Malevolent Creation
The Ten Commandments


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jeremy Wolfers USER (59 Reviews)
September 13th, 2012 | 39 replies | 2,798 views


Release Date: 1991 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Malevolent Creation's debut stands as one of the stronger albums in the old school death metal crowd, featuring effective riffs and songs that make it an early classic.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written

Malevolent Creation is a well recognized but generally somewhat ignored death metal band, which might be down to the quick decline in quality of their albums following their 1992 classic Retribution, with the poorly produced but overall solid Stillborn giving way for the unexceptional Eternal, In Cold Blood and The Fine Art Of Murder albums, which were solid but indistinct and not particularly memorable. Following the slightly more interesting The Will To Kill the band quickly spiraled into several mediocre albums. Luckily, the band's first 2 albums, The Ten Commandments and the aforementioned Retribution are far superior, and the former delivers thrashy death metal beyond the capabilities of most bands.

The Ten Commandments is instrumentally solid but not exceptional. The guitar work is technical and tight, executing fairly intricate riffs with ease, while the drumming is equally proficient, with solid double bass patterns throughout while avoiding the popular blast beat throughout the majority of its duration, which may make it somewhat more refreshing than most death metal albums in that respect. The bass isn't exceptional but is audible and provides an effective backdrop for the other instruments. One of the better features of the album are the vocals, which provide mid range growls which sound constantly aggressive and edgy, partially resembling a thrash shout but with a slightly more guttural feel.

After the slow instrumental opener Memorial Arrangements, which is better than most death metal album openers overall, the album kicks strait into gear with the excellent Premature Burial, which possesses an excellent set of riffs while the reasonably high tempo gives it a driving feel, which makes it one of the most enjoyable tracks on the album. Likewise, Multiple Stab Wounds wastes no time, delving into a blistering series of riffs before slowing down into a crushing groove. Impaled Existence is one of the more technical tracks on the album, which works well for it as it dives into dizzying and violent riffs. Sacrificial Annihilation speeds ahead from the get go, and while the tempo varies it's consistently brutal and one of the album's highlights. Decadence Within provides more of the same but with the same consistent quality of the other tracks.

And that might well be the main problem with the album. The song structures are so consistently similar that it becomes duller near the end of the album (though it's still great stuff). Aside from that, there are virtually no weaknesses here. Perhaps some may be turned off slightly by the thrashy nature of the riffs that aren't always quite in line with the death metal norm, but they are just as effective. Despite the strengths of the album however it doesn't quite match up with Retribution which was just generally a more focused and riffier album, but The Ten Commandments is an excellent example of high quality death metal.

Recommended tracks:
Premature Burial
Sacrificial Annihilation
Impaled Existence
Decadence Within
Multiple Stab Wounds



Recent reviews by this author
Emmure Eternal EnemiesSolstice (Metal) New Dark Age
Sorrow (USA-NY) Hatred and DisgustConquering Dystopia Conquering Dystopia
Diabolic (USA-FL) Vengeance AscendingDeeds of Flesh Gradually Melted
user ratings (122)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Madbutcher3
September 13th 2012



976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album drastically required a review.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2012



5614 Comments


Good review, pos.

It reads though as a 3.5 because of the 4th paragraph and the following phrase.

The Ten Commandments is instrumentally solid but not exceptional

Digging: Mekong Delta - In A Mirror Darkly

Madbutcher3
September 13th 2012



976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well I was mostly praising it for having fairly few weaknesses in paragraph 4 and what I meant was that the instrumental playing was not exceptional. By no means does that mean the riffs or songs aren't since they're great.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2012



5614 Comments


Fair enough.

I have heard some songs from this band, but none of them moved me enough to bother further.

I should probably bother with their first two.

FadeToBlack
September 13th 2012



10913 Comments


good review

this and retribution are the only ones worth listening to really

Madbutcher3
September 13th 2012



976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the rest is inferior.

Captain666
September 13th 2012



652 Comments


omg hard

never stop reviewing

broke my finger while pos'ing

Madbutcher3
September 13th 2012



976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks man.
Btw I downloaded your album bro sounds good.

Madbutcher3
September 13th 2012



976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well lol.
I just caught a bad cold on Monday and now my lips are pulling apart hooray.
Which is why I managed to review this during what would be my school time.

KILL
September 13th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finally this got a review, nice one

RECEIVING PLEASURE FROM WATCHING YOU DIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Captain666
September 13th 2012



652 Comments


"Btw I downloaded your album bro sounds good."

thanks bro, which one? the alpha or the crevice album?

also I just uploaded a newthrash song that'll be on my next album will be a thrash album, its under the bandcamp page if you have the link

Madbutcher3
September 13th 2012



976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

alpha

Yeah I saw the thrashy song, I'll give it a proper listen later.
I should probably upload a dm song I made onto bandcamp or something (with pony theme for teh lols and so flutter will auto dl). Main issue is that I can't do dm vocs at all so it's instrumental and I use ultra getto setup for the drums (programmed but not even through superior drummer or something, only got vital instruments which has the worst bass drum sounds ever).

Captain666
September 13th 2012



652 Comments


haha

yeah bro you should, i would love to check, we don't have many users here who write dm or even metal for that matter

damn bro i do death style vocals that sounds a lot like chuck, you'll see it when check that thrash song i did

if you need, id be more than happy to do death style vocals for your song as long as you credit me

that way you can keep your music going and you can post it up on sputnik and have it reviewed if you want, let me know bro, i love collabing

Madbutcher3
September 13th 2012



976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahah thanks man, my songs suck in terms of mixing and my playing's sloppy but if you ever feel like it I'll send it to you.

Means I have to write lyrics first. I'll get round to it, I'm not too awful with lyrics.

ShadowRemains
September 13th 2012



19442 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good, although retribution is better

Shuyin
September 13th 2012



10442 Comments


brutal shiz

Digging: All the Empires of the World - Sunscraper

YUJOS
September 13th 2012



890 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album drastically required a review 2!! Have a pos man, good review also!


Digging: Aosoth - Ashes of Angels

Captain666
September 13th 2012



652 Comments


"Hahah thanks man, my songs suck in terms of mixing and my playing's sloppy but if you ever feel like it I'll send it to you.

Means I have to write lyrics first. I'll get round to it, I'm not too awful with lyrics."

cool sound good bro, im down, just shoutbox me and ill get you my email, but yea i dont mind doing the lyrics too but it would be more sentinmental to you if you did maybe since its ur project ya know, either way i dont mind

BlackLlama
September 13th 2012



1361 Comments


Been on an old school DM kick all week. Dismember, Baphmut, Deicide, Bolt Thrower, Cryptopsy, Death, Obituary and MC. Fucking brutal.

Nice review as well, love the early stuff from these guys.

Digging: Morgana Lefay - Maleficium

Captain666
September 13th 2012



652 Comments


baphmut lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy