vocally, which is what i expect to hear when i listen to Megadeth, instead of the ***ty drivel Metallica pump out these days.

The speed works to this albums advantage, being their fastest and heaviest, but also their rawest attempt. Every song is perfectly paced, and doesnt outstay its welcome, all of them being perfectly written. The riffs are great, lyrically perfect, and the solos are ***ing breathtaking. Rattlehead has some of the finest lead work i have heard from a band ever. This is how an album should be.

Killing Is My Business is the finest debut from a thrash band ever other than Kill Em All, hands down.



Recent reviews by this author
Metallica Master of PuppetsSlayer Reign in Blood
Wintersun Time IBlood on the Dance Floor I Scream I Scream
Exodus Bonded by BloodFaith No More Angel Dust
user ratings (1420)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet dude best album ever made

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2012



15789 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What an utterly shit review. Why fucking bother.

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

breakingthefragile
September 23rd 2012



2943 Comments


Seriously Megadeath's most overrated album, not to mention one of the most overrated thrash albums of all time.

Digging: Glassjaw - Everything You Ever Wanted To Know...

KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you mother fucker

breakingthefragile
September 23rd 2012



2943 Comments


lol.

KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WELLLLL HERE I COME

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2012



19451 Comments


Ya not their best

Digging: The Who - Tommy

KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

holy shit i am fuckin pissed where are the real thrashers

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2012



19451 Comments


I feel like this is the same person who just wrote that paramore review.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 23rd 2012



19451 Comments


Rust in peace and peace sells are better not saying this is bad though.

apert
September 23rd 2012



2974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this riffs hard easily as good as peace sells

Digging: Emperor - In the Nightside Eclipse

Friday13th
September 23rd 2012



2187 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Decent review. I agree with you on Mustaine/Poland owning all. It could use a litlle more criticism, though (or at least a clear argument against criticism). "Lyrically perfect?" Wouldn't you say that's a little exaggerated? The riffs are killer, but the production, lyrics, and singing are all sub-par imo. Peace Sells and RIP are so much better.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

Fluttertrank
September 23rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed

KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

easily 3rd best megadeth fuck u all

KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sup sonic

Fluttertrank
September 23rd 2012



17098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bruh wheres my sup

KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmm not sure i'd class you as a true thrasher seeins as you havent even heard protector!!!!!!!!!!!

KILL
September 23rd 2012



70586 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea this is better than endgame

apert
September 23rd 2012



2974 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

endgame doesn't touch this, its got gay shit like 'the hardest part of letting go'

DarkSideOfLucca
September 23rd 2012



3273 Comments


But the first two songs on Endgame are up there with their best material IMO, it's just not the most consistent.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy