Death
Symbolic


5.0
classic

Review

by Atari CONTRIBUTOR (112 Reviews)
September 21st, 2012 | 1425 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An absolute f*cking pillar in the world of metal.

When done right, metal is more than just music, it’s a work of art. This is exactly how I feel about Death’s most consistent release, “Symbolic”. It’s certainly a pinnacle for the band, as well as the genre. The album's stellar production also makes the effort accessible for any metal head, whether they’ve heard death metal or not. Unfortunately, Death would only release one more album after this due to vocalist Chuck Schuldiner losing a battle with cancer in 2001. As tragic as it is, Schuldiner accomplished more in his time on earth than any metal musician could ever hope for.

“Symbolic” is so perfectly executed it’s nearly impossible to pick out the best songs. It opens with the impressive title track and Chuck’s vocals sound better than ever before. His voice is still harsh, but has a much crisper sound than before. My personal favorite song, ‘Sacred Serenity’ manages to be thrashy, infectious, and beautiful all at the same time. One reason every song is so great is due to balance. Not once throughout the 9 tracks does the album feel redundant, and each song blends together perfectly. Another reason is musicianship. Schuldiner lays down some of the most memorable riffs I’ve ever heard, but even the bass manages to stand out. Finally, “Symbolic” is a classic because of the experimentation on the record. Not that there’s an extreme amount of it but there’s just enough to keep the album sounding fresh. ‘Perennial Quest’ is a perfect example of the band retaining their signature sound, but also showing signs of progression.

If I have a complaint about this album, it’s that there are only nine songs. Then again, within those nine tracks are the most exciting vocals and guitar riffs I’ve ever had the pleasure of hearing. We may have lost Chuck, but his legacy certainly lives on through albums like “Symbolic”; a true pillar for the genre and a shining example of how to craft the perfect metal record.



Recent reviews by this author
Daisyhead The Smallest LightFall to November Sky... A Little Sounds for an Empty World
New Found Glory ResurrectionThe Residents Eskimo
Trvth ApproachingAgalloch The Serpent and the Sphere
user ratings (2577)
Chart.
4.5
superb
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Shuyin
September 21st 2012


12260 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

m/

Shuyin
September 21st 2012


12260 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

one of the best death metal albums ever, no discussion there



RIP Chuck

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


20290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Not my best review, but just wanted to get this out there especially after the abomination of a reviw it received earlier.

Digging: Daisyhead - The Smallest Light

ViperAces
September 21st 2012


12510 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Great review, short and to the point.

KjSwantko
September 21st 2012


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Album thrashes vagina

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


20290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks guys.



I could spend weeks and weeks on this review trying to make it better, but it still won't do justice to Chuck and such a classic metal album. m/

KjSwantko
September 21st 2012


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

RIP

KILL
September 21st 2012


72795 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

cool

Digging: The Danse Society - Seduction

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


20290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I usually don't review more than one album a week.



But I have a review for 09/19, 09/20, and 09/21, lol. Hope you guys aren't getting sick of me ;)

ViralOblivion
September 21st 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review man pos

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


20290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks man. I'm surprised this doesn't have a neg yet cause I wrote it so fast.



You planning on writing any reviews viral?

evilford
September 21st 2012


23031 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Awesome review dude pos'd

Motiv3
September 21st 2012


8957 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

absolutely brilliant review.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


20290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Ford/Motive, damn thanks guys glad you liked it.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


22235 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

didnt read but its a symbolic 5 review so pos

Digging: Enslaved - In Times

mindleviticus
September 21st 2012


8393 Comments


FUCK im going to postpone everything and listen to this

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


20290 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@mindleviticus, you never heard it?

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2012


4466 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@mindle

Oh it's an amazing album. I wont pretend to be an expert in Death Metal, but out of all of the albums I've listened to, this one is just one of the absolute best. The musicianship here is just mind-blowing.

DeathGrinder
September 21st 2012


152 Comments


Good band

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2012


1956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha, ace death album reviews to cancel all the terrible ones by mutherhubberd.



Seriously though good job on the review, even if it was a little short.

Digging: Shattered Skies - The World We Used to Know



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy