Focus
Focus 3


4.5
superb

Review

by KILL USER (57 Reviews)
September 20th, 2012 | 100 replies


Release Date: 1972 | Tracklist

Review Summary: focus is better

Focus are a great band, sadly unknown to many, they rocked hard when they were alive. The reason they rocked hard is because they were dutch, and they knew how to play their instruments, hard. Musicianship is perhaps the albums biggest focus, but its progressive rock so thats to be expected and respected, you dig? Akkerman is a master of his axe, a swordsman he be not. After releasing the excellent Moving Waves record Focus were on a mission to make the best record ever, and they succeed with flying colours. Focus III is a hugely diverse record, the songs range from self indulgent jazz rocking epics to calm and harmonious ditties. Right from the opener Round Goes the Gossip the album is ***ing exceptional. The melodies in this song alone are awe inspiring, in both the rocking verses and vocal breaks. The crisp production only adds to the perfection, helping every fantastically played instrument shine through. Sylvia is a real rocker, the lead guitar perfectly compliments the rhythm section, and is reminiscent of bands like Genesis and Camel, aka it ***ing rocks. Vocally the album is, and not to sound gay, beautiful. Thijs has the voice of an angel, his vocal range oozes masterfulness. Even short tracks like Love remembered are spectacular, The classic guitar mixed in with the more modern sounding synth effects is an excellent combination. The 2 epics of the album, are especially exceptional, the soothing yet jamming song titled Answers? Questions! Questions? Answers! is like warm cum to the ears. While Anonymous Two is a much more rocking rocker which rocks so hard, i can barely describe how much it kicks butthole. The song highlights their strong jazz influences, non stop jamming for 26 minutes, brilliant.

If you dig jams you will dig this jam, the jams dont just jam hard, they have real depth and groove, you'll be jivin for weeks on end. Some may find the epics self indulgent wank fests but if you enjoy or respect jazz you'll understand the true depth to these pieces. Focus III is a progressive rock behemoth that is sadly overlooked. Essential.



Recent reviews by this author
Chicane Behind the SunLush Mad Love
Cryptic Slaughter ConvictedMeat Puppets In a Car
Porcupine Tree Up the DownstairHeathen Victims of Deception
user ratings (70)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
September 20th 2012


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

had to review this, yet another overlooked classic on sputnik, fuck

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

KILL
September 20th 2012


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

damn no ones interested in good music, i guess i'll have to wait till jethro gets on ;)

MO
September 20th 2012


18994 Comments


nice rules

CaptainDooRight
September 20th 2012


30249 Comments


dawn is better agred

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2012


16113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

'The reason they rocked hard is because they were dutch'
haha pos'd just for this.

Digging: H.P. Lovecraft - H.P. Lovecraft II

Nagrarok
September 20th 2012


8298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The reason they rocked hard is because they were dutch


can't argue with that

KILL
September 20th 2012


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

thanks bros

yea true but there are vocals scattered throughout the album usually backing and he rocks!!!!!!!1

CaptainDooRight
September 20th 2012


30249 Comments


when i met Thijs van Leer back in '72 i drop my wallet next to his flaught case and he actually returned it to me, such a cool guy

damn i miss those dayz

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2012


21438 Comments


Fuck yes, Focus rules.

Pos'd hard.

Nagrarok
September 20th 2012


8298 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Have got to link this again: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4ouPGGLI6Q

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2012


16113 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"ok i won't mess with the KILL formula for great reviews"

His reviews are usually quickies like that and are obviously unlike professional reviews but maybe thats what a user review should be like - sheer enthusiasm, something entertaining. I try to sound professional in mine and just end up sounding like a twat tbh, wish i could emulate his style haha.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2012


21438 Comments


Someone needs to review Moving Waves.

KILL
September 20th 2012


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

why dont you bro, i'm goin back to thrash after this one

CaptainDooRight
September 20th 2012


30249 Comments


faith



DirEnRefused
September 20th 2012


2240 Comments


Musicianship is perhaps the albums biggest focus


OOHHHHHH SSNNNNNAAAAPPPPPP

CaptainDooRight
September 20th 2012


30249 Comments


i pos'd after that too

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2012


21438 Comments


Yeah KILL I might rev it at some point. I have it on vinyl, rules so hard.

Jethro42
September 20th 2012


12547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This needed a review. My third fave Focus album. Rules!

KILL
September 20th 2012


72090 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

dude check this@@@@@@@@@@

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2012


1917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was going to review this album sometime soon, but you did a good job of it anyway Kill, I enjoyed reading it.

Digging: Obliterations - Poison Everything



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy