Fail Emotions
Speed Of Light


4.0
excellent

Review

by peartnoy USER (21 Reviews)
September 18th, 2012 | 24 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The first real Trancecore band becomes the first ''TranceDjent'' band.

In 2010, Fail emotions were the first band to get Trancecore right. Elaborate song structures and balanced Trance and Metalcore elements made Transfornation an all-around great debut album. The album wasn’t perfect, but for a debut it was really well put-together. We’re now in 2012, and the band decided to not do the same thing twice and add something to their sound.

Fail Emotions still sound like themselves, but they decided to throw a Djent element in the mix (fans will get this amazing reference) too. As of now, this is the only band in the world to sound like this, and they should be given some credit for their uniqueness alone. However, something different doesn’t mean something good; bananas are delicious, not so much when mixed with french fries.

Fortunately, they do it right. By Djent, I mean that their chugging patterns are a bit more complex, that the guitar tone is different and that the overall sound is heavier/proggier. Besides that, it all remains familiar. The electro elements are still extremely well integrated with the metal side, the vocals are still about 60/40 clean/harsh and the song structures still avoid the obvious verse/chorus/repeat/bridge/chorus/ending.

While the first album sometimes felt like the guitars let the electro elements take center stage, this one is a bit more developed in that aspect. Some examples would be the clean verses from Speed of Light (which have clean guitar solos that work perfectly with the vocal lines) and the odd-timed guitar harmony section in 148. It shows that the band really tries to make the best songs they can make. The clean vocals also improved, the autotune being toned down to show that the guy can actually sing. There are still a lot of effects on the voice, but it works for their sound.

In conclusion, this EP is excellent. Sure, it could have been better (the harsh vocals are still a bit weak, it’s not as catchy as the first album and the remixes are useless), but overall it’s extremely solid stuff.



Recent reviews by this author
Sonic Syndicate Sonic SyndicateFar From Reality Reminiscence
Destrage Are You Kidding Me? No.Asking Alexandria From Death to Destiny
Circus Maximus NineAnberlin Vital
user ratings (28)
Chart.
3.7
great
related reviews

Transfornation

Comments:Add a Comment 
RosaParks
September 18th 2012


15056 Comments


summary really rubs me the wrong way.
can't stand this band though. clean sections of the title track are sounding nice though.
pos'd

peartnoy
September 18th 2012


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Could you please explain how it rubs you the wrong way? And yeah the title track is the best one.

Thanks for the pos too

RosaParks
September 18th 2012


15056 Comments


saying "the first ''Djentcore'' band."

idk. doesn't really make a whole lot of sense since tons of deathcore and metalcore bands have been using the djent tone since 2010

peartnoy
September 18th 2012


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

You're right, I'll change it to TranceDjent, makes more sense haha.

Cipieron
September 18th 2012


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hah, I was just thinking earlier if you'd write a review for this since you said how much you liked Speed of Light.

I think Speed of Light, Suit&Tie, and Makes Bad are my three fav songs by these guys.. though it'll probably change as I listen more

peartnoy
September 18th 2012


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Haha nice. I thought this needed a review and yeah Speed of Light is their best song in my opinion.

The dubstep breakdown in Makes Bad is really awesome and the song overall is one of the best ones on transfornation.

peartnoy
September 18th 2012


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

give it a chance man you never know!

Evreaia
September 18th 2012


4066 Comments


vocals are lol bad, especially the screams

ViralOblivion
September 18th 2012


7679 Comments


Youtubed them lol'd continued listening to godspeed

Funeralopolis
September 18th 2012


11898 Comments


what the scene kids refer to as post-hardcore

Digging: Owen Pallett - In Conflict

J0ckstrapsFTW
September 18th 2012


3660 Comments


Sounds interesting may give this a spin

bloc
September 18th 2012


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These guys are an entirely different beast for sure

peartnoy
September 19th 2012


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah originality is rare nowadays. Check it out J0ckstraps, at worst you're just not gonna like it lol.

BetaAquilae
September 19th 2012


248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I... i really like this

Shiduba
September 19th 2012


424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Both this and the debut album are really good stuff.

peartnoy
September 19th 2012


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm happy I made some people discover them

EyesHalfClosed
October 1st 2012


51 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great band, good review too man, although you could expand it a bit more.
It was good to see them expanding their style here, rather than just making Transfornation 2.

peartnoy
October 2nd 2012


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I could have expanded more but this is just an EP after all. Thanks for the feedback!

Yeah I hope their next full album can be as catchy as Transfornation. I was still happy to see them try something a bit different.

AfterTheBreakdown
December 24th 2012


7174 Comments


might check this out.

peartnoy
January 3rd 2013


1228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Go for it! I mean, you have nothing to lose man.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy