Death
Symbolic


5.0
classic

Review

by Aaron CONTRIBUTOR (110 Reviews)
September 21st, 2012 | 1336 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An absolute f*cking pillar in the world of metal.

When done right, metal is more than just music, it’s a work of art. This is exactly how I feel about Death’s most consistent release, “Symbolic”. It’s certainly a pinnacle for the band, as well as the genre. The album's stellar production also makes the effort accessible for any metal head, whether they’ve heard death metal or not. Unfortunately, Death would only release one more album after this due to vocalist Chuck Schuldiner losing a battle with cancer in 2001. As tragic as it is, Schuldiner accomplished more in his time on earth than any metal musician could ever hope for.

“Symbolic” is so perfectly executed it’s nearly impossible to pick out the best songs. It opens with the impressive title track and Chuck’s vocals sound better than ever before. His voice is still harsh, but has a much crisper sound than before. My personal favorite song, ‘Sacred Serenity’ manages to be thrashy, infectious, and beautiful all at the same time. One reason every song is so great is due to balance. Not once throughout the 9 tracks does the album feel redundant, and each song blends together perfectly. Another reason is musicianship. Schuldiner lays down some of the most memorable riffs I’ve ever heard, but even the bass manages to stand out. Finally, “Symbolic” is a classic because of the experimentation on the record. Not that there’s an extreme amount of it but there’s just enough to keep the album sounding fresh. ‘Perennial Quest’ is a perfect example of the band retaining their signature sound, but also showing signs of progression.

If I have a complaint about this album, it’s that there are only nine songs. Then again, within those nine tracks are the most exciting vocals and guitar riffs I’ve ever had the pleasure of hearing. We may have lost Chuck, but his legacy certainly lives on through albums like “Symbolic”; a true pillar for the genre and a shining example of how to craft the perfect metal record.



Recent reviews by this author
New Found Glory ResurrectionThe Residents Eskimo
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
The Byrds Mr. Tambourine ManSomos Temple of Plenty
user ratings (2449)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Shuyin
September 21st 2012


11827 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

m/

Digging: Yoko Kanno - Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex OST Vol 1

CaptainDooRight
September 21st 2012


29877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

whoa



Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

CaptainDooRight
September 21st 2012


29877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i pos'd



Shuyin
September 21st 2012


11827 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

one of the best death metal albums ever, no discussion there

RIP Chuck

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not my best review, but just wanted to get this out there especially after the abomination of a reviw it received earlier.

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

CaptainDooRight
September 21st 2012


29877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Abusing a portion of liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight


ViperAces
September 21st 2012


12466 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review, short and to the point.

KjSwantko
September 21st 2012


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Album thrashes vagina

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks guys.

I could spend weeks and weeks on this review trying to make it better, but it still won't do justice to Chuck and such a classic metal album. m/

KjSwantko
September 21st 2012


9443 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

RIP

KILL
September 21st 2012


71957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cool

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I usually don't review more than one album a week.

But I have a review for 09/19, 09/20, and 09/21, lol. Hope you guys aren't getting sick of me ;)

ViralOblivion
September 21st 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review man pos

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks man. I'm surprised this doesn't have a neg yet cause I wrote it so fast.

You planning on writing any reviews viral?

evilford
September 21st 2012


22790 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Awesome review dude pos'd

Digging: Burial (NL) - Relinquished Souls

Motiv3
September 21st 2012


8938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

absolutely brilliant review.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Ford/Motive, damn thanks guys glad you liked it.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


21438 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

didnt read but its a symbolic 5 review so pos

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

mindleviticus
September 21st 2012


8292 Comments


FUCK im going to postpone everything and listen to this

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


19911 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@mindleviticus, you never heard it?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy