Linkin Park
Hybrid Theory


5.0
classic

Review

by NuMetalFan2022 USER (4 Reviews)
September 10th, 2012 | 64 replies | 3,324 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A subjective masterpiece.

4 of 15 thought this review was well written

Hybrid Theory. What this album will bring to mind varies a lot. Some consider it a classic, while others consider it one of the worst albums ever. A lot of people would put it in the middle. However, you can't deny the massive success it had, selling over 10 million in the U.S. alone, and over 24 million worldwide. It was even the best selling album of 2001 in the States, despite being released the year prior. Well, enough history, let's get on with the review!

Linkin Park (in 2000):
Chester Bennington: Vocals
Mike Shinoda: Vocals, Samples
Brad Delson: Guitar, Bass, Backing Vocals
Rob Bourdon: Drums, Backing Vocals
Joseph Hahn: Turntables, Samples, Backing Vocals

This album starts of with the single "Papercut", which is an amazing introduction. It shows the great vocal duo of singer Chester Bennington, and rapper Mike Shinoda. The instruments are fairly simple, but excellent in adding to the atmosphere. The electronics of this album are present, but are more in the background, unlike A Thousand Suns, and Living Things. Another difference is that the guitar and drums are heavier than their newer albums.

Most of the album has a similar sound, however I have no difficulty in telling the songs apart from each other. There are heavier songs ("A Place for my Head", "One Step Closer"), lighter songs ("In the End", "Crawling"), and even an electronic song ("Cure for the Itch.") I think that each of they songs are great at what they do, and the album never lets up.

Another thing I enjoy about this album is the heavy use of harmony, which really does help it. The bits of electronics scattered throughout the album also helps the sound in my opinion. The guitar is pretty basic, but really helps the mood of the song. Same with the drums, which shows that it doesn't have to be complex to be amazing.

The lyrics, for what they are about, are amazing. It is mostly about problems with their young life. I know they aren't the most mature lyrics, but they are good for what they are. The lyrics are pretty comprehensible, and they don't need to rely on use of swear words (although they did go that route with "Minutes to Midnight", and "A Thousand Suns".)

This album clocks in at almost 38 minutes, and has 12 masterpieces. My favourites are probably the 3 final tracks, "Forgotten", "Cure for the Itch", and "Pushing Me Away." The latter track perfectly ends the album, making you crave to listen to it again. But all in all, every song is good to listen to.

After this, Linkin Park decided to use the same Nu Metal genre for their sophomore effort, Meteora, which is also a great listen. However, after that, they decided to experiment, with mixed feelings on my part. But in my personal opinion, this remains as my favourite album made, and an album that I recommend to everyone, no matter who you are. This may garner a lot criticism, but I will stand by that. Have a good day everyone.


user ratings (4024)
Chart.
3.6
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Youtellme
September 10th 2012



1351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"A subjective masterpiece."

This makes no sense.

Anything can be a masterpiece from a subjective perspective.

I haven't read the review yet but we already started off badly here.

Also:

"recommended by reviewer
Limp Bizkit Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water
P.O.D. Satellite
Papa Roach Infest"

Ew.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2012



20643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

YankeeDudel
September 10th 2012



9305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Someone's gotta rep nu metal

You got the job congrats

Digging: Bedhead - WhatFunLifeWas

johnnydeking29
September 10th 2012



8996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"However, you can't deny the massive success it had, selling over 10 million in the U.S. alone, and over 24 million worldwide"
This kinda sentence is almost invariably used to defend shit music
"the heavy use of harmony"
Bitch plz, this is a nu-bro-metal album

Digging: Naked City - Radio

Calc
September 10th 2012



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"A subjective masterpiece"

this is an example of trying to sound too professional and just sounding dumb.

"This song clocks in at almost 38 minutes"

Fix this..

Review is pretty meh but I've seen way worse ones get way more praise so gj

Digging: Kashiwa Daisuke - April. #02

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2012



20643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it is true though, linkin park is universally known for their heavy use of the harmonic and melodic minor scales extensively in their compositions

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2012



15800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"This makes no sense.
Anything can be a masterpiece from a subjective perspective."

But isn't all appreciation of art subjective ?
Is any music an 'objective' masterpiece ? Is anything at all an objective masterpiece ?
And why am I talking pseudo-intellectual bullshit on a linkin park thread.


Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

MO
September 10th 2012



18257 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol that summary bahaha

Digging: Immolation - Dawn of Possession

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2012



15800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sophomore = most overused word in reviews

Youtellme
September 10th 2012



1351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Ok, i read the review.
It wasn't as bad as i was expecting, but it was still not very good.

The intro is pointless, what was the point of saying that it sold X amount of copies, but at least was short.
You don't explain why you think that the lyrics are good other than their lack of swears. This is a touchy point because many people(including myself) consider the lyrics to be whiny, and spewing words like "amazing" at them should get an explanation.

Also, don't say "In my opinion". Unless you can absolutely prove something without any kind of counter argument possible, it's a simple and obvious fact that it's your opinion, so theres no need to spat this in a review.

Honestly, i'm on the fence on whether or not neg this.

johnnydeking29
September 10th 2012



8996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fuck knows
Yeah, In Flames ripped off Linkin Park hard on their album The Jester Race; this album starts of with the single "Moonshield", which is an amazing introduction. It shows the great vocal duo of singer Anders Friden, and rapper Tommy Rodgers. The instruments are fairly simple, but excellent in adding to the atmosphere. The electronics of this album are present, but are more in the background, unlike Whoracle, and Colony. Another difference is that the guitar and drums are heavier than their newer albums.


johnnydeking29
September 10th 2012



8996 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Honestly, i'm on the fence on whether or not neg this."
Me too

macadoolahicky
September 10th 2012



1835 Comments


"With You" is one of my favorite LP songs ever

Calc
September 10th 2012



12021 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm not seeing why he has to explain his opinions, it's not a debate its just a review of an album

Youtellme
September 10th 2012



1351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's a review is it not?
An author is supposed to lay down his/her points, negative or positive.

Though that is of course just me.

kwill15
September 10th 2012



134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Looked at album. Looked at rating. Looked at reviewer's username. lol'd

Youtellme
September 10th 2012



1351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I didn't noticed that until now.

lol indeed.

EvoHavok
September 10th 2012



1338 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This song clocks in at almost 38 minutes, and has 12 masterpieces."

Interesting



Digging: Ningen-Isu - Burai Houjou

Sciroccu
September 10th 2012



752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

true

GiaNXGX
September 10th 2012



4867 Comments


Average fanboy review for an -ok- album. Anyways, your username is ew.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy